We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bull

) #11 of 82 Restaurants in Bicester $$ - $$$ Italian, British,
52 West End | Launton, Bicester OX26 5DG, England
+44 1869 253656
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good41%
  • Average2%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Italian, British, Bar, Mediterranean, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
52 West End | Launton, Bicester OX26 5DG, England
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stopping at the Premier Inn in Bicester, we desired a more intimate experience than that on offer at the Brewers Fayre next door. The Black Bull offered tasty well served food on a traditional theme in a traditional pub. The Bull is not too big...More

Thank David B
TCS50, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for your review. It was lovely meeting you and glad we could help with the Gluten allergy and cross contamination issue. I think more people are aware of allergies now and we are glad we were able to give you an enjoyable experience.

Reviewed 2 April 2017

I'm a local and so have eaten here many times and on each occasion come away feeling delightfully replete. Paulo does the most wonderful spaghetti with garlic & a hint of chilli (ask nicely and you can have 2 hints). Also, the sponge puddings are...More

Thank Dotokane
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

It's always a pleasure. thank you.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

We went here on 26th March 2017 for Mother's Day evening with 3 generations of family. We'd never been here before, but will now make a point of eating here whenever we we in the Bicester area. The 3 course menu offered a good range...More

Thank SHDC-Dancer
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your review. It's always a pleasure to serve good food cooked by Paolo, and we do have lovely members of staff. Once again Thank you.

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We visited The Black Bull for the third time this weekend and once again were more than pleased with the service, the food and the atmosphere. The barmaid/waitress (apologies I don't know her name) is very attentive and remembered us from last weekend which is...More

Thank Paige P
TCS50, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thank you for your review. The barmaid/waitress is Kelly, and she remembered you from your other visit. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 17 February 2017

Tracey and Paolo had a few well earned days off recently but that left us looking for somewhere comparable to go - there was nowhere! For the quality of welcome, food and beer you're the best, thanks again

Thank BenA714
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you, it's nice to know that we are missed and we always love seeing you both. x

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

If TripAdvisor had a rating out of 10 rather than 5, I would be grading the meal as a 7 out of 10. I graded 4 out of 5 because I felt 3 out of 5 was too low, but in my opinion, 4 out...More

Thank cccsl
TCS50, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We do cater for gluten free and had we know we would have used gluten free flour. With the Burger it's law now that you have to cook them well done or if the customer prefers it rare or medium...More

Reviewed 28 January 2017

Nice country pub, warm welcome, pity they choose to put another table in front off the fireplace as it would have made a huge difference to walk in and see a roaring fire in winter. Apart from that the food was very good, nice and...More

Thank Helhols
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your review, unfortunately because of the extractor in the kitchen we are unable to light the fire as it fills the pub with smoke. However we are looking at changing the pool room into a dining area and we maybe able to...More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We have had great fun and service at the Black Bull and visit it whenever we are in the area. Delicious food and a great atmosphere.

Thank Fiona M
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you. I really enjoyed reading your review as it sounds like Fun.

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Went to the the pub as a post 18th birthday dinner for my daughter, very nice food quite busy but still managed to deliver a very nice spread, we had two roast lamb, three roast beef and a very nice portion of spaghetti and garlic...More

Thank Clive D
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Thank you for your review, we do realise that our tables are quite close together but with a small space it is difficult, however in the new year we will be expanding into the pool room, so hopefully it will create a bit more space....More

Reviewed 9 November 2016

A pleasant village pub, cosy and friendly. The Sunday lunch was well cooked and hot. The puddings OK, but a little fattening !! It was great to find out that if you paid cash you got a discount. great !

Thank PamNewall
TCS50, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

It's really nice to know when customers are happy. Many thanks hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
FLTR Coffee
24 reviews
1.35 km away
The Nightingale
94 reviews
1.42 km away
The Bull Inn
49 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bicester Village
2,527 reviews
2.55 km away
London Rally School
120 reviews
5.29 km away
Garth Park
79 reviews
1.80 km away
Bicester Heritage
35 reviews
2.70 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Simon K
Do you take American Express cards?
17 June 2016|
Answer
Response from TCS50 | Property representative |
Hi, I'm afraid at the moment we don't as we have a new terminal and Amex hasn't passed on their details, but hopefully in the future.
0
Votes
Claire G
Where can I find your menu and do you serve a Sunday roast if so what time
5 July 2015|
Answer
Response from TCS50 | Property representative |
Our Menu is on our website the black bull launton. we serve sunday lunch from 12 - 7 p.m. Our normal menu is also available. Many thanks
0
Votes
buddy20032014
do you allow dogs? is there a vegetarian menu? thanks
15 May 2015|
Answer
Response from TCS50 | Property representative |
Hello, Yes we do allow dogs and we do have some vegetarian options on our menu. You can look on our website we also can do various dishes for you dependant upon your requirements.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 West End | Launton, Bicester OX26 5DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Bicester
  • Phone Number: +44 1869 253656
  • E-mail
Description
The Hidden Gem down West End Launton. Not to be confused with the Bull Inn
at the crossroads!We are a traditional village pub with a 22 seater restaurant area. We provide freshly cooked food to order with an Italian & English offering. We also have aunt sally pitches. We have cask marque for our real ales of which one is a guest ale and traditional Ale and Tribute are our standard ales.We also have good parking, a large patio area and outside bar for functions. Food serving times MON, WED, THURS & FRI 12 - 2.30 P.M 6 P.M - 9 P.M SAT 12 - 9 P.M SUN 12 - 5.45 P.M
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing