We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship

$$ - $$$, British,
Low Worsall, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9PH, England
+44 1642 780314
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“ale pie” (3 reviews)
“roast dinner” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Low Worsall, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9PH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Went for Sunday lunch. The service was prompt but unfortunately the food was dreadful. I had the "two meat" option and indeed from appearance there were indeed two meats provided (one light, one dark) however both were equally tasteless and dry. The mashed potatoes were...More

1  Thank gjw5050
Reviewed 1 week ago

Over the last few years, I've had quite a few meals at the Ship and can report that the food is consistently good (and the beer is well kept). Portions are quite generous - my partner had no room for dessert. The Ship gets quite...More

Thank GrandesRocques
susancH8559CP, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your kind review It`s customers like yourself which make it well worth the effort and the staff showing how much they care. Thank you very much and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my first time there - four of us, all meals were lovely - dessert delicious (pineapple upside down pudding). we were all very impressed and have booked to go for a christmas meal. Lovely atmosphere and not cramped either. Highly recommend

Thank Jo R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely sunday lunch with the family,booking is advised. Food is good and plenty of it,portions are good,staff are friendly and polite,atmosphere is warm and welcoming,overall a nice experience and i would reccomend.

Thank kaydan49
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We come here often. The food was as good as usual. My only issue is the fact that there is always dressing on the salad and it's honey mustard which I hate. Why can't it come separately??

Thank Wizz56
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Used to use this restaurant often,but haven't been for over a year since moving. Decided to come in today for Sunday lunch,and to be honest this place has really gone down the drain...,both got 2 meats,they were tasteless,the side veg was placed in a cearal...More

2  Thank toria6
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Last minute booking. Fantastic night. Service & food excellent. Portions large. Catered for all variations including children. Reasonably priced. Will be back.

Thank jillblakey
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from The Ship where it used to do the best Steak pie but not now. The meal was not good and the meat very tough and chewy, chips undercooked and nothing like previous visits yet prices were high. We will not be returning...More

1  Thank annettes415
susancH8559CP, Owner at The Ship, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for reporting this to us Paul and Annette. We do pride ourselves on a very good Steak and Ale Pie and buy only the best meat from Hutchinson Hobbs Farm shop. I have therefor investigated what was the problem and informed that it...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

My partner & I used to visit this place on a regular basis & we've enjoyed many good meals here! Due to work commitments we hadn't been for a while and our latest visit was a major disappointment, the food we received was distinctly average...More

3  Thank David F
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Yet again The Ship sets a very high standard. Food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Until the next time....

Thank Steven H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Station Hotel
65 reviews
3.29 km away
Santoro
456 reviews
3.86 km away
Mint Hobo
110 reviews
3.81 km away
The Keys
632 reviews
3.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cluedini
54 reviews
3.94 km away
Romano Park
7 reviews
6.09 km away
Coatham Woods
7 reviews
6.31 km away
Preston Park Museum & Grounds
749 reviews
6.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brent D
1 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from William C | Reviewed this property |
I am disabled and as we entered the pub the friendly owner came to greet us and she showed us to a table to position my wheelchair easily. Her name is Caroline and she made sure all went well. We have been back again... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Low Worsall, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Stockton-on-Tees  >  Yarm
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 780314
Description
Country Pub and Restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing