Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (8035)
Ashur pool
pool_amp_beach (1063)
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
videos_ffffdbd1 (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 10 hotels in Sweimah
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_free_parking
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_pool
amenity_fitness_center_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_free_breakfast
hotel_amenity_beach
hotel_amenity_tennis_court
hotel_amenity_kids_stay_free
hotel_amenity_valet_parking
hotel_amenity_wifi
hotel_amenity_hot_tub
hotel_amenity_pool_beach_towels
hotel_amenity_infinity_pool
hotel_amenity_pool_with_view
hotel_amenity_adult_pool
hotel_amenity_outdoor_pool
hotel_amenity_heated_pool
hotel_amenity_private_pool
hotel_amenity_yoga_classes
hotel_amenity_fitness_spa_locker_rooms
hotel_amenity_fitness_classes
hotel_amenity_sauna
hotel_amenity_bar_lounge
hotel_amenity_restaurant
hotel_amenity_breakfast_available
hotel_amenity_breakfast_buffet
hotel_amenity_breakfast_in_the_room
hotel_amenity_complimentary_instant_coffee
hotel_amenity_kid_friendly_buffet
hotel_amenity_kids_meals
hotel_amenity_outdoor_dining_area
hotel_amenity_snack_bar
hotel_amenity_special_diet_menus
hotel_amenity_poolside_bar
hotel_amenity_rooftop_bar
hotel_amenity_entertainment_staff
hotel_amenity_evening_entertainment
hotel_amenity_nightclub_dj
hotel_amenity_video_game_console
hotel_amenity_babysitting
hotel_amenity_childrens_television_networks
hotel_amenity_indoor_play_area_for_children
amenity_children_activities_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_kids_club
hotel_amenity_kids_pool
hotel_amenity_airport_transportation
hotel_amenity_car_hire
hotel_amenity_taxi_service
amenity_business_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_conference_facilities
hotel_amenity_banquet_room
hotel_amenity_meeting_rooms
hotel_amenity_spa
hotel_amenity_couples_massage
hotel_amenity_facial_treatments
hotel_amenity_foot_massage
hotel_amenity_full_body_massage
hotel_amenity_hammam
hotel_amenity_head_massage
hotel_amenity_massage
hotel_amenity_salon
hotel_amenity_steam_room
hotel_amenity_rooftop_terrace
hotel_amenity_24_hour_security
hotel_amenity_baggage_storage
hotel_amenity_concierge
hotel_amenity_currency_exchange
hotel_amenity_gift_shop
hotel_amenity_newspaper
hotel_amenity_shops
hotel_amenity_sun_deck
hotel_amenity_sun_loungers_beach_chairs
hotel_amenity_sun_terrace
hotel_amenity_sun_umbrellas
hotel_amenity_atm_on_site
hotel_amenity_butler_service
hotel_amenity_doorperson
hotel_amenity_umbrella
hotel_amenity_24_hour_front_desk
hotel_amenity_express_check_in_check_out
hotel_amenity_private_check_in_check_out
hotel_amenity_dry_cleaning
hotel_amenity_laundry_service
hotel_amenity_ironing_service
hotel_amenity_shoeshine
Room features
hotel_amenity_allergy_free_room
hotel_amenity_bathrobes
hotel_amenity_air_conditioning
hotel_amenity_private_beach
hotel_amenity_desk
hotel_amenity_minibar
hotel_amenity_cable_satellite_tv
hotel_amenity_bidet
hotel_amenity_housekeeping
hotel_amenity_interconnected_rooms_available
hotel_amenity_private_balcony
hotel_amenity_room_service
hotel_amenity_safe
hotel_amenity_seating_area
hotel_amenity_telephone
hotel_amenity_vip_room_facilities
hotel_amenity_wardrobe_closet
hotel_amenity_bottled_water
hotel_amenity_iron
hotel_amenity_laptop_safe
hotel_amenity_private_bathrooms
hotel_amenity_wake_up_service_alarm_clock
hotel_amenity_refrigerator
hotel_amenity_electric_kettle
hotel_amenity_flatscreen_tv
hotel_amenity_walk_in_shower
hotel_amenity_whirlpool_bathtub
hotel_amenity_complimentary_toiletries
hotel_amenity_hair_dryer
Room types
hotel_amenity_ocean_view
hotel_amenity_bridal_suite
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
hotel_amenity_suites
hotel_amenity_family_rooms
hotel_amenity_smoking_rooms_available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_9624
hotel_style_tag_6233
Languages Spoken
hotel_amenity_english, hotel_amenity_french, hotel_amenity_russian, hotel_amenity_arabic and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Rate:Travel Pulse

Location

Sweimah 11194 Jordan
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Queen Alia Intl Airport
39.2 km
Ben Gurion Intl Airport
73.5 km
58 Restaurants
within 1 kilometer
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles8,800 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea garners accolades for its sumptuous amenities, including an array of pools and top-notch spa services. Its serene elegance, complemented by chic decor and live music, creates a tranquil atmosphere, though some guests suggest a few rooms could benefit from an update. Nestled in a prime location with breathtaking Dead Sea vistas, the hotel's cleanliness and outstanding service are repeatedly praised. However, opinions on value vary, with some finding it pricey despite the luxurious offerings.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
8,800Reviews65Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7,221
  • 850
  • 355
  • 182
  • 194
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dsadesh wrote a review Dec 2022
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A colossal property with an amazing architecture. Apart from the two infinity pools there’s a basin type pool that is temperature controlled and another pool named “Lazy River” that runs across the property.

In addition to the hotel spa, we were given a 5-star mud bath and a salt scrub including a dead sea bath by “Jalal and Eid”, which instantly makes your skin soft like butter and relaxes your body and soul.

The hotel captures magnificent Sunsets with two gorgeous views, thanks to another extremely helpful soul Waleed, who went out of the way to help us around the pool and also providing invaluable tips on how to get better sunset pictures from two different places.

Cleanliness & Safety
• Round the clock staff who are responsible for this make sure that all areas of the hotel meet its quality of cleanliness, rooms are cleaned everyday by default and if for any case the “Do Not Disturb” sign is attached to the door, then the staff will have to be requested for cleaning.
• Special thanks to Ivan who made us welcomed and cared while providing us a good history of the hotel and the country. Many thanks to his hospitality and special attention tendered to us during the breakfast.

Food
• Had a continental buffet on both days with a good international spread, which was arranged in the main restaurant. Another special thanks to Era and Desire who looked after us and made us feel special.
• In room dining is possible but expensive, as this includes service charge and taxes.
• We had dinner from two restaurants, one was Rehan (Lebanese), which had extraordinary Mixed Grill and a mouth-watering lamb dish named Uzi. Thanks to Hassan who made the special recommendation.
• The other is Mediterranean restaurant which has huge portions of pasta and beef lasagne.

Accommodation
• If you are requesting for a Sea View room, I guess you have to have to villas in the beach front with rooms on the top. Rooms 2301 and 2303 seems to have a better view.
• We got a deluxe room which was facing the lazy river swimming pool and the distance view of the Dead Sea. Best request for the lower rooms such as 2701/2703/2601 where you get to enjoy the direct access to the pool with an outdoor private lounge.

Value for money:
• Value for money was satisfying regarding all aspects of the hotel. However, if you are taking a package, we recommend obtaining a Half-board package.

Facilities
• All rooms had a Dental Kit, Sanity Kit, toiletries, towels, bath robes and Bed Room Slippers.
• Tea/coffee and Creamer are also placed in the villas and more could be requested if necessary with unlimited water supply.
• Every room comes with a TV and Hot/Cold water for showers. A safe keeping facility is also available to be used to keep your valuables safe. WIFI is also provided for every room and it is superfast.
• Hotel provides a buggy car service to get around facility faster and Basem was helpful and gave us an extended tour on the invaluable collection of olive trees where some of them are older than 700 years.

Finally has to thank the Guest Relations Managers, Era and Ivan who were extraordinarily helpful and polite. Truly, top class and they made a good stay even better.
Read more
5.0 of 5 bubblesur_question.prompt.13
5.0 of 5 bubblesur_question.prompt.47
5.0 of 5 bubblesrd_userrating.prompt.12
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No outside food is allowed. So if you are planing to go only b/b, you can visit the mall nearby...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastien Mariette, Owner at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Dec 9, 2022
Dear Mr. Sadesh, We are very glad that we had the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to the Dead Sea. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, it is truly humbling to learn that you had a great stay with us and that our hotel facilities and services were up to your expectation. We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff members and would like to rest assured that we have passed on your comments, especially those team members by name. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette General Manager - Kempinski Hotel Ishtar & Area General Manager Levant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jhackTravels wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third stay this year and as always excellent food, great service, and amazing rooms. The front desk is excellent and checking you in quickly and getting you the right room for the right price. Food is amazing, a bit pricey, but it’s worth it. The Dead Sea is only a few minutes walk down the stairs and there you find helpful staff providing towels and water. Same at the pools as the staff makes sure you feel comfortable. Hats off to the arigleh guy as he kept the coals coming even though he was working up and downstairs at the hotel. Just an FYI the resort is massive and each pool area provides a different vibe, which is great as it can fit your mood for the day. I recommend staying in Ishtar village and make sure you upgrade to at least a deluxe or terrace room.
Read more
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C_Zschunke, Executive Assistant Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Jun 25, 2020
Dear valued guest, Thank you for patronizing Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea; and taking the time out to share your experience on this TripAdvisor community. All of us are delighted that we could ensure a comfortable stay during your visit. We are very pleased to read your compliments not only towards the beautiful and magical place of the Dead Sea, but also towards the excellent hotel services delivered. It will be a great pleasure to share your praising comments to all team members. Thank you for staying with us and it will be our great pleasure to welcoming you again to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar during your future travels to the Dead Sea. Kind regards, Cornelia Zschunke Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
abroadwithashley wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love living in Amman, but sometimes, you need a weekend away - especially in the winter! The Kempinski at the Dead Sea just became our new favorite spot. The grounds are absolutely stunning and there are so many places to seclude yourself away. The food, while pricey, is quite good. We were there for two nights and found enough vegetarian options for ourselves. The rooms are minimalistic, but quite comfortable, and anyway, why would you stay indoors? The only constructive criticism I have is for management to tell the cleaning service to close the doors while they're working. Staff left ours open (it was also open when we arrived) and they let in so many gnats. Luckily, it has an easy fix - close the doors! Otherwise, our stay was perfect.
Read more
4.0 of 5 bubblesur_question.prompt.13
4.0 of 5 bubblesur_question.prompt.11
5.0 of 5 bubblesrd_userrating.prompt.12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rudiger_C_Hollweg, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Feb 15, 2020
Dear Ms. Ashley, Thank you for the excellent review! It was a real pleasure hosting you and we are happy to learn that your stay was pleasant in so many aspect. However, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered during you stay. We have addressed this straight away to our team members and escalated it to the management for immediate action to ensure that this incident will not re-occur. Again, thank you very much for staying with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon for another fantastic experience! Have a beautiful day! With kind regards, Rüdiger C. Hollweg General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Babylove wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the first time I stayed in the hotel and it is amazing, from arrival to departure.The public areas and facilities are amazing and there are many pools you can use. 

The breakfast now is served in small portions, you need to wear gloves upon entering the restaurant. The cold items are served in small plates and there is only one live station for eggs and it is served to your table with a lid. The cutlery is wrapped. This procedure is more hygienic and less waste of food.

We were given a villa with a sea view which made the stay enjoyable, and also a late checkout. 

The staff are amazing, helpful and always ready to assist no matter what. At the pool area, each towel is wrapped in a bag and is opened in front of the guest and you are given water at the pool. 

Keep it up ......... will definitely come back.
Read more
5.0 of 5 bubblesur_question.prompt.47
5.0 of 5 bubblesur_question.prompt.14
5.0 of 5 bubblesrd_userrating.prompt.12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haneen Abu-Asbeh, Revenue Management at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Jul 7, 2020
Dear valued guest, Please allow us to thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea for your vacation and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We were glad to understand that you have had a pleasant time at our hotel, enjoying our pools and beach facilities. Moreover, it gives us great joy to find out that you were happy particularly with our COVID-19 safety procedures. Once again we thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and in case of any future booking, do not hesitate to contact our Lady In Red Team to ensure everything is up to your expectations. With kind regards, Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marikamij wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start? We checked in with Jamil who was so wonderful and professional, we were welcomed by Ahmad by the door who helped us with our luggage and his attitude and smile were just spectacular!
The room was very large and very comfortable; we had everything we needed and more.

The pools were very nice and clean. The staff by the pool were hospitable. Abdelrahman was always there to assist us. When my friend fell on her foot, the staff quickly took care of her.

The breakfast on the second day was to die for! It was so well organized, with the staff and chefs helping by giving you the portions of food and helping you load up your plate! And not just the service but the food was really really good. I have one little comment about the coffee which I think was watered down but nevertheless it was all perfect. Yahyia in the restaurant kept us happy and smiling all morning, he really was amazing.

Ivan was just so amazing and professional and great! Honestly, him singing happy birthday to my friend was the highlight of our trip.

I would like to extend my thanks to all the wonderful employees whom I didn’t mention as I have forgotten their names but they were all beyond compare! Every single person we came into contact with was friendly and kind and above all knew the meaning of true hospitality!

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Read more
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cornelia Zschunke, Owner at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Dear valued guest, Thank you for posting your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to receive your perfect rating and you found many aspects of our hotel and services beyond your expectation and that you were able to fully unwind and indulge the wonders of the Dead Sea. We were also glad that you like our spacious well-equipped room, our extensive breakfast buffet and the excellent service provided by our team. We will gladly share your praising comments with the team especially to those team members mentioned by name. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and for having a remarkable stay and hope to have you back with us very soon! Kind regards, Cornelia Zschunke Executive Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hamidah J wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's my 6th day in this hotel. What a beautiful sight from the balcony window although We are not allowed to get out of our rooms due to the quarantine process. I was impressed how the staff received us with smiles and kept on comforting us . There was chaos all over the place due to the huge numbers of people and the front desk officers were under huge stress . However, They dealt with this challenging crisis with so much rationale. Everyday, We receive ,a high standard ,3 giant course meals that feeds three persons. The janitors pass by everyday and provide us with all what we need. Today was the peak of their generosity as they gave us flower and mousse cake on the occasion of mother's day. I salute every single employee in this esteemed hotel. Bless you all.
Read more
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from habuasbeh, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Mar 22, 2020
Dear Ms Hamidah, Happy mothers day ! We are happy to read these lovely words, thank you for rating your experience at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar. We are sure everything is going to be alright soon and you will visit us for leisure and enjoy our facilities in the near future. We are glad to read that you found the service provided by our dedicated staff to be of a high standard and please don't hesitate to contact them if you need anything. Stay safe! With kind regards, Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fida b wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Out standing hygienic process,since our arrival they sterilized our car beside the entrance.
Everybody were wearing masks &gloves included lifeguard,housekeeping and reception every where. .they sterilized your seat &table once you moved.
Outstanding service overall.
Breakfast due to covid and precautions they put like small plates for houmous ,labaneh ,fruits,cheese i really liked them i found it more well organized than the big messy plates so benefits for precaution.
Even the pool towels you got them in sealed bags very clean.
I do advise about this hotel for the above experience and as it has more than 4 pools so no crowded pools you gonna find .

June/22 /2020 experience
Read more
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from haneenAbuAsbeh, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Jun 25, 2020
Dear valued guest, We are very glad that we had the opportunity of hosting you during your recent visit to Ishtar- Dead Sea. It was an absolute honor to have you as our guest and we are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay and the team has made your stay very pleasurable. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that you will spread the word about our amazing property. With kind regards, Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marlen3583 wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On our first visit to Jordan, we booked a 3 night stay at the Kempinski Ishtar on the Dead Sea. We are frequent Travellers and have been to many hotels around the world, yet have been SO impressed with the outstanding service we received at this beautiful resort! Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a much nicer room in the “villas” closer to the sea and can highly recommend staying there over the regular rooms in the main building. The rooms are clean and spacious, and offer great views over the Dead Sea.
During our visit, Jordan was under strict 6pm curfew, hence we had to eat our dinners in the room. Despite this challenge, the team made us very comfortable and offered a great a la carte selection of our half board dinner to be delivered to the room. Breakfast was a buffet at the beautiful Obelisk restaurant, with amazing views from the terrace overlooking the resort, a true highlight.
What made our stay super special was the extremely welcoming , and genuinely friendly staff. Every waiter was doing his utmost best to make us feel comfortable, always with the nicest attitude and smile on their faces. The star of the hotel however was the “gentleman in red” Ivan, who I nicknamed the sunshine. Ivan was just everywhere, greeted and welcomed us with the most positive energy, and literally anticipated our every need. After the first night, my husband and I were discussing that everything is perfect, but that we might prefer firmer pillows. During breakfast, Ivan came to our table to introduce himself , offering any assistance needed, and even asked if we were happy with the pillows or prefer another kind. We were wowed! This is true 5 star service, when you do not even need to ask for something, but your needs are anticipated! The hotel has a true gem with Ivan and its other employees, it truly made the difference!
The minibar also comes with complimentary soft drinks which is a great bonus - sadly it didn’t include the only drink I like- well 1 phone call later, all drinks were replaced with my favorite soft drink!
The resort overall is super well maintained and absolutely beautiful! You can float in the Dead Sea, apply your mud in front of a mirror, shower it off and enjoy some time in the shade on your subbed. The many stunning pools of the resort are just a dream, many of them heated which came in handy as we visited in March.
We had a Picture perfect stay and can only recommend to stay at the Kempinski Ishtar if you are ever at the Dead Sea- you won’t regret it!
Read more
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastien Mariette, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Dear Mr. Marlen, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments. That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day! It was a pleasure to have you. The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful. Customer service is everything to us, and it’s made my day to hear you had such a relaxing staycation. I will gladly share your praising comments with the team in particualr to Ivan. It's not surprising that Ivan took such a wonderful care of you and made you feel so valued. He is an important member of our team! Thank you once again for your review and for your patronage; and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette Cluster General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pritchp wrote a review Apr 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not sure where to start with this review as we had so many problems.
The main areas of concern - When we checked in we were offered to pay for a room upgrade. The upgrade would include a large balcony with sunloungers, a quiet adult only pool and the room would be in a quiet location. The sun loungers clinched the deal and we agreed to pay. When we arrived at our room there were no loungers on the balcony. Fortunately we hadn't unpacked so declined the paid upgrade. After the porter made several phone calls they brought loungers for us. Then the DJ at the large pool, about 30 meters from our room, started playing exceptionally loud music, not the quiet location we had been assured of. At the adult only pool we had loud and badly behaved children running amok. Other guests and our friends did complain and eventually the family were asked to move.
The most worrying issue however happened after a massage when we returned to our room to relax we found our room door open and suitcases (which were still half full) gone. This caused quite some panic and distress. They were returned after our frantic phone call, apparently being collected in error (never really understood why). The relaxation from our massage wasted.
We went for pre dinner drinks ( which took an age to come) and we are convinced the cocktails didn’t contain any gin.
We had to leave early for our flight. We were told we could either order a breakfast box or there would also be tea, coffee and croissants in reception to help ourselves to before we left. We didn't order the breakfast boxes as a coffee and croissant would be more than adequate. When we arrived at reception at 4.45a.m there were no croissants.
In fairness, after complaining the hotel did refund the room upgrade and the price of the cocktails.
So many more issues but I think that gives a good impression.
On a positive the grounds are well maintained and the staff, with the exception of Reception were friendly and helpful.
The Spa is brilliant with good treatments.
We also loved the Lebanese restaurant.
Unfortunately we cannot recommend this hotel as far too many issues.
Read more
3.0 of 5 bubblesur_question.prompt.11
3.0 of 5 bubblesrd_userrating.prompt.12
5.0 of 5 bubblesuserrating.prompt.190
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastien Mariette, Owner at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Apr 13, 2022
Dear Mr. Pritchard, First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our property, although we were happy to read that you acknowledge some positive aspects of your stay with us, we were also saddened to read about the unsatisfactory experience you had whilst residing at our hotel, be guided that our guests’ comfort is given a high priority and your comments are of great importance to us. This is certainly not how we wish our guests to feel and we regret that this was the case. We missed the opportunity to create a positive experience. While it is never pleasant to receive unfavorable criticism, it is through such feedback we can isolate issues and areas in need of improvements and enhancements throughout the resort. I am very sorry that your recent experience at our hotel was not particularly memorable but rather disappointing. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. This is certainly not how we wish our guests to feel and we regret that this was the case. Please be assured that your comments are being addressed with my team, and we will take the necessary measures to improve future guest experiences. I hope that this incident does not taint our reputation and that you will allow us to serve you better in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at: ladyinred.ishtar@kempinski.com as we would like to take extra care of you during your next stay with us. We would be delighted to have you again with us. Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette General Manager - Kempinski Hotel Ishtar & Area General Manager Levant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lama A wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to thank the lady in red ms celini for standing out and really was the only one to help me and resolve my issue. I spoke to many reception desk staff none were able to resolve. I had booked 3 rooms for 3 nights for me and my kids. I got the worse room with poor ac , non functional fridge and most importantly for me no terrace just a small balcony despite booking a dulux room with terrace. Thank you celini for insisting to show me a replacement room and offering an upgrade. Really changed my vacation as i can sleep now. Besides that the staff in the ishtar restaurant are all extremely helpful and very pleasant ie. ibrahim, mohammad, noureddin , yehya and actually all of the staff including the managers . They all excel at what they do. Housekeeping and room service are super fast and very generous they just wish for u to ask and they deliver with delight and pleasure. This time the main dishes buffet was not fantastic as we stayed for 4 days thought there was reception and dullness in main dishes. Unlike the desserts very talented chef with presentation and variety. Thank u kempinski for making out stay exceptional. I cant forget the ongoing service and generous services at pool side like cleaning glasses, passing fresh fruits, lemon shots , freezing water bottles and cold towels. Same exceptional service at dead sea shore. Thank you everyone
Read more
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastien Mariette, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Responded Jul 23, 2021
Dear Ms. Lamaa, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! I am glad that we were able to accommodate a room move for you. Thank you very much for your excellent comments about your recent stay with us and I am very glad that you enjoyed our services and facilities so much and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our complimentary poolside services. Thank you especially for highlighting Cellini, whom I passed on your compliment, which makes her very proud and the rest of the team. We are grateful for your remarks and we hope to be of your service again should your travels bring you back to the Dead Sea. Kind regards, Sebastien Mariette Area General Manager Levant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from GabFon
the beach close at sunset. bear in mind that take off mud and salt with showers located in the beach is not sufficient and there is not a changing room there. perhaps in the main building (far from the beach) you can find a changing room provided with showers and hair dryers. ask at the reception when you check-in
Answer from MEES
Hello.. The highs are in the low 20’s and the lows are around 12 degrees.. Try to book the new rooms that are next to the spa area.. They’re very nice.. Enjoy!
Answer from MEES
Yes, the hotel should be able to help with booking you to Petra. And it’s a must do trip. But it is 2.5 hrs by car
gentleapple123 wrote a tip Jun 15
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth checking out other five-star hotels in the area. I suspect the quality of the room in Kempinski is “hit and miss”. Dinner is good tho"
Read full review
DEEPAK PANDEY wrote a tip Jun 9
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"more playing areas indoor and outdoor for kids in each area in resort ,currently kids club only in main ishtar building (its not free , ?)"
Read full review
Roland B wrote a tip Jun 8
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"At check in ask about any parties or weddings . The events are private and the music goes to very late . Ask for a quiet room"
Read full review
Warsan A wrote a tip Jun 7
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing pools and facilities. Sunset is unreal. The main building rooms really need refurbishing, it’s a bit tired. "
Read full review
Discover42892244401 wrote a tip Jun 3
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool spot is amazing "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sweimah area.
PRICE RANGE
C$323 - C$477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kempinski hotel amman
LOCATION
JordanDead Sea RegionSweimah
NUMBER OF ROOMS
345
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Nearby attractions include Dead Sea (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oak Tree Kitchen, Rehan Lebanese Cuisine, and Burj Al Hamam.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea have airport transportation?
Yes, Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Arabic.
All Sweimah HotelsSweimah Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SweimahHotels near Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars