We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bondi Backpackers

Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (22)
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (4)
Overview
110 Campbell Pde, Bondi, New South Wales 2026 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2.5 Star accommodation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews(101)
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 15
  • 7
  • 0
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Gareth J
10
Reviewed 1 week agovia mobile
This will be long but if considering staying any time soon, please read...
We had originally booked to stay 5 nights at this hostel but only ended up staying one. Our booking was made 6 months prior to arrival date. On check-in we were informed there may be some building work on floor 2 but not to worry as we were on floor 3. It was in fact floor 3 which was a complete building site. In the corridor there was no carpet, builders walking around and their equipment around our room door. In the room we had no blinds or curtains, there was an extremely strong paint smell and scaffolding directly outside the window. For obvious security reasons we were unable to leave the window open to help the paint smell, not to mention the clear invasion of privacy with the window being directly behind the bed. I asked for a temporary window blind which could not be provided. As it was late we could not find another room but were informed the manager would be there the following morning and we would be able to receive a refund for the remaining nights. The next morning we woke at 6am to the sound of builders shouting over their drills.
On checking out the manager was completely unapologetic.
I have since read other reviews where this building work was mentioned as a problem 5 months ago. I certainly should have been informed of this work upon booking or at least by email following this. These rooms should not be available and certainly not at full price whilst building work continues. It feels as though the hostel is deceiving its guests for financial gain.
Whilst this accomodation is slightly cheaper than the alternative we have since found, the difference in quality is substantial. I have no doubt this is a great hostel without the building work but unless you receive confirmation this has finished I would not advise staying here. A refund was received for the nights we did not stay but we had to pay full price for one night despite the fact it was a building site and therefore not as advertised on booking.
Thank Gareth J
Response from WakeUpTeam, Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 2 days ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We appreciate all feedback and view it as a chance to better our property. I do sincerely apologise that your stay wasn't anything other than perfect. We strive to ensure all our guests have the best possible experience. We have had some building works occurring to make sure our property is in the best possible shape and our guests are as comfortable as possible, this includes air-conditioning in all rooms and new bathrooms. We are all very excited as the works are almost finished. It does sound like the building noises you heard came from the property behind us as our builders are not working until later in the morning, this is something I will certainly take up with them. I would certainly encourage you to come back and check us out now that the works are almost finished. If you have any other concerns I would encourage you to contact me directly at manager@bondibackpackers.com.au . Thanks again Management
Becs Travels
112
Reviewed 1 week ago
Could not recommend enough! Such an amazing location - literally on Bondi Beach! Free activities including Yoga, Pizza and BBQ. Stunning rooftop looking over Bondi Beach. The staff are lovely and the rooms are very clean. Best hostel in Aus!
Thank Becs Travels
Response from WakeUpTeam, Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 1 week ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so stoked you had such an awesome experience with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words to all the staff here who work extremely hard to ensure all the guests have the best possible experience. Thanks again. Management
Lisa K
151
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
We had a great stay at Bondi Backpackers!! The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming, and both the rooms and communal areas were constantly clean. The location couldn't be better!!! It's directly across from the beach and the rooftop has an incredible view over Bondi. The hostel offers yoga and PT sessions during the week as well as lots of evening events so that guests can get to know eachother. Loved staying here and would love to come back and stay at Bondi Backpackers once again :)
Thank Lisa K
Response from WakeUpTeam, General Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Lisa K, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for your perfect rating. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us. I will certainly be letting all the staff know how impressed you were with everything. We have a huge range of activities on so our guests can make the most of their Bondi experience :) . Thanks again for your kind words and see you again soon. Management
Henrietta V
10
Reviewed Sep. 23, 2018via mobile
Bondi backpackers was literally the best, I have nothing bad to say about it I loved it so much the workers were really nice and kind, and they had so many activities so people could connect and feel at home, the place was clean. I would say it is the best place to go to if you ever wanna meet new people and take a nice stroll on the beach.
I’m definitely coming back one day.
Thank Henrietta V
Response from WakeUpTeam, Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded Sep. 24, 2018
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for your perfect rating. I am so stoked you had such a great experience with us. All of the team here work incredibly hard to ensure all our guests have the best possible experience, they will be thrilled to hear your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Management
saijaiida
Sydney, Australia
11
Reviewed Sep. 13, 2018via mobile
This is the second time I’m staying in this hostel and it’s as amazing as last time! The staff is friendly and cool and all the guests are usually fun and social but also considerate room mates.

It’s right on the beach and there’s different events arranged every week on the rooftop terrace so it’s easy to make new friends even if you were solo travelling.
1 Thank saijaiida
Response from WakeUpTeam, General Manager at Bondi Backpackers
Responded Sep. 16, 2018
Hi Saijaiida, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and for your perfect. Its always great to see people enjoy themselves so much that they come back! All the team here will be so happy to hear your kind words as they all work very hard to ensure all our guests have the best possible experience. We are lucky with our location right on Bondi Beach and our rooftop offers nothing but the best views of all of Bondi. Thanks again. Management
PreviousNext
12345621
About
Description
Located seconds from the sand and surf, Bondi Backpackers boasts one of the best views of one of Sydney’s most iconic destinations – Bondi Beach. Making it perfect for travellers wishing to experience More the amazing beach culture of Bondi and its surrounds. The recently refurbished property is home to a spacious rooftop furnished with umbrellas & deck chairs showcasing panoramic views of Bondi Beach, the coastline and its surrounds. The multi-story hostel offers a range of room types from private twin and double rooms to 4 and 6 share mixed dorms with a number of premium dorm options looking straight over Bondi Beach. Bondi Backpackers plays host to a range of complimentary lifestyle activities such as rooftop yoga classes, personal training sessions and walking tours along the picturesque Bondi to Bronte coastline. For guests looking to try their hand at Australia’s most famous past time - free surfboard hire is also on offer. After a day of fitness and fun guests can unwind and mingle with a selection of weekly social events, from beach BBQs to wine & cheese nights and the not be missed; famous Aussie BBQ – every Friday night on the rooftop! For those wanting to venture further - the very best of Bondi’s vibrant nightlife lies right at their doorstep waiting to be explored. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
51
Price range
US$29 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi > Bondi Beach
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
51
Price range
US$29 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi > Bondi Beach
Photos
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (4)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Bondi Beach
An iconic Australian suburb, Bondi Beach is famous for
its fantastic beaches and views. Once the domain of
backpackers, hundreds of tourists from all over the
world descend en masse to Bondi in December ready to
enjoy the "Aussie summer". Bondi Beach boasts
impressive ocean views all along the many restaurants
and bars on Campbell Parade. Wake up early and take a
dip in the surf before walking the scenic stretch from
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Hotel Ravesis
143 reviews
.04 km away
Bondi Beachside Inn
4 reviews
.12 km away
Hotel Bondi
223 reviews
.24 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
1,622 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 418 nearby restaurants
La Macelleria
38 reviews
.01 km away
Gusto Bondi
80 reviews
.08 km away
Lamrock Cafe
149 reviews
.11 km away
Vue Bar
106 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 66 nearby attractions
Bondi Iceberg Club
39 reviews
.42 km away
Bondi Markets
48 reviews
.41 km away
Cooee Aboriginal Art Gallery
16 reviews
.28 km away
OceanFit
10 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dannafs
November 13, 2018|
Answer
Response from Lydia W | Reviewed this property |
Hi from what I remember there is only street parking outside Bondi Backpackers, I’m not to sure where else you can park and if it’s free as I’ve only just started learning how to drive this year so I got airport shuttle to... More
1
Vote
Mattlateer
September 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from WakeUpTeam | Property representative |
Hi there, It is actually still quite chilly as summer is not quite here yet. Not to worry though as we have nice doonas to keep you warm at night. Cheers D
0
Votes
Room Tips
"beach view"
christinewC2263LP
Jul. 22, 2018
Read review
"Choose the right kind of room as bunks are cheaper than doubles."
robjude2017
Oct. 2, 2017
Read review
"Try and get the 6 bed dorms with the ocean views! can't beat it."
450prestonp
Jul. 5, 2017
Read review
"There are rooms with beach view looking over Bondi."
lozzasven
Jul. 2, 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing