We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ravana Ridge Polhena

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ravana Ridge Polhena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
591 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Having stayed at this hotel/hostel for a couple nights, I have to say the last three negative reviews do look suspicious and inaccurate, not resembling at all the experience we had while staying there. First off, there were no "hidden charges" -- it was very clear how much we were being charged for food while we were there, for example,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Utterly disgusting room set-up with dirty linen, unclean bathroom with used toilet paper. Worse tasting food with uncleaned dishes! We had provided the so called "make shift staff" with fish from the local market, however only a small portion of it was prepared & served late on dirty plates. Lastly we were charged absurd rates for what we bought. Absurd... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kavinga P
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Dear Kavinga, I am pretty sure that you have have been mistaken as we do not have any record of check in under your name. Also we have never encountered a problem with a guest regarding the hygiene and cleanliness or food quality since we have started this business. If you have any questions please call us in the number... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

We were welcomed by the family who owns this place and they have been really kind to us from the beginning, accessing all of our requests. The rooms are clean and spacious and it is a very good price /quality balance. We can see the sea straight (we even saw turtles!) from the courtyard of the place and there's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baptiste C
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2015

I have traveled a lot in sri lanka and this is my number one place. I got here at night when it was dark so when I woke up and saw the water 10 feet from the hotel I was flabbergasted. The beach in front of the hotel is a rock wall under shady trees. Just perfect for sitting on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights in January. The room was pretty basic, en-suite with cold shower only. A mosquito net was provided over the bed and the room was fairly clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good although really expensive, service was average and the meal we had one night was extremely poor. The curries were stone cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Turtlewander
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your unbiased review. This is exactly what we expect from our customers. Point our weaknesses so we can provide a better service at an affordable rate. I'am saddened that you had a problem with one of our meals, i wish i could have done something to make it upto you if you were not satisfied.Finally... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Located along the scenic shores of the famous Polhena Beach. Rooms were very comfortable and good for the price .Very friendly and helpful staff. Every request is willingly carried out with a smile by their superb staff. Food was yummy and the Chef was accommodation in a special request I made. Excellent stay.

Helpful?
Thank cnadian
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2014

i have been this place with my family on last sunday night. a very good place to enjoy the polhena sea and the surrondings.it is very close by to this hotel. the hotel owner and the caretaker also very kind & humble persons always willing to help their guests. i reccomand not only foreigners but also localists who go around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Indika k
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Ravana Ridge very much, especially the staff and the location. It is a very peaceful area. I came with a large group of students, about 15 of us stayed there, and the staff (front desk, security guards, and cook) were all very accommodating and helpful. They helped to arrange trips to surrounding towns and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sashoo2014
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and 3 days. It was an extremely pleasant experience. Clean rooms, wonderful owner, pleasant surrounding. The staff were exactly the way we expected - they were invisible until we wanted them. That gives you the freedom to enjoy the holiday, the way you wanted.

Helpful?
Thank Mohd S
Bridgwater, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here with our family (of 5) for 4 nights in Feb 2014 and wished we could have stayed for longer. The room was a great size (with a double and 3 singles) with fans and the hotel was enclosed in a small courtyard so very safe. The site was just a short walk (100m) to a little beach, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_Harc
IroshanKulatunga, General Manager at Ravana Ridge Polhena, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Ravana Ridge Polhena; and your gracious commendation on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, services and of course the food. We very much appreciate you recommending our guesthouse and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our down south hospitality, perhaps in the near future.... More 

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matara hotels
1.0 km away
Turtle Eco Beach
Turtle Eco Beach
#9 of 17 in Matara
109 reviews
0.0 km away
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
Tropi Turtle Guesthouse
#6 of 111 in Matara
68 reviews
0.4 km away
Reef Edge Bungalow-Polhena
Reef Edge Bungalow-Polhena
#105 of 161 in Matara
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blooming Polhena Hotel
Blooming Polhena Hotel
#33 of 161 in Matara
8 reviews
0.3 km away
Sayuri Beach Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
1.6 km away
Thisara Villa
Thisara Villa
#22 of 161 in Matara
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideal destination for your stay, relax to your heart's content, have peace of mind with our super class rooms and service staff and your party, business meeting, wedding, or any type of event. Facing the picturesque Indian Ocean with delicious dishes which will satisfy your every appetite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ravana Ridge Polhena

Address: 124/A, Polhena Road | Polhena, Matara 81000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara
Price Range: $20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ravana Ridge Polhena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ravana Ridge Polhena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think most of the rooms are good. The location really is very quiet and if u get a room near the front u can hear the surf.”
 of 5 bubbles G9275BOsarahr, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Whale watching trips can be arranged at Mirissa at a very good rate, with the best operator in the area. The family room was amply big enough for 5”
 of 5 bubbles John_Harc, 3 Apr 2014 | Read review
“The budget room has an interior outdoor area (like a skylight but behind a glass door) that lets lots of natural light come in.”
 of 5 bubbles Globetrotter763, 30 Jan 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay