We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ferry Cabin

Ferry Cabin Ferry Cabin Dyfed, Ferryside SA17 5SF, Wales
+44 1267 267084
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good19%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (28 reviews)
“pies” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ferry Cabin Ferry Cabin Dyfed, Ferryside SA17 5SF, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best fish and chips in South Wales.definately worth a visit. Slightly off the beaten track but worth the detour.

Thank NigelTheDarkSide
Reviewed 6 November 2017

A wonderful place to take the family for a fish and chip supper. There are other meals on offer and don't forget the afters!

Thank anjadennis1
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We had a great takeaway fish and chip and scampi and chip meal from the Ferry Cabin. The chips where well cooked and the scampi was delicious and light. The restaurant looked nice and seemed welcoming, we would like to have a meal there on...More

Thank Tom V
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Having eaten here a few years ago and had great foof, we were really looking forward to returning. We even went to the effort of checking online that it would be open. Only to arrive at 1 pm hungrym and it be shut, Very disappointing...More

Thank Georgette J
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Still house hunting, so two had lunch in the Ferry Cabin, which had been recommended to us. We were not disappointed!. Piping hot cod and chips, cooked to order, flaky fish in good batter, with an excellent tartare sauce on request (home made or out...More

1  Thank Richard L
Reviewed 23 September 2017

My sister always recommends this place but it's tricky to catch it open !! Well worth the visit today. The fish and chips was delicious. However, I'd prefer more chips and no side salad. My husband loves crumbles...... any fruit !!! and was most impressed...More

1  Thank A J
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My great grandmother visited here, my grandparents visit here, my mother & father visited her now myself & my fiancé visit here. I have very fond memories of coming to ferryside when I was a baby to visit my great grandmother who used to live...More

1  Thank James E
Reviewed 13 August 2017

After a protracted illness my husband was asked where he would like to go. He had no hesitation in telling our daughter and son-in-law he would like to go to the Ferry Cabin for fish and chips. We have since been able to take ourselves...More

2  Thank Sybariticseb
Reviewed 12 August 2017

This restaurant was closed at 6pm although online information states 7.30pm closong. Very disappointed and went elsewhere.

2  Thank gillsmith254
Reviewed 10 August 2017

but.... we were about to order a desert when I noticed the young dark haired girl ( assistant)cutting a portion of pecan pie for a customer, a piece broke off and the girl promptly put it in her mouth and liked her fingers, she carried...More

5  Thank Jan C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Florries Fish & Chips
62 reviews
1.53 km away
Inn At The Sticks
50 reviews
1.58 km away
The Castle Inn
57 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Llansteffan Castle
141 reviews
1.50 km away
Parc Y Bocs Farm Shop
119 reviews
5.41 km away
Kidwelly Castle
459 reviews
5.44 km away
Tin Shed Experience
275 reviews
6.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sybariticseb
18 August 2017|
Answer
Response from HelenBJLlandovery | Reviewed this property |
What a joke - to suggest the customer was rude - I was there and witnessed his extremely polite enquiry - you were not! The other staff, as you mentioned, were polite and helpful with the exception of the manager. I have... More
0
Votes
Sybariticseb
13 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sybariticseb | Reviewed this property |
That's a surprise. Maybe we can breed boneless fish. Sybaritic Seniors
0
Votes
Sybariticseb
13 August 2017|
Answer
Response from gillsmith254 | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately, I cant read the notice on the door from my holiday accommodation...... All advertisements should be up to date, especially if holiday makers who do not know the area well, are looking for goods and services... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ferry Cabin Ferry Cabin Dyfed, Ferryside SA17 5SF, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Carmarthenshire  >  Ferryside
  • Phone Number: +44 1267 267084
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing