We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 953: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The Monteverde Lodge is a perfect home base from which to explore the surrounding cloud forest, etc. It's very comfortable and rustic without being shabby. The restaurant is good (especially breakfast!) if a little pricey. It's very well located near the town but quiet and surrounded by green and butterflies. The room was spacious and simple.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CW29
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

This guest points out something that is very important for people considering a stay with us. CW29 says "It's very comfortable and rustic without being shabby." We are rustic and don't have some of the things that guests expect like for example TV, AC or mini fridge in your room. We also don't have background music in the restaurant. We...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This is a first class destination with spacious, comfortable rooms and access to all of the splendid Monte Verde environment. But - the meals were delicious, elegant and perfectly presented. Didn't expect our stay Costa Rica to be about wonderful food and wonderful service (thought nature and environmentalism)........ This place is both worlds. The staff are welcoming, efficient and present....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth S, You are so right when you say that Monteverde Lodge is about both worlds, nature the environment but also wonderful food and wonderful service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you did your part of researching us carefully and making sure that we were a good fit. We are not luxurious, we...

San Diego
Reviewed 30 December 2015

My husband and I stayed here for four days in December. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and friendly. They were essential when booking guides and excursions. The guides we booked through them were first rate. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent. They had both American and Costa Rican typical food. And the fruit was fabulous. We saw some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buddy1975
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Buddy 1975, The staff will be thrilled to hear that you plan to stay with us again. When you return, we will be happy to reserve the guides that you enjoyed so much for your excursions and hikes. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts. We offer variety of a la carte choices for the breakfast...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We visited this lodge for three nights after visiting their sister property in Tortuguero. At first I was disappointed that we got a room on the bottom of the second building. This building is built on the mountain and the first floor is kind of low, basement like, however, there is a large glass picture window in the room which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank interterra
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear interterra, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lodge and our food. It’s great to hear that we proved everything you needed while you were in Monteverde. You said that you were disappointed when you got a room on the ground floor level of the second building, I am confused about the disappointment because you knew in...

Reviewed 22 December 2015

The lodge is nice and clean, service is really good. My only complaint is they had told us the coffee tour and the night hike tour was "included" , only to find out later we had to pay 130 dollars for it. I think its a scam they run and get kickbacks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amit b
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear amit b, I am very concerned that you thought that a coffee tour and night tour were included in the price of your room. I wish you had said something while you were at the lodge so that we could have had the opportunity to clear up any misunderstanding. I've looked through your correspondence with us and don't see...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We stayed two nights in a large, clean room with a balcony. The place had the feel of a wilderness lodge so the furnishings and lighting were a little quirky, but it presented no real problems. From our balcony we could hear the river as we watched a sloth, several monkeys, a family of coatimundis, humming birds and tropical butterflies....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KH198
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear KH198, It sounds like you really enjoyed your Balcony Room. I thought it might be helpful for people reading these reviews and our responses to have some information on the difference in the views depending on your room category. When you reserve a balcony room, your room has a small corner balcony with two chairs and a small coffee...

Reviewed 19 December 2015

Before I decided to book this area, having never been to Costa Rica, I got mixed reviews on whether or not to visit this area. I am so happy that we did. This is exactly what I was hoping for. The long drive up the mountain was worth it. Yes scary, but the views were unforgettable. Once on top, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmanda
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear bmanda, It's so good to hear how much you enjoyed Monteverde. I'm sure that like yourself, many guests ask themselves if they should make the drive up the mountain and whether or not it's right for them. The answer of course is, it depends, if you like to hike, if you're into birds and wildlife, if you would enjoy...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

This is a wonderful place located a few hundred meters from Santa Elena town. I will start with the positive points: the staff are truly exceptional in every way, from Jeff the barman, to Gerald in the restaurant, to the enthusiastic wildlife expert that explained the beautiful birds, sloths etc that populate the grounds; the setting is idyllic and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark S
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, Thank you so much for your excellent review and for sharing both the things you enjoyed and your constructive criticism. I'm sorry about the problem with ants in your room. It's a problem that unfortunately, is fairly common in the tropics. A tip on how to avoid this is to make sure not to leave any open...

Cheltenham
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We stayed here for 1 night in December as part of a short tour around the area of Monteverde. We are here in Costa Rica for 2 weeks, staying in Guancaste for most of the holiday but the visit to Monteverde was the absolute highlight. We hired a car and yes the journey is somewhat of an adventure but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kath B
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Kath B, We really appreciate your detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. As you say, the forest views, the gardens and the restaurant are our highlights. We suggest that guests bring binoculars so that they can see the birds and wildlife from their window or balcony. The bay...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here on our honeymoon and the lodge is very pleasant. The only thing we didn't like was we had two beds instead of a King but it's true the hotel don't guarantee a King so we can't (and didn't) complain. Other than that the room, bathroom and balcony are very pleasant. We had breakfast included which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safarm_uk
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear safarm_uk, We are really proud of the gardens and trails and it's great to hear that you found them "stunning". The breakfast that is included in the room rate is an al a carte menu and can be seen on our website for anyone that is curious as to what is available. For honeymooners that are considering staying at...

960 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (614)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (186)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (225)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Forest View Balcony Room (27)
Viewed
Forest View Downstairs Room (26)
Viewed
Garden Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
1,249 reviews
0.9 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.3 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
216 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 forest view downstairs rooms. 12 forest view balcony rooms (a little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips"). 1 downstairs room is wheelchair accessible. • Beds: 2 downstairs rooms and 2 upstairs rooms have 1 king bed. 10 downstairs rooms and 10 upstairs rooms have 2 double beds. • All rooms have: in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: cuisine: What a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at Lodge: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: | 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $191 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are very nice. Ours was at the end of the hall which made it a little quieter than others, but we would be happy with any room!”
 of 5 bubbles AvianiSiegel, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor "forest view" rooms would be the most private.”
 of 5 bubbles deekaye, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for upper floors, they were all sold out when we booked.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I had a forest view room on the ground floor as none available upstairs. Would recommend the same room type but with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Car0lcat, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to get a balcony room. It's lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles Deeahgio, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5