Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico

Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico

Traveller (7033)
Pool & Beach (1438)
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 3 resorts in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Come and stay in one of the 445 perfectly equipped rooms to guarantee your comfort and relaxation during your stay. In addition, we have swimming pools, bars, a gym and a wellness center, and we offer you a variety of gastronomic options that will be your delight. Get your Riu Class loyalty card, accumulate points and enjoy exclusive benefits. Relax in the SPA or enjoy the wide variety of activities. Come have a great time at the #RiuParty and at the Pachá nightclub! Dance to the music of the best DJ's and don't miss the shows and performances at the parties. The Elite Club by RIU is here! Do you want to live an exclusive vacation? Book the Elite Club by RIU rooms, the exclusive services will not disappoint you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Sauna
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Entertainment staff
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Riu Class Benefits

Location

Av. de los Cocoteros Lote Hotelero G, Flamingos, Nuevo Nayarit 63732 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles6,687 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location with stunning ocean views, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico garners high marks for its setting and its extensive amenities, including multiple pools and quality dining options. While service at this hotel can range from exemplary to less satisfactory, guests often commend the overall cleanliness and recent renovations. Opinions on the hotel's value and atmosphere vary, with some guests enjoying the quiet elegance and others desiring more vibrant evening entertainment. Concerns about room issues are noted, but many travelers still appreciate the comfortable accommodations.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
6,687Reviews1,638Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,949
  • 1,718
  • 604
  • 213
  • 203
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David R wrote a review May 2023
Bolton, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 14 day break at this hotel and we had a great time. The hotel was at capacity the whole time but you could not tell at all. The food in the buffet is of good quality, varied and was never overly busy. 4 speciality restaurants that you do not need to reserve (if you do not get in on the first sitting they give you a buzzer that advises you when the table is ready). Drinks are branded, as an example we drank absolute or Smirnoff Vodka and Baileys. Draught beer is fine but you can request bottled Heineken beer. Credit to the management team as the hotel is incredibly well organised and all of the staff work very hard and provide exceptional customer service. Special mention to Hugo at the 24 hour sports bar in the lobby, Mini me at the pool bar and Alex on the animation team. The pool bar can get quite busy at certain points during the day however you do not need to stress as the waiters / waitresses regularly take drink orders both at the beach or poolside. The beach is good and wide and the vendors are polite and move quickly on if you do not wish to buy their goods. The massages on the beach are fantastic and cost just 400 Peso / 20 USD for an hour! The sea is not as clear as on the Caribbean side but there is no issue with sea weed. The hotel is spotless and is constantly being tidied but not in an intrusive way. If the maids come at at inconvenient time they always come back the same day if you leave ‘the please clean’ tag on the door handle. We stayed in a standard suite with a partial sea view which was absolutely fine with plenty of storage space. The beds were comfortable but the furniture is a little worn, will be sorted later in the year during the renovation. Branded optics in the room with mini fridge stocked daily with water, Pepsi and beer. If you do want a front line poolside bed you need to get up for about 6.30 am however if you are not concerned by this there are plenty of beds / shades available around both the pool and beach. We got an Uber to visit Puerto Valero which is about 30 minutes and worth the trip. We asked to be taken to the Malecon and walked down the Pedestrianised boardwalk. Uber cost for the trip in the region of 350 peso / 17 USD, taxis ordered at the lobby are slightly more expensive. One guest we got to know did have an issue with an excessive taxi cost so always confirm the price before a journey. Wi-fi worked perfectly across all the hotel. One slight gripe was the small number of toilets and their location but suspect they will sort this during renovation. Smokers beware that there are only two designated areas for smoking. You are not even allowed to smoke on your balcony, notices in your room warning of fines up to 10,000 peso (£450 / 500 USD). I do not smoke and fully appreciate restrictions however feel the balcony rule is excessive. If you are going to the hotel pre renovation do not worry. Post renovation I suspect this place will be even better although the current lobby is outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Responded May 18, 2023
Dear David R., Your detailed and positive feedback is very much appreciated, thank you very much. Our lovely staff will be very pleased to learn that all their efforts were appreciated. Knowing that you had a nice time is the best news. Looking forward to welcoming you again, David. Kindest Greetings, Hotel Riu Palace Pacífico Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sheilapoole wrote a review Jan 2020
Bridgend, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited the Riu Palace Pacifico just after Christmas and over New Year.
We had a lovely stay, of course if you look you will see areas that need decorating but they did seem to be doing renovating while we were there. The 2 rooms either side of us did look a lot brighter out on the balcony, so presume they will all get done in turn. Our room was fine, exactly what we asked for. The mini bar was re stocked everyday with plenty of water and soft drinks ( we didn't drink the beer as had had enough during the day)! We had no issues with anything dirty, although some sheets did look a bit grey. The pillows could have been more comfortable too. Just to mention, the taps and shower in the bathroom were plumbed incorrectly, so we never had cold water. Red was warm and Blue was hot.
Some people did have issues with the key cards not working but not us. The food was good, plenty of choice in the buffet. We did also eat in the Mexican and Steak House, both good too. All drinks were good as well. The pool is huge and the swim up bar does get busy but if it gets a little rowdy you can just retire back to your lounger which there was no shortage of on the beach. The beach is nice, if people didn't drop their cigarette butts and limes from their drinks on it, it would be even better! The waves do get very strong, so be careful. Lots of sea life, to see Rays swimming in the water and jumping out was fab. Was an issue with the hobie cats though. It does seem that the guys running them can't sail themselves but want to sell everyone a lesson first. My husband can sail but was told only to tack and not jibe as the sail would break. What nonsense. Seems to be a money making operation, but there wasn't much wind anyway so not much point taking one out.
The bar service on the beach was great, the staff work so hard. We found all staff friendly and helpful in all areas. Yes, it would be good to have toilets nearer to the beach as the nearest ones are up at the restaurant area.
We had a great stay but would just mention that 3 out of the 4 of us came down with a stomach bug in the last few days. We all ate different things so really don't think it was the food and everything we had was so good. Does make me wonder if it came from the swim up pool area as so many people are in there sometimes and I don't know how thoroughly it gets cleaned, but who knows.
We all enjoyed our stay anyway and had no other issues with cleanliness or bad service anywhere.

Just a quick mention about the airport. It took hours to get through immigration and then baggage claim. But going home was much easier and is quite a nice departure area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: we had high floor, side sea view overlookkng courtyard area. Perfectly fine.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear sheilapoole, Thank you very much for your words. We are pleased to know that overall you had a good stay with us and that you liked the good food as well as the pool and beach areas. However, we are disappointed to learn about the unfortunate situation that you experienced and we hope that you are all now completely recovered. Please let us inform you that, in case of stomach discomfort, we always encourage our guests to reach out to our front desk staff so they can provide medical attention and detect the cause of the illness and let us assure you that all our hotels fulfil the international hygienic norms, including the maintenance of the swimming pools. They are cleaned on a daily basis and the pH is checked throughout the day. We will share your comments with our Management Team for further consideration and we look forward to welcoming you back at RIU Hotels & Resorts. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Miriam wrote a review Apr 2021
Spokane, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing time at the Riu Palace! The hotel is a bit older, and it’s not perfect, but it is still beautiful and very well kept. We were greeted upon arrival, and the front desk staff was wonderful. Our badge were brought to our room, and we were greeted with chocolate covered strawberries as an anniversary gift which was completely unexpected and incredibly appreciated! We were not accosted by staff to attend their “90 minute” presentation as this is not a timeshare, and that was a breath of fresh air!

There are 5 restaurants plus a 24 hour sports bar, and we ate at each restaurant. Those complaining that the food was bland clearly didn’t eat at all of the restaurants because we ate at each one and nothing but good things to say about each! Breakfast was probably our favorite because of all of the fresh fruit and the variety of options offered. Ruben at Peninsula was phenomenal and had our drinks ready every morning before we even sat down!

The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of chairs for guests. There are massage tents just south of the hotel property that were amazing and cost only $15 for 70 minutes per person. Yes, vendors wander by selling their wares, but they are kind and not pushy if you just say no thank you when they come by. There are also boogie boards available for check out and many other activities (not through the hotel) that were readily available for a fee.

Our server on the beach, Luis Manzana, was our favorite part of this trip! He was happy and fun, and was incredibly attentive all day every day we were there! He remembered our orders, he suggested several drinks when we didn’t feel like making decisions, and his timing was impeccable as our drinks were never empty for more than a couple of minutes! And the only food option on the beach was nachos, but the restaurants are not far from the beach for guests who get hungry!

There was entertainment in the pool area each day, and staff was exciting and engaging. There was also an evening show each night that was fantastic!

There was no alcohol in the room as the bottles are typically “on tap”, however for obvious reasons, those were not available. However, our refrigerator was stocked each day with water, soda, and beer. Also, at the time of this review, they were not offering room service, again, because of the pandemic. They also require guests to wear masks inside at all times. This is for safety, and we appreciated their commitment to cleanliness and safety.

We will absolutely be back to the Riu! It was an incredible, affordable experience, and the service was unmatched!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ocean view and partial ocean view are essentially the same - ocean view rooms are just in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MRMRSPIP wrote a review Mar 2020
Minneapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We largely chose this resort for our family get together (myself and the hubby, along with our two young adult children) because of the family suite room offering, as well as its location in Nueva Vallarta where the sandier beaches are. Those two aspects of the resort did not disappoint. The room set up was really perfect for us, with two large bedrooms, one with a king bed and one with two queens, plus an oversized bathroom with two showers and a separate toilet area. There was also a large balcony and a sitting area - so plenty of space for us to not be on top of each other. The beach also was sandy and wide, and not rocky as it is in downtown Vallarta. We could always find chairs and the vendor traffic was minimal and respectful. The biggest downside for sure was the food. The buffet which was the only lunch option seemed designed for kids - chicken nuggets, pizza, hot dogs, nachos. Not appealing in the least. There were 4 dinner choices, which opened at 6::30 or 7 depending on the restaurant, none of which took reservations. While this allowed flexibility, unless you were there by 7:30 or so, they typically were booked for the night and not putting anyone else on their list. Which again then left the buffet as your only option. The one night we were able to get in to the Krystal Fusion restaurant, the food was quite good; however the overall dining experience was disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear MRMRSPIP, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the travel community! We are happy to learn that overall you had a good time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico! We appreciate your kind words and compliments towards most of our products and services. Nevertheless, since for RIU gastronomy is a very important aspect, we are sorry to learn that our wide range of food served in our restaurants and buffet did not fulfill your expectations. We can assure that we do check daily our food offer and quality providing a wide selection of exquisitely presented dishes catering for all tastes. Certainly, we will share your opinion with our Chefs team. We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! Greetings, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mike c wrote a review Jan 2020
Winnipeg, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from holiday here in January and this was not our first stay here. The property is better than ever. Check in was seamless and staff was welcoming and courteous even when requested to change our preassigned room. The room was wonderful and maid service was exceptional. Turn down service each night even went so far as to refresh any used bath towels each evening. Mini bar was consistently well stocked. The property that some would describe as dated, is not dated, that's simply the design. The lobby, restaurants, lounge and public areas are palatial by design (hence the name "Palace"), and hopefully the property is never modernized. All staff at the property are extremely friendly and very hard working. They are also very accomodating should you have any specific requests. We ate mostly at the buffet and the food and service was exceptional. Different themes nightly resulted in some change in variety. Food is constantly being replenished making everything quite fresh. If it's not fresh, wait ten minutes and it will be. Pool area is beautiful and very well maintained. Availability of lounge chairs both on the beach and at the pool is far better than most resorts. Can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Mike, Thank you so much for your loyalty and taking the time to write this excellent review on our Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team helped to make your travel as relaxing and successful as possible. We will let them know that you appreciated their expertise. It is our hope to welcome you again soon. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geofflurchrman wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed mid Feb for two weeks travelled with Tui. Jenny the Tui rep was one of the most professional we have have come across. The hotel was lovely, very clean with plenty of seating in all bar and reception areas.Ask for premium brands or you will get the local stuff. Our room on the 8th floor was a spacious junior suite and being in a corner had the benefit of two balconies.Bath was a bit dated but did have hand rails which are handy for anyone with mobility issues, shower pressure adequate,good hairdryer and excellent housekeeping. Our room was spotlessly clean and we had plenty of fresh towels everyday. We used the all the al a carte restaurants rather than the buffet because it was nice being waited on and the food/service was good in all of them. Least fave was the stake housebut went to the Mexican four times and Krystsl twice! The only criticism I have which I know is personal taste, is around the daytime activities. There was some really good stuff spanish lessons, yoga, trips round kitchen etc but my goodness, it was sometimes like an 18-30s in the afternoons. Don't get me wrong, we like staying at Club Riu's too but I expected activities to be a bit more low key for in a Riu Palace. Evening entertainment was OK, the rock circus night was particularly good and fair play to the entertainment team. Majority of holiday makers are from Canada and USA who on average go for a week or ten days, so if you like us, are from the UK and are there for two weeks,may find the entertainment a bit repetitive. Overall we enjoyed it and yes would return if the price was right.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear Geofflurchrman, Thank you for sharing your outstanding experience with us! We are delighted to understand that you had a wonderful time during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico! We appreciate your kind words and compliments! It was a pleasure to take great care of you! We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future! Greetings, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WODISHO wrote a review Oct 2020
SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I are spending our last vacation day at the Riu Pacifico Palace in Neuvo Vallarta and this will be the last time we come to this property. We visited two years ago and it was just wonderful, clean, and exclusive; where as now the only element of good left is the good staff who work here. The place looks old and tired except the entrance lobby. The rooms have stained walls, holes in couches and blankets are torn. There is algae growing on shower walls and bath tub walls just as you will find ample algae on pool tiles where many of tiles have fallen off. The water in showers is either not coming out or if it is, it’s burning hot or just cold. Place is now dirty and has lost the glamour and the beauty it once had.
The pool area is full of children and I mean many many screaming children with no supervision. Many of the kids are toddlers in tubes in their diapers and many are just roaming around jumping in and out of the pool including the bar swim up area which is supposed to be an adult only area. Many adults on day pass are drunk and are simply screaming profanities at each other in Spanish which is absolutely unacceptable. I went to complain at front desk and discovered that Riu is now selling day passes to people who come in for pool, food and drinks for around 1200.00 M$ Or $60.00 US.
Rooms are not serviced until late in the day and there is no soap fill or anything thing in the rooms. The liquor bottles they used to have are now gone too. The protocols for Covid are monitored sporadically and even when checking temperatures they don’t even look at the read outs.

The nightly shows are a joke with most armature people running the stage and doing whatever they can to resemble a show.

It’s amazing to see a place go from so good to so awful and amazingly below average. We regret spending a week here from 10/16 to 10/23 and my advice is to save your dollars and go somewhere else. By the way, they exchanged all currencies except American Dollars here.

Regretting this trip - Walt
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Responded Oct 27, 2020
Dear Wodisho, Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We do strive to provide five-star service from beginning to end of your stay, and or this reason we deeply apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is our hope you can accept our sincerest of apologies and have confidence in knowing that your comments will be reviewed with our team. Hopefully, you will give us another chance so that we can turn around your experience on a future stay. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
k_beeBucks wrote a review Oct 2020
Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came for a week with a young family. Room was dated but very clean and well maintained. The only complaint was that we were promised a child’s minibar in the advertisement but the family rooms only have a single minibar. Cleanliness everywhere was outstanding, we alway saw someone cleaning or repairing and every time we ate temperature and hand sanitising had to be done before entry. Some restaurants were closed on a rotating basis but not an issue, easily accessed and no queuing. The buffet was slightly repetitive but always well presented and good food. I noticed some people complained about service but all of the service we had was excellent. The front desk was good and we used taxis to travel to various activities. The children’s club was very quiet (expected) but little in the way of physical activities being mainly arts and crafts, something for the hotel to consider. The only bar issue was the diet soda was very watered down making drinks taste poor. Should use standard ratios to improve the taste. Although alcoholic measures were good and waiters continually walked the pool asking if we were all ok. Overall a great stay with a couple of things that could be improved. We would come back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Great sea views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrsJanvier0644 wrote a review Jan 2020
Wallasey, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited for 1 week for our honeymoon and we could not fault anything. The hotel was amazing, our room was lovely and cleaned spotlessly every day. The staff in the restaurants are attentive and provide excellent service and we rewarded this with small tips. The pool is lovely and again waitress/waiter service is available so you really don’t have to lift a finger. Yes sometimes there was some noise from the swim up bar from some excitable people but nothing that would spoil your enjoyment. We had lovely freshly cooked omelettes for breakfast and tried the room service which was also lovely. The mini bar is freshly stocked daily and we came back to a towel decoration everyday and every night out bed turned down and a chocolate on our pillow. The entertainment might not be to everyone’s liking but they do make an effort at night and around the pool during the day. We enjoyed it that much we are going back in July which we have never done before and taking my teenage son with us so hopefully we will enjoy it just as much second time around. All in all we had a great holiday
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear MrsMoore0644, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico and for trusting us to celebrate your honeymoon. Congratulations!! Your positive feedback is gratefully received and we are thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable time with us!! We can assure you that your compliments are very appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Wish you all the best in meanwhile. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Calmjohn wrote a review Nov 2020
Leavenworth, Kansas
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Things were quite different than in my many stays before, but we were made aware of the changes before making the trip. I read the RIU protocols and found them to be satisfactory and for my safety. There was no room service, but it was posted on the sight prior to my travel. I had requested a coffee pot and had one in my room. I have diamond class status and had a tray of assorted candies and cookies and a bottle of cold 'bubbly' on the table waiting for me when I entered my room. The wall whiskey dispensers had been emptied and all magazines had been removed. Otherwise my room was much as it had always been.

The hotel has 425 rooms . 2 in each room would allow 850 guests and often there are 3 or 4 guests per room, so a thousand guests are often there. Due to restrictions caused by COVID 19, 400 guests were perhaps maximum at any time we were there.

Masks were required in all areas of the hotel proper except when eating or drinking. Temperature checks and hand sanitization was required prior to entrance to each restaurant. Service and food was excellent in La Pennisula, The Steak House, Krystal and the Guacamole. (The Kyoto (Asian) Restaurant is excellent, but I had too much Asian food in the Far East.)

Excellent maid service was provided daily. Always mornings and usually in the evening. My mini fridge was re-stocked daily.

Seating at the bars had been blocked by stools being removed and no service, but cocktail service was great at the tables in the main lounge and theater. The pool bar was open for walk up service and servers were constantly making the rounds.

Food was always fresh, properly prepared and plentiful. Service was a good as always. Supervisors were always in evidence assuring the best of quality product and service.

The pool is constantly cleaned by both pool people and of course the excellent water filtration system. The swim up bar which many actually dislike is closed. You must get out of the water for a drink.

I will admit that 'things are a little better' without COVID19 protocols, but my wife and I plus my son and his wife were there for 10 days . We have both stayed in many RIU hotels and quite a few stays at Palace Pacifico. I am planning a return to Pacifico in April.

If you have questions about this hotel feel free to ask. I will do my best to provide an honest answer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on higher numbered floors provide just a bit better view. Most partial ocean views are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Joylee
Okanagan Falls, Canada16,838 contributions378 helpful votes
It is not a Party hotel, like the RIU Jalisco or other resorts. You can request quiet room on the South side and move if bad room
Tamie G asked a question Jun 2024
Are the pools heated in October?
Answer from kyle r
Lacey, Washington8 contributions2 helpful votes
The pools are very warm overall. The temperatures are listed at the towel station.
Answer from kyle r
Lacey, Washington8 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, if you are staying at a Palace, you have access to all the others that are around you, except for dinners.
Answer from Joylee
Okanagan Falls, Canada16,838 contributions378 helpful votes
Yes, both the RIU Jalisco, about 5 block walk, then a condo complex and the RIU Vallarta. You can visit both, but NOT for breakfast or dinners.
Answer from Kim E
Edmonton, Canada68 contributions153 helpful votes
DO NOT BOOK THROUGH EXPEDIA, they have different option they have caused so many issues never will use them again.
2010hometown wrote a tip Jul 6
Vancouver, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to not speak in the halls as you cheerfully leave the bars at night.😴"
Read full review
Donald D wrote a tip Jun 2024
Seattle, Washington383 contributions211 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't spend the money on partial ocean view. Never really in room and cheaper and same view from the non ocean view."
Read full review
Anna J wrote a tip Jun 2024
13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are plenty of pool chairs, so no need to wake up early and snag one. "
Read full review
allison M wrote a tip Jun 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Place is more crowded during the weekend but still was amazing "
Read full review
Detroit, Michigan33 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you can do the Elite Club option it is a wonderful elevated experience but you will have a great time regardless! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Flamingos area.
PRICE RANGE
C$349 - C$506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riu palace pacifico hotel riviera nayarit, riu palace pacifico nuevo vallarta
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastNayaritRiviera NayaritNuevo NayaritFlamingos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
445
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Nearby attractions include Santuario de Cocodrilos El Cora (2.3 km), Scuba Steve (4.0 km), and Dolphin Discovery Puerto Vallarta (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casona, Tarantella, and Mikoh.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parroquia de San Miguel Arcangel Church (14.2 km).
All Flamingos HotelsFlamingos Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FlamingosHotels near Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars