We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Caneheath, Polegate BN26 6SJ, England
+44 1323 482072
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 22:00
Fri 11:00 - 22:30
Sat 10:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 272: English reviews
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Even a warm fire on an April's evening was welcome, followed by a great Turkey dinner. Friendly service too

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and his partner took us for a meal. I am a veggie and was very sceptical that a country pub would cater for my needs but they turned up trumps with macaroni cheese. Excellent meal in a lovely old pub with great service from the friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank DJC1943
Rottingdean
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After an excellent dog walk with some friends, we decided to try The Old Oak Inn, Arlington for lunch. Clearly this is a popular place to eat as the car park was nearly full! We were advised that as they were busy there would be a 45 minute wait but as we weren't in any hurry, we relaxed with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We had been in this pub a long time ago for a drink but a friend recommended it for lunch and we were not disappointed . The food and service was first class, just one niggle though, I thought it was a bit costly at £4.50 for one scoop of ice cream.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
GSC57, Owner at Old Oak Inn, responded to this review

Hi Carol D thank you for your great review. I think someone must have pressed the wrong till button as a single scoop is advertised and sold at £1.50 a scoop. Although our delicious ice cream is made with fresh fruit and local cream I agree £4.50 is steep for one scoop. When you are next in please mention this... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Yet another great night out at the anual Burns night, tradtinal Hagis or GF Hagis or alternative all offered plus some great wines and wisky.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mikysussex
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

this little pub tucked away is well worth a visit we have been here many times the most recent was valintines day and had a stunning meal it made a perfect evening out the staff are always happy and the place it self is so cosy and welcoming the menu is very good with local suppliers if passing here dont... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne E
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Ideal after a walk in the adjacent forest. Good food, friendly staff and clean. Taken many friends and family here over the last two year. Highly recommended. Still retains the pub atmosphere, open fire and dogs allowed in the public bar area.

Helpful?
1 Thank collicteddie
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere, great food. Often need to book especially in the evening. Those who know about the old oak return often. Old pub with outside space in the summer. Well behaved dogs welcome in day time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Demijade2014
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We had a brilliant Christmas party at The Old Oak Inn on 16th December. Such a happy, welcoming atmosphere when we arrived. The food was truly excellent, everyone was impressed with the quality and choices. We had a lovely table in the restaurant which was beautifully decorated and the service from beginning to end was faultless and always with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robertenefer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We had lunch at The Old Oak Inn on two occasions this month and enjoyed both visits. Our first visit was on a Saturday when it was extremely busy, especially in the car park as people were buying their Christmas trees sold on the premises. We managed to find a parking space without too much trouble. Our friends, visiting from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A

Travellers who viewed Old Oak Inn also viewed

Arlington, East Sussex
Polegate, East Sussex
 
Polegate, East Sussex
Berwick, East Sussex
 

Been to Old Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:30
Saturday
10:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Caneheath, Polegate BN26 6SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Polegate
  • Phone Number: +44 1323 482072

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Old Oak Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Pevensey, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Oak Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?