We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sumbiling Eco Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Batang Duri
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sumbiling Eco Village
Add a photo
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sumbiling Eco Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Melbourne
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Our adventure began with a high speed 45 minute journey up river into the centre of Brunei. Then a bus journey. We arrived at this small scale profit making for the operator and a social enterprise for the villagers. We wandered in past the village long house through to a large open communal area with adjacent tents and basic cabins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhcMelbourne
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

We thought about seeing brunei for one day, but as we read about sumbiling ecO village we changed our plans and for the good!! It was a wonderful experience! We stayed for a night in a tent/hut with our own little hut with hammocks in front of us. The tent had good beds and we slept well! We were the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olga V
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Every year, it is a must for my family and any part of the extended family to go on a jungle retreat to Sumbiling Eco Village. We are normally a group of 7 to 10 people and we stay for at least 3 nights. The village and the villagers are fantastic. The environment so peaceful even with the gentle sounds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SGraeme
hong kong
Reviewed 7 July 2015

quite relaxing place but if you need to have lots of activity at the whole days whole tour. then, day trip may fit for you. if you choose overnight stay, recommended tent, the view is perfect & quite enjoy esp at night time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamface
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Riza, the lady who booked me for the Ulu Temburong National Park tour, was very helpful and dedicated to getting me on this tour. I'm a solo backpacker and I had told her that I would join so long as someone else booked the tour as well. Luckily someone did and she ended up knocking on my hostel door in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorquista
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a perfect getaway at this place, as a stopover en route between the UK and Australia. It lived up to the great reviews and left us relaxed and rejuvenated. The staff are very professional and friendly, the tent we stayed in facing the river was fantastic. Hardly any mosquitoes which was a pleasant surprise. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigSmallWorld
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2015

I was to be working in BSB and had a spare weekend. I booked the 2D/1N trip whilst in UK and booking process a bit convoluted but ok. What a brilliant experience and if you have time staying in brunei then do this trip. Our guide Nasri was brilliant. Knowledgable, funny, attentive and helpful. Trip by speedboat to Bangar good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy B
Houston
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We chose the 2D/1N Complete Rainforest Experience which included meals and accommodation. This was an immersive jungle experience with basic comforts. We decided to forgo the room upgrade and slept in a large tent with two thick mats under a roofed area with a fruit trees and enjoyed the sounds of the jungle at night. (If you are a light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brazeneyes
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 July 2014

After visiting Sumbiling ECO Village my wife and I tried to decide whether this was the first or second worst vacation experience we’ve ever had. Basically, it is bare bones camping, and you won’t get to do anything unless the villagers let you. Skip to the last paragraphs if you just want the summary. We booked through Borneo Guide. Their...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Robert G
borneoguide, Owner at Sumbiling Eco Village, responded to this review

Dear Robert and Julie, Thank you for your honest feedback! We are very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience and that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. I cringed when I read about the incompetency of the guide and insufficient food. They...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked two trips with the BORNEO GUIDE: one to the Ulu Temborong National Park and a one-day city tour. Their services were excellent and everything was well taken care of (even a vegetarian meal for one of us). We especially enjoyed the long boat ride from the Sumbiling Eco Village, which is the base of Borneo Guide, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert Y

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batang Duri
0.0 km away
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
942 reviews
0.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
962 reviews
0.0 km away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
341 reviews
0.0 km away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bandar Seri Begawan
144 reviews
0.0 km away
Ulu Ulu National Park Resort
Ulu Ulu National Park Resort
#1 of 1 in Ulu Temburong National Park
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sumbiling Eco Village is a nature lodge situated in the interior of the Temburong District, home to some of the best preserved rainforests in Borneo. Due to our location, we are within reach of the popular Ulu Temburong National Park as well as other well-preserved rainforest areas, yet just 5 mins walk to the main road, 25 mins drive from Bangar (Temburong's main town), and around 2 hours by boat and drive from the Brunei International Airport. A rustic stay awaits you, as our lodge is surrounded by shady trees and new growth forests, and is located right on the banks of an upstream stretch of the Temburong River, with rocky rapids, and clear water depending on the rainfall. We try our best to keep structures to a minimum, with huts built from bamboo as well as reused and new wood being the main theme. On a typical day, while away the afternoons on cosy hammocks under shady trees beside the river, and take time to finish that intriguing novel you've never quite managed to finish. When the heat gets to you, the cooling waters of the river await, though if a mere cool dip doesn't do it, try a downstream float in a rubber tube, or try your hand at a traditional bamboo raft. Then as the sun sets, tune in to the symphony of the night, with the sounds of insects, frogs and other wildlife never too far away. This is the place to rest, relax and have some simple outdoors fun, especially if you have been worn out on the road for the last few weeks or months. For those who want more and whose budgets permit, we also conduct optional excursions, such as a night walking tour, or a daytrip either to the Ulu Temburong National Park or the Rainforest Discovery trek into the nearby rainforest, a hands-on see, smell, taste and feel educational trek for those who are interested in the numerous benefits of the rainforest to us. Despite the back-to-basics approach and our proximity to the rainforest, we provide a reasonably comfortable stay, with bedding in both rooms and tents, properly built-up bathrooms, with sitting toilets and even walled outdoor showers. Fans are found in the rooms as well as in the main hall. The bathrooms, rooms and main hall are lit-up at night, and there is no early lights out policy. Power points to charge electronics are available on request. We have a small resource corner, with maps, brochures, and books on various interests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sumbiling Eco Village

Address: Kg Sumbiling Lama, Jalan Batang Duri, Temburong, Batang Duri PD1951, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Temburong District > Batang Duri
Price Range: $148 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sumbiling Eco Village staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sumbiling Eco Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The tents facing the river are fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles BigSmallWorld, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Spring for a room upgrade if you prefer to sleep close to the river as the tents are set back further in the jungle by the dining area. If you are a light sleeper the tents are not for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Brazeneyes, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Bring mosquito repellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 687annal, 8 May 2014 | Read review
“Tents! A bit too hot during the day but very comfortable come night time with the large mattresses. Very zen view of the river tops of the experience of being in nature!”
 of 5 bubbles reeop, 2 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Get the camping tent facing the river...only 2 of them (soon to be added more)”
 of 5 bubbles Pit2800, 19 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5