We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Booking.comUS$101*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Poco a Poco was a nice hotel in a good location. They were redoing their parking while during our stay so was a bit noisy. Pool had no charm and was dark. Wi-fi was not available in the room we had. Good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markfig
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs Markfig. Greetings from Monteverde and thank you very much for your comments. We have taken a slow but continuos program of improvements, parking lot, front desk, ( we recently added two more rooms ) we have been working on the rooms, amenities, paiting, decor, etc. We are going to remodel our restaurant, and our parking lot and walk...

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

What a great spot! The rooms are basic and comfortable. The grounds and the common areas are beautifully done and very inviting. The outdoor wooden deck is fabulous for evening sunsets. The hot tub is really hot and perfect to end your day. The swimming pool is slightly heated making it inviting. There is a cozy little area for reading...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natasha G
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Natasha. Thank you very much for your very nice, very kind review. It really make us proud to receive feedback as nice as yours. We have some many good features, so many added values and small details that is always nice when we have guests who enjoy their stay as much as you did. Heated pool, Jacuzzi, great spa,...

Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at sister hotel and came to Poco to use the pool. However the condition was pretty disgusting so we didn't let our children venture in. A film of slime on the surface, a greenish 'algae coloured' tinge to the water. Shame as although the pool is very small, the pool area itself is nicely done

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. B. Thank you for your feedback. I´m very sorry you made the trip from our sister property, it is one of the nicest added values for guests staying up there, especially when they are traveling with their children. Even though we do have times when the pool suffers from excess of guests entering the water with lotion, sunblock,...

Altamonte Springs, Florida
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We felt so welcome at this hotel, Lily at the receptionist was the best! We enjoyed the jacuzzi, the "pura vida" drink, the music, the breakfast. The location is great. Closed to restaurants, banks and stores. Everybody so nice and polite. Hightly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayra0215
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Mayra0215, Greetings from the most famous Cloud Forest in the world!!! Thank you for your review, we really like it when our guests do get the best of their stay, we also thank you for your good moods and great traveling attitude, good things come for guests with good traveling spirit. On behalf of Lilly, everybody at Front...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We were a bit worried about having been booked into this hotel as part of our self drive tour of Costa Rica. We need not have worried however, this is a lovely little hotel. We arrived after a very bumpy and hot journey from La Fortuna but were warmly greeted by staff who allocated room 23. This is the furthest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikehoare
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ohare. Thank you very much for your very nice, very complete review and comments. We really appreciate you took the time to write and speak on our behalf. I do think there´s a lot of harsh talk directed to us and we definitely offer one of the best lodging options here in Monteverde. Your review will be especially...

San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our 3 days in the cloud forest and it has ALL the amenities you'll need! The rooms are nice and have outstanding nature views! The hotel is completely "green" and asks that you work to help keep it and the environment clean. They have a full spa on property, hydrotherapy hot tub, grotto like swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Beth. Thank you very much for such a nice review. On behalf of all our staff, we wish to thank you for choosing hotel Poco a Poco as your hotel in Monteverde. We look forward for guests that are willing to explore, eat around, see places, enjoy tours, and spend time at the pool, Jacuzzi, relax by the...

surrey, england
Reviewed 27 March 2017

the hotel are updating their car park area and building a wall to separate this area from the main areas. We never had a problem but when the season kicks off there is limited car parking. We were checked in on arrival after a 4 hour trip from Arenal on some of the bumpiest roads I've seen - fun though...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smartcookie50
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Smartcookie. Thank you for such lovely comments, we are working on adjustments on the hotel´s front yard, covered walkways, etc. Thank you for being such understanding guests. We do apologize in advance for the noise and works, we´ll continue for a couple more weeks, ( NOT DURING EASTER ) we aim for a more complete hotel, more comfortable...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Unique and eclectic hotel. Very centrally located--100 meters from good restaurants and <500 meters from downtown area. Comfortable beds and well appointed rooms. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Unfortunately, wifi limited to restaurant and public areas and ongoing construction detracted from the experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danandheidiries
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor user. Thank you very much for your comments. We are very sorry we are undergoing a series of small modifications at the entrance of the hotel, actually, appart from the rooms areas, yet, I totally understand how this can v¿be an inconveniece. We considered doing this works during high season due to the fact that it is...

Ottawa
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights due to the overbooking at our original hotel, hotel Monteverde. Couldn't sleep as the strong wind picked up from 9:00pm every night and the horrible sound let us worried it may blow down the building, what a nightmare. The hotel staffs are friendly and the restaurant serves quality food for dinner. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanataman
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mrs. Kanataman. We are very sorry you did not get a good night´s sleep, Monteverde is quite windy and even though it might feel very strong, it’s pretty normal up here. I wish you´d let us know this situation was interfering with your rest and enjoyment, we have rooms that are on first floor, of down by the...

Hertford, NC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

While we noted mixed reviews of this hotel, we opted to book it and were not disappointed at all. This is a very nice hotel, comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. While the rooms are not what you call spacious, ours had everything we needed to be comfortable. Ours may have been a bit bigger (room 35)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luckyfriday
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mrs Luckyfriday. Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Indeed room 35 is a bit bigger and it features the new amenities and comforts of our recently renewed rooms. We have quite a few rooms that are located away from the street, thus, this rooms are more quiet...

322 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (288)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,070 reviews
0.7 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
231 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
677 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
1,290 reviews
1.0 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $122 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Woodbridge, Canada

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check to see if their construction has been completed and if their internet is up and running.”
GraceO823, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the first floor above the main lobby area.”
579sowmyap, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It has a separate annexe but we were very happy with our room on the main complex (23)”
mikehoare, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“free wifi worked best in the garden areas”
smartcookie50, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 35 may have a bit more space, and is away from the parking lot and road.”
Luckyfriday, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
getaroom.comUS$127
Expedia.comUS$102
TravelocityUS$102
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates