Le Baluchon

Le Baluchon

3550 Chemin des Trembles, St-Paulin, Quebec J0K 3G0 Canada
Le baluchon Éco-villégiature
Traveller (904)
Chambre de catégorie supérieure : ambiance luxueuse
Room & Suite (145)
Le Baluchon
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in St-Paulin
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Le Baluchon est une institution hôtelière unique qui propose une expérience à nulle autre pareille : l’éco-villégiature. À travers celle-ci, Le Baluchon veut vous faire découvrir des expériences et des plaisirs inédits dans le respect de l’environnement, de la terre, du patrimoine et de l'histoire. Vivre l’expérience du Baluchon, c’est ressentir ce sentiment apaisant d’être au bout du monde, sur un territoire immense dont la beauté, à la fois sauvage et apprivoisée, inspire la sérénité. Vous y éprouverez cette impression de liberté découlant de cet indicible sentiment que le temps vous appartient. Enr. 030461 Expiration 30-11-2024
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Archery
Badminton
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Skiing
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Ski In / Ski Out
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Family Getaway package

Location

3550 Chemin des Trembles, St-Paulin, Quebec J0K 3G0 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 44 out of 100
44
Pierre Elliott Trudeau Intl Airport
123.8 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
940Reviews5Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 541
  • 245
  • 88
  • 40
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Norman F wrote a review Aug 2022
Ottawa, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent a wonderfully relaxing 5 nights stay at the Baluchon with visiting family members from France.

We were in 4 different rooms housed in the same building. The rooms were well appointed and recently renovated. Bed was very comfy.

We all had a package which included a generous buffet breakfast with delicious home made bread. and cookies in the morning and a 3 course elaborate meal for dinner. Staff everywhere, whether in the morning at breakfast , at the main dining room in the evening or at the activity desk were very friendly, helpful and professional. Everyone on the site seems to go out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant experience.

The Baluchon sits on very extensive beautiful grounds with rolling forested hills with a small river, water falls and well maintained multi-purpose trails. All included in the price are good mountain bikes you can use on a variety of well maintained trails for all levels, single/double kayaks, canoes to use on a very calm river.

The food at night was in general very good but sometimes lacked consistency in quality. Dining room staff was always, without fault, very responsive and accommodating to our sometimes multiple requests.

There were 4 young children and a teenager in our group and they all had a wonderful stay. They enjoyed interior and exterior swimming pools
and nice horseback rides through the site- for an extra fee.
The only irritant we experienced during our stay is that the rooms don’t get cleaned during the entire length of your stay - unless you make a request the day before and you pay a $20.00 fee. For some of us at 4 or 5 in a room it became hard to manage. they offered a complimentary towel change, free of charge, after 3 days.

Overall I would highly recommend this place for a nice relaxing vacation with friends and family in a beautiful natural setting.

Not recommended though for people with reduced mobility given the terrain and the spread out rooms and eating or activity areas.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Bonjour, We want to sincerely thank you for your appreciation. We hope having the chance to host you again. Winter is also a fantastic season to discover the beauty of our site. Le Baluchon Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane J T wrote a review Oct 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Found this resort on "Bonjour Quebec" website, phoned the resort and made reservations to spend 2 days with the Package that included Breakfast and Dinner. Weather was nice and site is beautiful at this time of the year. Site is quite expansive. We used the bikes and paths and took a few walking paths. We could not complete as they are long and hilly. I would suggest shortening some of the paths to cater to some of the less fit and older clientele. Tips were automatically added to our bills(when charging to our room). Not sure if the dinner tips were included in our overall package.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room with a balcony on the main floor and no view. Considering dinner or spa plan, ask for a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Oct 14, 2021
Hello, We want to thank you for choosing us for your stay in la Mauricie. You can be sure that your suggestion will be considered regarding the trails. We hope to have the chance to host you again this winter. Please note that tips are included in the packages. The Baluchon team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine L wrote a review Jan 2021
Montreal, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We rented the Chalet de la rivière for 3 nights. The cabin was perfect and cozy with 3 separate bedrooms. Impeccably clean throughout. Kitchen is very well stocked with lots of dishes, pots and pans and utensils. Because of Covid the restaurants were closed for the days we were there so we can’t comment. It’s a shame , the menus looked good. We brought all of our food with us to avoid shopping because of Covid.

The check in was very simple. Staff is wonderful. We only saw them at check in and check out and to rent some of the equipment. Everyone wore masks and they are very Covid safe.

The site is magnificent. Lots of beautiful cross country ski trails very well groomed, good snow shoeing and we even tried the fat bikes. Loads of fun. There is a very long boardwalk that follows the river and a gorgeous waterfall.

Thank you to everyone there. We will be back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Jan 20, 2021
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very concerned about our guests satisfaction and really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write to us about your last stay at our property. Our mission at Le Baluchon is to surprise our guests and be sure that they leave us with a sense of wonder. Again, thank you to have given us the opportunity to do so. Team Baluchon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sami D wrote a review Mar 2023
Montreal, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Food was great
The device was super
The location and activities were great as well

However, the Pool and spa was not well maintained, the pool looked dirty and the jacuzzi as well. The women changing room had a leak from the roof. The « Spa Relais  santé » personal was not friendly at all and Anyway we didn’t feel it was clean so we just didn’t use the services. It needs a Big renovation !!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is a great place for outdoor snowshoeing or x putty skiing. Avoid the spa and the pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Mar 6, 2023
Bonjour, We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write to us about your concerns. We are sorry to read that you are unsatisfied. Be assured that our director will put in place the necessary solutions. Sincerely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I R wrote a review Oct 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Will start with the good sides: the food. Very delicious in a dining room. Chef was at his best. The nature - golden autumn with nice Colors, hiking pathways, little waterfall, horses, etc. Rustique village, that was built for the tv series shooting looks like real.

And that’s pretty much it…
Very fast “265$ per person turned into almost 850$ for two. (Ok with the bottle of wine we had at dinner).
I haven’t checked my order confirmation and realized late that the total is way beyond of what was planned. Still ok, fine.
Covid rules. Fine, let’s protect each other. But those here don’t make any sense. Like hot bath tube in spa. Only 1 party per hot tub but one hot tub is flowing into another tub and as soon as I get off the tub, someone else goes in. Nonsense. Same as the changing room. Big changing room is closed due to Covid but tiny one with many lockers is available and there were at least 4 different ppl in 3mx3m space touching the same hair drier and sitting on the same and only wet bench. What’s the point of the restrictions?

Massage: i specifically called to find out what kind of massage is included into the deal. I asked for another kind of massage and said that I’m willing to pay extras if needed. But well… who cares.

Overall experience- doesn’t worth of the money they charge. turned out Very disappointing despite all the adds and nice images….
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Oct 14, 2021
Hello, We are sorry to read your comment. You can be sure that the situation you are describing will be analysed by our SPA manager. Very sincerely yours.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francois S. wrote a review Aug 2020
Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an interesting 2 days there but somewhat overpriced.

When it came to checking out time, there was a huge mess on our invoice. The amounts did not add up and it took the clerk a good 15 min before he issued me a 114.16$ refund.

In the end, he could not tell me what the $114.16 was about. The paper version on the invoice he gave me did not event match the electronic version he was displaying on the screen. (he asked me to step behind the desk so he could try better to explain me). Pretty unpleasant checking out experience.

Anyway, this was something and I left with the 114.16$ refund.

But the icing on the cake was when I check my mastercard statement about 2 weeks later. Magically there was a new charge of $114.16 that the discretely charged me back again 10 days later.

I immediately called to get explanations. They sent me to the voicemail of the lady who handles billing. 2 days go by and no call back. I call again, leaving another detailed message about the situation and politely asking for a call back with explanation. Few more days went by and still no call from Mrs Martine Hubert. After my 3rd call went to voicemail again, I decided I had enough and filed a complaint with mastercard.

Make sure you bring your calculator.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: room 50 had faulty AC. It took me 3 calls to the front desk before someone got it fixed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mbdesjardins wrote a review Apr 2024
Fish Hoek, South Africa
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights over easter weekend, we were surprised their weekend package was still valid over this busy period. Considering how amazing the fine dining was, the package was excellent value for money. Staff is extremely friendly, polite and efficient, and the rooms have everything you need. Great setting for outdoor lovers, absolutely loved the wooden boardwalk and waterfall right next to our building. Make sure you book a treatment if you want to access the sauna on weekends or you won't have access. We only found that out when we got there and treatments were all booked up so no sauna.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You must book a treatment if you want access to the sauna on weekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Apr 5, 2024
Dear Guest, We want to thank you for taking time to sharing your appreciation ! Be sure that it will be share to everybody. The Baluchon Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Francis C wrote a review Oct 2021
L'Assomption, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start with the positives. The service was amazing , from the front desk workers to our servers on our only night there. A1.
The bad : the price. Je-sus... 850$ for 1 night with 1 dinner and a breakfast.
The horrible: Booked a premium suite , got a normal one. Had to wait an hour to get our breakfast because they're understaffed and they they fully booked the hotel anyway because. Who cares. On the morning of our only night there , there was no water , no electricity, no wifi, no nothing.
The inexcusable : after sending an email to the person in charge, we were given a 40$ refound and we were told to make a complaint to Hydro Québec.
Yeah. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Sir, We are deeply sorry to read your comment. Indeed, we had a power failure on an Hydro Quebec line caused by an animal. We had no control over the situation. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
asheffi1 wrote a review Feb 2020
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a nigh at Baluchon to end our vacation with dog sledding for our kids. It was going to be a surprise. I called a couple of days ahead of time to check about the timing for dog sledding, and I was told that it was all booked - even though we had booked it when we booked our room! We were told that we got three phone calls in the past few weeks regarding this, which was not true. Instead our kids went on a short horse ride in the snow - while we walked along behind them. NOT the same, at all. And there were no other activities available that we could do as a family - they were all booked. The room was great, dinner was excellent, and breakfast was good, too. But we would not have made the drive if we had known we couldn't go dog sledding. I would not recommend this place for families with young children, either.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia B, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Bonjour, We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write to us about your concerns. Your comments are valuable to us. We are always striving to serve our customers better. Again, thank you to have given us the opportunity to do so. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacob M wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We hosted a retreat at Le Baluchon this October and our experience was really great.

All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. They also communicated very well and covered all the small details.

The rooms were great, the food was great, the facilities and the environment were great!

I have nothing negative to say and would highly recommend Le Baluchon for your business trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patricia Brouard, Directeur général at Le Baluchon
Responded Nov 29, 2022
Bonjour, It is so nice from you to taka time sharing your appreciation. You can be sure that all our staff members will have the opportunity to read you comments. Many thanks.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
St-Paulin, Canada13 contributions
Bonjour Couturli, Les chambres sont équipées d'une cafetière Keurig. Des capsules seront déjà dans la chambre à l'arrivée, mais vous pouvez également en apporter des supplémentaires si vous le désirez. Au plaisir!
Grigri35 asked a question May 2021
Longueuil, Canada19 contributions33 helpful votes
Bonjour, quelles sont les activités offertes cet été pour les enfants? Merci
Answer from Le Baluchon
St-Paulin, Canada46 contributions
Bonjour, Merci pour notre intérêt envers notre centre de villégiature écoresponsable situé en Mauricie. au Baluchon, il y a toujours quelque chose à faire ! Il y a une tonne d'activités de plein air de disponible ainsi qu'un centre équestre à côté de la Ferme du Baluchon et ses animaux. Vous pouvez consulter consulter notre site web sous la section Expériences. Au plaisir de vous accueillir, L'équipe du Baluchon 📞 1 800-789-5968
Answer from Met L
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada18 contributions19 helpful votes
Bonjour, Il risque effectivement d'y avoir de la neige à cette période. La température moyenne peut varier entre 4 et -4 degrés. Merci
Answer from Le Baluchon
St-Paulin, Canada46 contributions
Bonjour Madame, Nous assurons le suivi à votre observation dès cette semaine. Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous partager votre avis. Bonne journée.
Judith C asked a question Aug 2015
Montreal, Canada
Comment fait-on pour se rendre chez vous en autobus voyageur ou en train?
Answer from pierre44Montreal
montreal52 contributions65 helpful votes
Bonjour, Je ne crois pas qu'il y ait d'autobus pour se rendre au Baluchon. On s'y rendre en auto. Par contre, je suggère que vous communiquiez avec l'établissement pour avoir une reponse plus efficace. Cette situation doit être souvent abordée. Pierre
mbdesjardins wrote a tip Apr 2024
Fish Hoek, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You must book a treatment if you want access to the sauna on weekends"
Read full review
MBTrip01 wrote a tip May 2023
Brussels, Belgium5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The walkingtrails are reportedly only for guest of the hotel, that is a shame, it makes other customers fzel like second rate customers. "
Read full review
Sami D wrote a tip Mar 2023
Montreal, Canada46 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is a great place for outdoor snowshoeing or x putty skiing. Avoid the spa and the pool"
Read full review
Diane J T wrote a tip Oct 2021
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with a balcony on the main floor and no view. Considering dinner or spa plan, ask for a room close to those facilities."
Read full review
Francois S. wrote a tip Aug 2020
Canada1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 50 had faulty AC. It took me 3 calls to the front desk before someone got it fixed."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St-Paulin area.
PRICE RANGE
C$272 - C$399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge le baluchon hotel st-paulin, country inn quebec, le baluchon country hotel, quebec country inn
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecSt-Paulin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Le Baluchon - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Baluchon
Which popular attractions are close to Le Baluchon?
Nearby attractions include Sentier Botanique Saint-Elie (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Baluchon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Baluchon?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Le Baluchon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Baluchon?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Baluchon?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salle à manger - Le Baluchon, Rond Coin, and Bois Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Baluchon?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Le Baluchon offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Baluchon?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Le Baluchon accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St-Paulin HotelsSt-Paulin Hotel DealsHotels near Le Baluchon
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars