We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

Bassenthwaite village, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA12 4QP, England
+44 17687 76439
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (13 reviews)
“lasagna” (11 reviews)
Open Now
4:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bassenthwaite village, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA12 4QP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 436 reviews

Reviewed today

This place may be slightly out of the way but well worth a visit. Just a note of caution, if you are considering having the Sticky Toffe Pudding, make sure you dont eat too much beforehand !!

Thank Researcher123
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We booked for a family of 9 for 6:30pm The Sun Inn is a traditional country pub with a lovely atmosphere in the beautiful village of Bassenthwaite and well worth a visit. We ordered our food which was served piping hot and everyone thought was...More

Thank Ian R
estelle b, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Your very welcome glad you all enjoyed your evening Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

On holiday with family passing the Sun Inn so stopped for a meal..the food was very good and tasty staff supa friendly and helpful. 7 out 8 dishes was very good but the dietary needed dish was not as required we asked for no onion,...More

Thank Malcolm B
estelle b, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

So sorry to hear you where disappointed with your meal If you had spoke to a member of staff this would have been rectified. Can only apologise. The sweet potato fries would normally be fried separate from the onion rings will look into this ....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really lovely evening meal here. The menu was varied and the food cooked well. The puddings were a particular highlight. We thought it was well priced and would visit again. I would recommend booking as I suspect it gets really busy during...More

1  Thank Graeme F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dogs welcome. Excellent food. Very welcoming staff. Would certainly recommend it. Tables outside for use in good weather. Good beers and ciders on tap. Generous portions for meals.

Thank Amanda S
estelle b, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review hope to see you again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an excellent impromptu dinner in this cosy pub with a great menu. The food and service were excellent and we would happily return when we are next in the area.

Thank 2013AJB
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my wife went to The Sun Inn and what a little gem. My wife can only eat and drink gluten free products. We never thought that The Sun Inn would accommodate this, how wrong we were. Gluten Free beer and food... The staff...More

2  Thank Chappa742018
estelle b, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review glad you enjoyed your food and experience we do remember you and lyn,lisa paul and the team wish you luck with your swim

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with the family, the pub is lovely, it’s near a babbling brook, very cosy and friendly, food was top notch, had the Camembert starter which I’d highly recommend, and the steak and ale pie main which was beautiful. Generous portions and very well priced....More

Thank Filice G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Sun Inn on Saturday after booking a table only a few hours before which we are glad we did so as it wasn't long before all tables were full. My partner enjoyed the steak and ale pie (a massive portion) he said...More

Thank Jemma K
estelle b, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

thank you for your review hope to see you again

Reviewed April 13, 2018 via mobile

We were staying at Keswick Reach Log Retreat and we fancied somewhere different to eat. After searching Google and looking at the favourable reviews we decided to try The Sun Inn. We turned up on a Thursday evening without booking and were lucky enough to...More

Thank mralw1969
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
993 reviews
1.65 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
1,803 reviews
2.45 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
616 reviews
2.58 km away
Overwater Hall
585 reviews
2.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge
151 reviews
2.58 km away
Mae's Tea Room & Gallery
193 reviews
4.88 km away
Wheatsheaf Inn
238 reviews
6.05 km away
Emily's Black Lion
30 reviews
6.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bassenthwaite Lake
246 reviews
1.32 km away
The Lake District Wildlife Park
607 reviews
2.58 km away
The Lakes Distillery
1,157 reviews
3.53 km away
Dodd's Wood Ospreywatch
82 reviews
4.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
howitzer999
December 26, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from neesa03 | Reviewed this property |
I haven't been there on New Year's Eve so I'm not aware. They are a pub so there's a good chance they're open late.
1
Vote
Willow8
July 29, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from estelle b | Property representative |
yes that is correct we have very few people in lunch times we tried it on a number of occasion's and found it wasn't worth it paying extra staff and a chef for maybe 4 or 5 people sorry
0
Votes
JanetteGudgeon
July 14, 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from LSJFB18 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Absolutely. Dogs are allowed through out the pub. But as would expect they need to be on lead. Free dog biscuits on the bar and water available Pub does get busy so when you book please advise if you have a dog then... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
Monday
5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday
4:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
Wednesday
4:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
Thursday
4:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
Friday
4:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
Saturday
4:00 p.m. - 8:45 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bassenthwaite village, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA12 4QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick  >  Bassenthwaite
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 76439
  • E-mail
Description
we are dog friendly and child friendly with a choice of home cooked meals from burgers to steak pies to light salads, gluten free choices on our menu and Monday night is curry night ( also providing full menu) specials provided daily and lovely desserts to tempt you
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;