We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Splendid Inn Port Edward

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Splendid Inn Port Edward
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of Splendid Inn Port Edward
 Click to rate
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The rooms were in a poor condition, taps were loose, doors and toilet broken. Although the rest of the hotel was in good condition and breakfast was good, but no filter coffee for breakfast!!!!!!!!!! whats up with that, had to drink Ricoffy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GDR1975
Antoinette N, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear GDR1975 , I apologise if you were inconvenienced during your stay - this was not our intention! Your comments have been noted for our urgent attention. Filter coffee is now available, so please do come and visit again . Warmest Regards Antoinette Naude

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at the Edwardian on for Two days starting New years day. It was a rocky start to get correct rooms however, once we spoke to management, everything went much better. Spacious rooms. close to awesome beaches and the Wild coast sun. Standard room had bar fridge which was a plus. Room service was great. Not too much to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 777Mira
Antoinette N, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Mira, Thank you for this wonderful comments , and for your ongoing patronage! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warmest Regards Antoinette Naude

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Booked accommodation close to the wild coast last minute in December at this hotel. Found the hotel simple but well fitted. We had a king size bed and a sleeper couch in the lounge for our 2 kids. Kitchen is fitted for self catering. Some utensils were provided. Bathroom is spacious. Reasonable priced and only 5 minutes from Wild Coast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rishen K
Antoinette N, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Rishen K , Thank you for this wonderful recommendation, and for your ongoing patronage! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warmest Regards Antoinette Naude

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent lunch./buffet. Good atmosphere. Clean and tidy. Will come again. Staff very friendly and helpfully. Fantastic service. Very relaxed atmosphere, if you looking for a quiet break a way from the busy city life.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Neil N , Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you njoyed your meals at Old Marines Restaurant. we are looking forward to welocome you back soon for a meal or two.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The hotel is basic, but clean and well looked after. The beds are nice and the bedding new. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast nice. The location is convenient as it's just off the main road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeDupx2
Antoinette N, Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear LeeDupx2 Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back, in the future. Regards Antoinette Naude Resident Manager

South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2016

On arrival the hotel looks like it needs a bit of outside attention. There are sections that are being renovated but it did not affect our stay. However we were pleasantly surprised by the great service, tasty meals and very comfortable bedrooms which were well kitted out and could be used fully for self catering. Thank you to Noluthando, Antionette,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_LW
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Lauren_LW, Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel! I will definitely share your complimentary comments with my staff, especially those mentioned in your review after making such a good impression. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Daniel Velayutham GENERAL MANAGER

Durban
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I had booked 2 units, I was given Room A10, We had a problem, there was no tv remote, the airconditioner does not work, when having a shower the bath fills with water. On check out did complain to the manager.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 853rajendrann
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest 853rajendrann, Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. I am disappointed that your stay experience was not of the standard we aim to provide, and will certainly address the issues raised with the relevant staff. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards, Daniel Velayutham General Manager

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed in room C8 on 9/10 February 2016. In the evening I struggled to find my room because the outside lighting was so bad. The room aircon didn't work. Rather than move me to another room the reception insisted they send someone to my room to check it at 9:30pm! A nice lady came and looked at the aircon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carlos b
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest carlos b, Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. I am disappointed that your stay experience was not of the standard we aim to provide, and will certainly address the issues raised with the relevant staff. I would like to discuss this further with you, if you are amenable. Please contact me on 039...

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 2 February 2016

The staff gave excellent service. Food was OK, could use improvement but overall, kitchen staff did their best. The entire place needs painting of the walls, cleaning of the roof. The balcony chairs need upgrade. Rooms need upgrade, bed sheets and covers need new ones. Residents should be told to take care of the place, when I got there, clothes...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thembekak2016
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thembekak2016, Thank you for taking the time to compile this review. Your comments have been noted and will be addressed with urgency. It is good to note that, despite the minor challenges, you had a good stay experience at the Premier Hotel Edwardian, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Daniel Velayutham General Manager

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 January 2016

It was a pleasure to stay at the above location and was happy with the service from all employees . I will recommend this resort to my families and friends as everything was above standard. The staff at the restaurant was excellent as well

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aveshm2016
DDVtripadv, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this review

Dear Guest aveshm2016, Thank you for this wonderful recommendation, and for your ongoing patronage! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Daniel Velayutham General Manager

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the Hibiscus Coast of Kwa-Zulu Natal in the small coastal town of Port Edward, Splendid Inn Port Edward welcomes you to experience panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and lush coastal hillsides from its private balconies. Port Edward is a popular holiday destination, offering many magnificent stretches of beach. Outdoor activities include swimming, fishing, tennis, hiking, mountain bike trails and a golfing extravaganza with nine 18 hole golf courses within an 85km radius. With the exceptional surroundings, excellent service and luxurious accommodation that this Tuscan Style hotel offers, Splendid Inn Port Edward is the perfect choice for both the business & leisure traveler. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Splendid Inn Port Edward

Address: Corner Ramsey Ave and Main Str, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Price Range: $70 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Inn Port Edward 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Inn Port Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Splendid Inn Port Edward staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Durban, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Splendid Inn Port Edward staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for sea facing rooms”
777Mira, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom options as well as different floors, Ground, 1st and 2nd Floor.”
Lauren_LW, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Block D No8”
AyolaM2005, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Upper level rooms on the eastern side have a sea view”
BandileSeeby, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“hotel needs a face lift and renovations”
mzansisp, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5