We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Okonjima Plains Camp

Traveller (603)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (46)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
The Plains Camp is 700m from the airstrip within the secluded wilderness area of Okonjima Nature Reserve and has majestic sunset views. Its design honours the Hanssen's family cattle-farming history with its three-tier accommodation facility of 10 large View Rooms, 14 spacious Standard Rooms and six affordable Garden Rooms. It is family-friendly and wheelchair accessible. Okonjima guarantees a unique African safari to remember. Our activities delight and educate even the most experienced of travellers. Mornings begin early with tracking cheetahs on foot in the Okonjima Nature Reserve alongside our experienced guides. In true African style, days end with game drives through the acacia thicket in search of elusive leopards followed by a sundowner. Whether you hike, bike or are an avid bird watcher, there are endless ways to spend your time at Okonjima.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Hosea Kutako Intl Airport200 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
167
46
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
167
46
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn standard room plains camp view room cheetah tracking africat foundation the reserve main building game drives on foot big cats meeting place an extra charge day bed picture window main reception two double beds
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sadly, we only spent one short night here. It's a great place.Wish we had known how nice it really was, we would have stay 2 nights. It wasn't that long of a drive from Etosha, as all but he last half hour were on tar...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Stan H
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights at this camp. Checking in was very nice and pleasurable. The atmosphere was very relaxed with a lot of humor. We noticed that the whole team was extremely friendly and helpful. They had nice ideas and every time we met one...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank rotterdamerik
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights here. We had an individual chalet looking out over the reserve, and within 50 metres of the central facilities. The room was very good with large en-suite facility, clean and comfortable bed. Central facility was very good - large open plan...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank suffdoc
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After hearing strong recommendations from friends, we decided to invest in a two night stay in Okonjima. Our cottages were well appointed with a gorgeous view, but there was no A/C and outside temperatures were around 40 C. Although the cottage had ceiling fans, it...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank mks1122
Response from Tyla H, Public Relations Manager at Okonjima Plains CampResponded 1 week ago

Dear mks1122 We sincerely apologise that you felt like you had such a terrible visit. Please bare in mind that the WEATHER is not in our control and that during the months of October/November Southern Africa, ie Namibia was experiencing a major heatwave with soaring...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the Garden rooms for 1 night at the end of our 3 week self drive tour of Namibia. It certainly was a highlight of the trip and could have quite easily stayed 2 nights to unwind a bit. The room...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Tatty239
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ZooQueen
February 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from JonDavy | Reviewed this property |
It just goes on the hotel bill, so yes
0
Votes
Rodney J
December 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ingegent68 | Reviewed this property |
We went on the leopard tracking. If I remember well, it started at 6 o'clock in the morning. There was coffee and tea and also some biscuits for us first, so we did not have to start with an empty stomach. The drive lasted... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Sarah O
October 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Q5616RCpatricks | Reviewed this property |
Bush Camp is nice and smaller. I perceived it as quite dark. The Plains Camp is much lighter and open space. I didn't stay at the Bush Camp, but I couldn't see that the extra price would be worth it. Only the activities are... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a chalet close to the central facilities"
suffdoc
2 weeks ago
Read review
"A 'standard' room punches way above its weight"
jstardust
Nov. 2, 2018
Read review
"Some rooms are quite far from main reception area! We weren't self driving so had a "good..."
WheezeyFox
Sep. 24, 2018
Read review
"Even the standard plains camp rooms were really good"
DanielR95
Aug. 27, 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$254 - US$347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaOtjozondjupa RegionOtjiwarongo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing