We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 771: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel and setting. Grounds well maintained. Gorgeous spacious room which was clean and modern. Provided with everything we needed in the room. Staff at reception very helpful and friendly, Mathew in particular helped us when we struggled to get a taxi. Lovely breakfast too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Em W
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took our 10& 8 yr old grandchildren to this event it was magical and I would definitely recommend it to anyone with children. It's best to wrap up as advised. The elves were brilliant Mincepie was our guide he was wonderful,we were in Snowball group. Each tepee was set out in a magical way. All the characters added to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time I've been other than for drinks. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. Our room was nice and clean, although the bed was a little on the soft side. Outside of the room the hotel feels a little dated and in need of some TLC, but still a great place to stay in a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited yesterday for Christmas lunch absolutely amazing we had a lovely relaxing time will definitely be returning next Christmas food was delicious staff very polite and we even got a visit off santa

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tatter63
Lee K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch. We hope to see you next Christmas and have a great New Year!

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for three nights during our sons university graduation ceremony. Very helpful staff, beautiful setting and quiet setting. Rooms fairly spacious but not as large as some we have stayed in. Lovely period decor throughout the ground floor. Restaurant for dinner was in the basement which was a shame as it was quite dark and meant diners couldn't enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annaatebh
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel in an even more lovely setting. The bar is a nice place to drink, the restaurant was delicious and the suite matched the incredible view. The only place in the area that I would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James R
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having read the reviews we decided to take our 3 year old to the enchanted Christmas. The tickets told us to get here 15 minutes early. However half an hour later due to the late arrival of 2 families we were still stood out in the rain. Having all been split in to 5 or 6 groups we first visited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geordie1982
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used our BW Rewards to get a very pleasant overnight B & B when visiting the area. Hotel was very nice, bedroom was quite small but comfortable, however menus for dinner were not to our liking or quite expensive, so went out for the evening. Breakfast was excellent and nice to have freshly cooked bacon & eggs etc. The elderly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael N
Lee K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Hardwick Hall Hotel and also for your kind words. I'm disappointed that you didn't try our Rib Room, I think you would have been impressed. I wish you a very Merry Christmas and we hope to see you again in the New Year.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for a place to stay so we could visit family in Darlington and celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our room was large and looked out over the lake. Generally well equipped and the bed was comfortable. We found the staff to be friendly and when they knew it was our anniversary the restaurant staff came up with an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
Lee K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing the damaged radiator to my attention and please be assured that this has since been fixed. I hope you have a very good Christmas and we hope to see you again in the New Year.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This event was fabulous. I attended with my 4 children and niece in December. We loved every minute. It was very well organised. We were constantly entertained for a full 4 hours by the elves, Mrs Claus, a wonderful fairy and many more. The atmosphere was magical and the surroundings were great. There were lots of props for photo opportunities,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GraceCharlEmJoe

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
8.7 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
944 reviews
15.6 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.4 km away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
22.5 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,885 reviews
12.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, The Best Western Plus Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Best Western Plus Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel

Address: Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Sedgefield
Price Range: $105 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a suite downstairs it's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 711xxxx, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Refuse rooms 417 and 418 best rooms on the lower ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles dyspepsicdiners, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles Iain369, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not room 4”
 of 5 bubbles Shaggybaz, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have lake views”
 of 5 bubbles 921carolinec, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay