We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

936 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 863: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stop on a long three week trip to Costa Rica and Panama. It was a mistake. So far nothing else has come close to the excellent service and food. It was lovely to be served breakfast - no fighting over buffet food. The breakfasts were so good. The evening meals were really good. We were also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laraBton
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear laraBton, Thank you very much for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed our fantastic staff. They thrive on delighting guests! It sounds like you took full advantage of everything we have to offer at the lodge, tours with Donald and Samuel, massage with Mayi and dinners with Federico. It doesn't get much better than that! Since...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The reception that you get is very nice were you get offered a fresh juice. After that your luggage is carried to the room and the front desk personnel explains to you the facilities. You have many (small) trails, heated pool and even a small butterfly garden. The rooms are confortable, spacious and have a panoramic window where you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goncalo S
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Goncalo S, Thanks for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Lodge. Guests often tell us that they see birds and wildlife from their room windows or balcony. For this reason, we recommend that you plan on spending at least a half day at the lodge to enjoy the facilities. You're right, the breakfast that we include...

birmingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are all very pleasant, and the rooms are clean and adequate - some in our party paid more for a balcony, but are not sure it was worth the additional cost. There isn't much of a view. There is no TV or minibar/fridge. Breakfast was adequate, the complimentary coffee and small bites of cake available in the lobby throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle137
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Michelle137, I'm sorry that you didn't see that we don't have TV, AC or mini bars in our rooms. This is something that we make very clear on our website and on the different online travel agents where you can book us. If you are the kind of person that really wants to have a TV at bed time,...

Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived here this afternoon, and I'm already obsessed. It's gorgeous, the staff couldn't be more friendly, we were welcomes with amazing fresh juice and smiles, the location is incredible, the property is gorgeous, and it's SO easy to book amazing adventures right from the front desk, did I mention FREE breakfast, coffee, snacks, gorgeous pool, I'm FLOORED.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelseyhull
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear keyseyhull, Thank you so much for sharing how much you appreciate our staff. They are outstanding and they delight in seeing guests have the time of their lives in Monteverde and especially at the lodge. Since you are so happy with your choice of Montverde Lodge, you would probably also be a great fit for Tortuga Lodge & Gardens...

Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a really cute hotel located not far from the downtown...just a short 10 minute walk. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was friendly and the food at the restaurant was amazing! There is a cute butterfly garden in the main lobby and a lot of paths to walk on and explore. There are also a few reading and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ekgit
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Ekgit, Thank you for mentioning all of the different things that guests can do while at the lodge. If you take into account the solar heated pool, the trails, the butterfly garden and feeders, the orchids, the yoga platform, picnic and reading spots, you should plan on at least a half day to spend at the lodge. Depending on...

Porthleven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel surpassed our expectations. The tree tops room was worth every penny. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the tropical butterflies and birds go by. We had an amazing experience on one of the hotels night hikes when we came across mating Sloths! Thanks again to our guide Donald. We had a couple of great meals in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Say99
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Say99, WOW, I've been working in the travel business in Costa Rica for 30 years and I've never heard of anyone seeing sloths mating, that's pretty special! Kudos to Donald for helping you sight them during your tour. It sounds like you were a perfect fit for the lodge! We hope that you will come and see us again...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is really not walking distance to anything unless you are ready for a good hike. No television or air conditioning. It is humid there so air would have been nice. We were aware of this before we left, regretted when we got there. I thought (I know) I booked a King room but got two double beds. Food in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerig12
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear valerig12, It sounds like we weren't a good fit for you. We always really encourage people to take the time to read and carefully consider your lodge choices. Making sure that you choose places that are a good fit makes all the difference in the outcome of your stay. It helps the guest and of course it helps us....

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place!!We liked it a lot!!! Excellent food and service. Nice, quiet and comfortable rooms. We stayed at Monteverde Lodge for 2 nigths in september and it was very relaxing. Everything is very near, just a short walk and you are in the town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marvicoto
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear marvicoto, When we first built that lodge, we worried about the location, years later, it turns out that we couldn't be better positioned. The lodge is about equal in distance from the Santa Elena and Monteverde Reserve's. We are also very close to Curricancha and to many of the exhibits in town. Horseback riding is under 10 minutes by...

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is long overdue - as we stayed for 4 nights back in July with our 2 kids (8 & 5). Everything was great - kids loved the pool, had fun in the butterfly garden & enjoyed exploring the hiking paths on the property. Service/staff was excellent - showed the kids where a group of monkeys were in a nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnaa32
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear johnaa32, We are delighted that you remembered to share your experiences on Trip Advisor so long after your trip in July. Thanks for mentioning that you had the best meal of your trip at our restaurant El Jardin, also here on Trip Advisor. The Lodge is a great place for families, there is so much to do in the...

basingstoke
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After travelling for a number of hours on rough dirt roads it is nice to know you are staying in a comfortable lodge. And Monteverde lodge and gardens does not disappoint. The welcome is friendly, the rooms are spacious, albeit without air conditioning or TV. Overhead fans worked for us. The lovely gardens have a few short and one long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon s
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear simon s, I hope you weren't expecting A/C or TV in the room! We make the information prominent on our website and upon reservation, but this information is often missed. We don't really need the A/C except for maybe 3-4 nights during March or April, the hottest months of the year. The lack of TV's is more of a...

907 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (560)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (170)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (199)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Forest View Balcony Room (27)
Viewed
Forest View Downstairs Room (26)
Viewed
Garden Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.9 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
1,160 reviews
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
169 reviews
1.4 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
2.8 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#8 of 22 in Monteverde
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 forest view downstairs rooms. 12 forest view balcony rooms (a little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips"). 1 downstairs room is wheelchair accessible. • Beds: 2 downstairs rooms and 2 upstairs rooms have 1 king bed. 10 downstairs rooms and 10 upstairs rooms have 2 double beds. • All rooms have: in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: cuisine: What a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at Lodge: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: | 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $190 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“splurge on the upstairs balcony for a view of the forest”
 of 5 bubbles sserrano_7, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the second floor balcony rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles fernandamacarena67, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room with a balcony and view to the forest”
 of 5 bubbles jessicagilboa1, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms with balconies”
 of 5 bubbles laraBton, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed rooms with a direct view of the cloud forrest...”
 of 5 bubbles johnaa32, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay