We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Claro de Luna

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Claro de Luna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Claro de Luna
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Yavne, Israel
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We stay in this hotel two nights during a family trip (5 people) The room was clean, big enough for 5 people. This quaint and charming place is off the main street and tucked away in the trees off of an unpaved road. The grounds were beautifully maintained with flowers and plants and this was a nice change from your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amit G
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear Amit G, thank you for your comments. We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms, and kitchen/cafeteria. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay, we are sorry about the breakfast...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 11 March 2016

This quaint and charming place is off the main street and tucked away in the trees off of an unpaved road. The grounds were beautifully maintained with flowers and plants and this was a nice change from your standard boxy hotel structure. We had a room up the hill away from the reception area and facing the town. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fawtandthebaby
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear fawtandthebaby, thank you for your kind words. It is glad to hear we provided a pleasant stay. We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens and well kept green open areas. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast is included! We offer the best value in town! We look forward to...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Located at a typical CR mountain road (4x4 needed!) just of Elena centre this hotel feels more like a hostel than a hotel. We got one of the rooms at the top of the stairs. As there was nothing but plywood separating our room from our neighbours we were very lucky and happy that they were a quiet couple at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rotterdammerts
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear Rotterdammerts, thank you for your comments. Hotel Claro de Luna is the result of many years`s effort, we started as a small B&B and slowly built 6 more rooms and updated the original ones, that is why we offer 2 room categories: Standard and Deluxe. If you were not happy with your room, you could have said something...Did you...

Leeds, England
Reviewed 17 February 2016

This accomodation feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.There are two parts to it, the few rooms above the reception area and behind this building at the end of the garden are some other buildings which look like a couple of cottages. Behind these are another unusual building which houses breakfast. It feels like an over large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear yellowheron_9, thank you for taking your time to write about Hotel Claro de Luna. You are not wrong when you mention the B&B "feel" our hotel has...We started as a cozy B&B and little by little we were able to build 6 more rooms in another area, updated our original rooms... we are still in the process of improving...

Destin, Fl
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Nice little B&B just outside town (5 min walk) to downtown Santa Elena. We stayed upstairs in the old main building, which is beautiful wood paneling and floors. There is no ac but we stayed in December and with the windows open and fans it really got cool at night. The room was small but clean and nice. Lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holland850
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear Holland654, thank you for your kind words. We are really glad to hear we provided a pleasant stay. Hotel Claro de Luna offers the best value for your money, excellent location, cozy ambiance, comfortable and clean rooms, beautiful green areas and customer service up to the best standards. We look forward to your next visit!

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Nice little hotel right outside the town (5 min walk). Very charming. We stayed in a room in the main building and had a attic room. Although it was warm in the room (only a fan) at night in monteverde temperature drops below 18 degrees so when you are going to sleep just keep window open and its ok. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olaf V
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear Olaf V, thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Claro de Luna. We are glad to hear we provided you with a pleasant stay. As you metioned in your comment, A/C is not necessary here in Monteverde, actually you won't find it in any hotel in the area. Our hotel offers the best value: excellent location, clean and...

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed for one night here and stayed in a main room. Our room was located right next to the reception desk, was extremely noisy- could hear all conversations from people outside our room and people above us. The room itself was very dirty, cobwebs everywhere, some ants on the wall. The shower had hot water for less than 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisryan858
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This small hidden boutique hotel is located off the noisy town of Santa Elena, but also close, in case you want to go eat at one of the local restaurants in town. You do feel as if in the mountain countryside while staying at the hotel. The gardens are simply stupendous, evergreen, with many exotic plants, lots of trees with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014

Claro de Luna has so much potential that for us was not actualised. It has a very good location, only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Santa Elana , some excellent Soda's just outside for your evening meal, there was always plenty of hot water and excellent showers. On arrival we had been allocated a room in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warks
Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful bookig our tours and giving us advice. Breakfast was good(fruit with aftwards choice out of toast with eggs or granola yoghurt). The rooms had seen better days, they were clean, but a lot of insects got in the room, not a lot of lights were working. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yasminvant

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.1 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 23 in Monteverde
428 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.8 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 23 in Monteverde
107 reviews
0.8 km away
Monteverde Country Lodge
Monteverde Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
349 reviews
0.2 km away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 14 in Santa Elena
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $88 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claro De Luna Costa Rica/Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Claro de Luna staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Des Moines
Apex, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Claro de Luna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ich wuerde die Deluxezimmer nahe beim Restaurant waehlen.”
 of 5 bubbles d0mimac, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“don't aspect for fancy hotel, it's nice quit hotel”
 of 5 bubbles amitg451, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go up on the hill!”
 of 5 bubbles fawtandthebaby, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to larger rooms as others above reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles sandraaJ8488IW, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Nice place to stay for a night or two”
 of 5 bubbles laurajedmonds, 22 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay