We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A Villa de Mer

Agoda.comUS$81*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$86*
US$81*
Great Deal
US$86*
US$86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
A Villa de Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Start your review of A Villa de Mer
 Click to rate
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent B&B. Memory could not have been more helpful with accommodating our family of ten including young school-age children. They loved the pool! Everything was great and the sandy beach only metres away.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

What a pleasure it was to accommodate your lovely family. it was good to see how much fun the children had at the pool. a far cry from being stuck indoors behind a play station. trust we will be seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my wife stayed at A Villa de Mer for two nigths. Room was clean and nice. We missed an aircon in our room and the celing fans did not work. Breakfast was nice and the freshly baked muffins was amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquesvanAswegen
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Regarding the ceiling fans, they are all new and in working condition. we find that often our guests switch the fan switch off on the wall and then use the portable control. It is such a pity that you did not ask a staff member to assist you. we strive to keep our guests...

Oldenburg, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one week here visiting our son who is student in Port Alfred. The place was the best we could find! Very kind people working there and we had a lot of space in our room. The breakfast was excellent. Everything was awesome!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaschu2017
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review. Your kind remarks are much appreciated.

Queenstown, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2017

From booking the place to when we arrived Memory was so nice. She welcomed us. The room was beautiful and what we saw in the pictures it was worth it. The breakfast was great u wake up and look forward to it. The sound of the ocean was calming. We shall be returning in May.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank honeylali
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

Thanks for the time in completing the survey, Honey. your input is much appreciated. Looking forward to your next visit. this time you are family and we will rolling out the red carpet!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We will stay again in September on our next intended trip. The place is clean, beautiful bed with good pillows. The breKfast is fresh and well presented. The owner is very caring. I recommend this place highly..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miele1953
memoryPortAlfred, General Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. We are awaiting your arrival in September, when we'll roll out the red carpet!!

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Neat and clean ! Breakfast yummy! Atmosphere amazing! A MUST! The view is a bit spoilt by the sand dune - by beautiful from the side window. Nothing to complain about! I would recommend A Villa de Mer for everybody. If you need a room that is private, smart and clean - go for it. The bed and bedding was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 167karin
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

Thanks Karin for taking the time to place your review. Hope to see you in the near future.

Busum, Germany
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The greeting and the hospitality of the whole crew was extraordinarily friendly and welcoming. Bed was wide and comfortable with white linen. Two bathrobes were provided! All doors in the house were open for guests. There is a big lounge where you can get comfortable with a terrific view on the Indian Ocean. The breakfast was done with love from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hermann W
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

many thanks for your kind words. we are looking forward to your next stay - hopefully much longer!

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The rooms are well equiped. Breakfast is super. Problems were being solved. Guests are number one in this guest house. Information is given about possible trips in the surrounding. A good restaurant is in the neighbourhood.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dickm203
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review. Trust to see you in the near future again.

Leamington Spa, UK
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The villa was so beautifully clean and bright. The ladies who ran a villa de mer, were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was really good. Very close to good beach. And the swimming pool is lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saywell6
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

We do strive to keep our guests comfortable. thank you soooo much for your kind words. Until next time when we find you on the doorstep!

Geita, Tanzania
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I highly recommend the guest house. My family had a wonderful time and a dream holiday. We took two rooms and enjoyed our stay throughout the vacation. We are looking to book again and enjoy the experience

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonardmM8141VQ
memoryPortAlfred, General Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, Leonard. Trust `our ' son is doing well at school. When he misses his parents too much, he can always contact his family at A VILLA DE MER.

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.8 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
304 reviews
1.9 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
279 reviews
1.3 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
26.0 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
1.6 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 25 in Port Alfred
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Villa de Mer Guest House is situated on the beachfront in Port Alfred, South Africa and is in a class of its own. Established in 1996, this modern Mediterranean style Guest House has been awarded four stars by the Tourism Grading Council and, rated according to the high parameters set by the AA of South Africa, as Superior grading.A Villa de Mer is a stylish, spacious and upmarket Guest House and a haven to relax. Located opposite the beach, with panoramic views of the Indian ocean, this guest house comprises of six en-suite bedrooms, with 19 channels DSTV and, offers luxurious accommodation at affordable prices. The wide corridors, large upper lounge that leads onto a balcony with stunning sea views and pristine white beaches, library and reading room downstairs overlooking the sheltered swimming pool, A Villa de Mer creates an atmosphere of tranquility and peace. The spacious TV lounge offers a 19 channel DSTV Bouquet and DVD Player. FREE WI-FI. You can relax and enjoy sundowners on the balcony whilst taking in the beautiful views over the Indian ocean. Fall asleep to the smell and sound of waves breaking on the beach. Cross the quiet road and walk the endless white beaches.We offer comfortable home-from-home accommodation. Enjoy the spacious and unpretentious setting of A Villa de Mer. Whether on business or holiday, A Villa de Mer offers its own brand of local hospitality and is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. It is the ideal place to simply relax or to use as a base from which to explore the many sights of Port Alfred. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Villa de Mer

Address: 22 West Beach Drive, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Price Range: $85 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Villa de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from A Villa de Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 was near the office so try to avoid”
JacquesvanAswegen, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very nice and conformance. Very clean..”
Miele1953, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“LOL - ... only thing was the huge sand dune right in front of us.... but I do understand it is there for a reason.... will still go back! Same room... hopefully next year Feb/March again!”
167karin, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is excellent with view of the sea.”
saywell6, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Replace the bed. The height dates from the 1990's and the matrass is not stable (partner friendly). Everything else superb.”
, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$86
TripAdvisorUS$86
PricelineUS$82
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates