We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
 Click to rate
Cheltenham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this Saturday afternoon for afternoon tea as a birthday treat. We couldn't have afternoon tea in the conservatory as this was set out for an evening party. We were shown to a small table. No atmosphere. About 30 minutes into out tea background music was being played. On the plus side the afternoon tea was excellent, although the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AllieH67
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and 4 collouges recently checked out sfter a 2 day stay. The hotel was a very pleasant cosy place to stay, the beds were comfy and the staf wrte friendly and welcoming. We dined here ln the two eveings and found the food the be well presented and a fare sized portion. Good trip

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed for one night - the place is a little old and run down in places and needs some TLC and updating but it was clean and comfortable enough. Had a very good night's sleep in one of the annex rooms, one of the towels in the bathroom was threading around the edges so attention to detail is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Explorer2606
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the restaurant for the pudding evening.. Young girl served us to start and was very friendly and chatty. No music for atmosphere. Main course was average. A variety of puddings avaliable to accomidate most preferences. Friend caught her glass causing it to smash meaning a full glass of wine all over her and the table.. Staff saw from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRN21
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Firstly. Thank you for your review, it's great to get feedback whether it's positive or negative. I was one of the members of staff stood at the bar when your glass smashed however at time neither of us noticed. If I was in a restaurant and I knocked over a glass of wine I wouldn't have sat and waited for...

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for a long weekend for our anniversary, upon check in we could tell it wasn't a chain hotel but wanted something with character. Beautiful views surround the hotel which were nice to see. We checked in and the very helpful young man at the desk took us to our room. Where as requested they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My family and I stopped here for one night as we was attending family party, checked in and the room was fine but our family members said there rooms was scruffy and stained sheets. The staff are young and no man management skills. Went to the bar and was disappointed on the selection on beers , 1 draft larger ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinkey S
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's always great to get feedback whether positive or negative. I'll first respond to the first comment. Only one room came to us and complained about the sheets, to which two members of staff changed all the bedding and I gave the room complimentary because apparently it "wasn't"...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Reception staff were friendly and helpful the bar staff in the marquee however were slow muddled and not very on the ball. I waited for over 15 mins to be served as both the staff kept serving other people who arrived at the bar after me. I gave up in the end and went to the main bar in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Ampthill
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Went for dinner. Unable to book our usual restaurant at short notice we were able to get into the Mill. Have not been for many years and probably won't be back again for many years. Had the salmon for main which although was nice it was the tail and not a cutlet. My husband had the steak which was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grandsons3
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We went for a track day at Bedford Autodrome so staid here for just one night. The hotel itself was fine but the meal we had was at best a 5/10 I would however stop here again but I would eat elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Very poor level of cleanliness throughout. Rooms out dated / bathrooms a disgrace. Tip ... Spend some of the over priced room rate on updating the place... Oh ... Was it really worth the effort bolting this TV to the wall ?? Staff pleasant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fraser P
MillhouseSharnbrook, General Manager at Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's always great to get feedback whether it's positive or negative. Nothing a bulldozer wouldn't cure? I feel that's abit extreme and probably quite expensive and time consuming in the long run. I apologise you felt that we had a poor level of cleanliness, I'll take your feed back on...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharnbrook
1.2 km away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
313 reviews
10.8 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
1,504 reviews
7.6 km away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
642 reviews
11.0 km away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 17 in Bedford
294 reviews
10.5 km away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We believe we have something special for everyone here; dining in the conservatories overlooking the river or our more formal dining room; a permanent marquee for up to 120 people for weddings and functions; 9 beautifully appointed bedrooms and informal business meeting facilities. The Millhouse Hotel has 9 en-suite bedrooms all furnished to a high standard. The hotel offers single, double, twin and disabled rooms all with free broadband access, telephone, TV (digital freeview available in superior rooms), trouser press, hairdryer, fluffy towels from the heated towel rail and a good selection of tea and coffee. Guests can also enjoy complimentary toiletries in all rooms. The hotel is in an idyllic location yet just off the A6, 7 miles north of Bedford and central to Northampton, Milton Keynes, Oxford and Cambridge. Click here for our contact details. All guests can be assured of the best in choice and quality for food and wine when dining at the Millhouse. All of our dishes are created by our Chef, Matt Henman and his team, using fresh locally sourced seasonal ingredients wherever possible. He comments below on his culinary ethos: ‘I pride myself on using local produce and you can’t really get fresher or more local than Abrahams Farm Shop next door, free range venison from Harrold and P.E Burley & Son in Turvey providing our prime beef, pork, lamb, chicken and duck. I have kept prices down without compromising on quality of produce and the fresh flavours used in my dishes.’ Chef Matt. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Stoke Mill Mill Road, Sharnbrook, Bedford MK44 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Sharnbrook
Price Range: $90 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Coventry, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 . Do not have the outside rooms”
 of 5 bubbles sinkeys, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room two is recommened so i am told by an insider :-)”
 of 5 bubbles chrisl403, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 has a nice view over the river”
 of 5 bubbles 811rickn, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't book a room outside of the main building, noise from the very close flour mill . Though don't know what the inside rooms are like.”
 of 5 bubbles Tappy19, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Any room, mine was number 2 and had views of the river”
 of 5 bubbles gerrycook05, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5