We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab & Lobster Inn

32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
+44 1983 872244
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Lovely position overlooking the sea. The food was excellent and freshly prepared. We sat outside on the wooden tables and benches--the tables could have done with a good scrub !..Otherwise perfect.

Thank judem49
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Don't give this a miss as food is great, think they need more staff. There was a bit of a mix up with the orders. Some of us had starters and a main and others starters and a pudding. Also we tried to split the...More

Thank MellyJane15
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear MellyJane15, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, and can only apologise for the mix up in orders and splitting the bill, and also the wait for your...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

We were so looking forward to our meal at the Crab and Lobster having been there while on holiday a few years ago. However, the experience was deeply disappointing. The restaurant was not overly busy but was obviously very short staffed. The young lad who...More

Thank Paul P
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Paul P, Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't live up to your expectation. We aim to deliver a positive experience to our diners and drinkers alike, and I am sorry this didn't happen...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Specialising in seafood and set in a wonderful location on the coastal path along Bembridge beach. Outdoor seating with great views, an old traditional pub serving a variety of dishes including light bites and sandwiches. Very good quality food for the price.

Thank Phyllis23
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Phyllis23, Many thanks for your lovely review of us. We hope to see you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

Where to start? It was such an effort to have dinner here and the food and service were just poor. They seemed to be in a state of total disarray. Looking at other recent reviews, there have been a bunch of 1 star reviews in...More

1  Thank All_travelled_out
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear All_travelled_out, Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are sorry that you were not happy with either the food or service during your visit. We can only apologise for this, we are all working very hard to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the Crab and Lobster tonight for a birthday meal. Very good menu, plenty to choose from. When the food arrived, it was beautifully presented and delicious. The service was impeccable, friendly and efficient. The prices were very good, excellent value for money....More

Thank jeni219
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jeni219, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves and the meals. It was a pleasure to serve you're table and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came for dinner after a day out nearby. After reading a couple of the recent reviews when we'd sat down we were a bit worried but were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was empty on a Thur at 5.30 apart from a couple of gents...More

Thank Ross M
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ross M, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed you're food and the location we have here. I will be speaking to the management team to ensure the regulars at the bar are addressed with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After going here last year and having a lovely meal we was excited to go again what a disappointment.We learnt that it was under new management and you can tell, the portions have got much smaller my husband had the seafood mixed grill which I...More

1  Thank dawnie163
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear dawnie163, I am sorry to hear that your most recent visit didn't compare with visits you have made in the past. We always strive to deliver high quality food to our customers as well as a great customer experience all round. Since changing hands,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The is a great place for a drink after a stroll on the beach or simply to relax whilst watching the cargo and cruise ships and windsurfers. The service was quick and friendly despite the bar being busy. We didn't eat and therefore can't comment...More

Thank Wilmo66
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Wilmo66, Many thanks for the review. I have to agree with you the view is amazing. Maybe next time stop abit longer and have a lovely meal. Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited in search of a good local pint and a pub with character. Sadly the beer was ordinary and the pub has that packaged feel with little personality or style. Overall disappointing.More

1  Thank love_britain49
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear love_britain49, Many thanks for taking to time to post a review. I'm sorry that you felt the pub was lacking in personality and style. We are due to have a full refurbishment in November and will also be introducing new beers shortly to our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lockslane Contemporary Bistro
229 reviews
1.39 km away
The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen
346 reviews
.10 km away
Lifeboat View
212 reviews
.77 km away
Shed
311 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sally's Riding School
281 reviews
.24 km away
Bembridge Lifeboat Station
369 reviews
.92 km away
Brading Roman Villa
449 reviews
5.65 km away
Puckpool Park
53 reviews
6.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Diydad
Hi Do you allow dogs?
21 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Qt61 | Property representative |
Yes we do in the bar area just not in the dining area, but you can eat in both areas.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Bembridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 872244
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing