We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mess

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 Market Place | Brewood, Brewood ST19 9BS, England
+44 1902 851694
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 15:00
Mon - Tue 09:00 - 17:00
Wed - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived before opening but welcomed into the warm, the morning wind was cold and lazy, we had a great breakfast, well cooked with "real" sausages and black pudding. Not our first.visit but we are not often near brewood, when we are The Mess has become the place for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank johnfpedley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised by the range of specials available. The fresh cod fillet, poached in parsley sauce was delicious, accompanied by new potatoes, cauliflower and other veg. Price at £8.95 is very good value, especially compared to the neighbouring brasserie pub.

Helpful?
Thank DaveLG60
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Stumbled across this place and was with 8 members of family. We all had a selection of cakes/ puddings with coffees. All really tasty and good portion sizes. Excellent friendly service too. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Donna F
Foooooooody, Owner at The Mess, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are delighted that you were happy with the service from our team. Please come back and visit us again soon and tell your friends. Kind Regards, The Mess Team More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We went there for Xmas party many year ago, it was nice. We revisit again for afternoon tea. The waiter was nice and welcome. We ordered cakes and hot chocolates. Hot choc !!! it was a shock !!!... it too too sweet. Cake was awful. We couldn't ate them. we were very disappointed. Not sure that we revisit again, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Food_business
Foooooooody, Owner at The Mess, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us a review and we are really sorry that you felt that you did not have a pleasant experience. All of our cakes are made fresh on the premises and it is very disappointing to hear that you were not a fan of our hot chocolate. We have taken... More 

Penkridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The Mess hosted a party last night for my daughters 18th Birthday party, the family gathering! The food was great, the staff were lovely and we all had a fantastic time. A special mention to the singer Alexandra Jane who kept us entertained with her lovely voice. Many thanks all!

Helpful?
Thank tracey6364
Foooooooody, Owner at The Mess, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback we really appreciate you taking the time out to give us your comments and hope to see you at the Mess sometime soon. Kindest Regards, The Mess Team More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017

The food was good quality and the place in general was very inviting & cozy. The staff are friendly and we had also a pleasure of meeting the owners. I would recommend it for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Kate S
Foooooooody, Owner at The Mess, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is always great to hear that our staff played a major part in your experience as they are most valuable asset. Come back and visit us soon. Kind Regards, The Mess Team More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Called in just after Christmas ,late breakfast ,spur of moment ,been longing for eggs benedict ,and they had it on their menu ,excellent ,thoroughly enjoyable

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
Foooooooody, Owner at The Mess, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how we re doing. Regards, The Mess team More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Visited for cake and coffee after visiting the Staffordshire grill. I had pistachio and lime. I felt the cake was somewhat dry but it's difficult with nutty cake to retain moisture. Tea was lovely.

Helpful?
1 Thank Helenrh2014
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

The Mess Bistro was a pleasant spot for lunch in Brewood. Good choice on the menu at reasonable prices and fast service for lunch! Laid back atmosphere with great music. Only minor critique that the staff could have been a little more interactive

Helpful?
1 Thank Dahliadarcy16
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Can't recommend the mess enough. It's in a great location and the food and staff are amazing. Always friendly and welcomed with a smile . The food choice is fantastic and the quality of the meals always the best. It's a must if your in the lovely village of brewood . Go try it. You won't be dissapojnted !

Helpful?
Thank jasebeet

Travellers who viewed The Mess also viewed

Brewood, Staffordshire
Brewood, Staffordshire
 
Brewood, Staffordshire
 
Brewood, Staffordshire
Brewood, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Mess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Market Place | Brewood, Brewood ST19 9BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Brewood
  • Phone Number: +44 1902 851694

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mess staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?