We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Long Compton $$ - $$$ , British,
Nr Shipton on Stour, Long Compton, England
+44 1608 684221
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good21%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Nr Shipton on Stour, Long Compton, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 356 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We had dinner at the Red Lion on a Sunday evening. The place was quite full and we did not book a table. No problem for the staff, they were clever and creative with the table management. The food was very nice, both the main...More

Thank DeMies
Reviewed 2 days ago

The food was excellent from the starters through to the desserts. The staff were most friendly and very attentative. Would definitely recommend.

Thank MARGARET K
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Top class pub food. A party of eight - we were served efficiently and very pleasantly. Standard and choice of food was excellent and well priced. Large car park. Booking advised

Thank moses_karibu
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had lunch there yesterday and had a very good experience. The 2/3 course menu had an excellent selection and the price was very good value. One of our party had the chicken breast which was really good, my friend and I had the fish...More

Thank Carobob_13
Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a lovely pub, great choice of beers and wines, excellent food with a good choice of menu would highly recommend at lunchtime or evening

Thank andyp1957
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently visited with friends who had been before and raved about the place. We were booked for 7.30 but not seated until 8.30 despite asking a few times. Service was very slow inattentive and without personality. Wine was very expensive for average quality. However food...More

Thank Robster952
Reviewed 1 week ago

We also stopped here on the way back from Countryfile Live, and were not disappointed. The gardens, outdoor eating area and children's play area were lovely. We ate inside - the pub was so quaint with lots of nooks and crannies, great decor and charming...More

Thank hilary152
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pulled in here on the way back from Blenheim Palace, and it was everything we could have hoped for after a long day at 'Country File Live'. Great garden for the boys to run off their last bit of energy, attentive service, a children's menu...More

Thank MarkJGrainger
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting such a lovely review. We're pleased we were able to offer you everything you needed after a long day, that the children enjoyed the garden and that you loved the pies so much. We hope to see you again next time...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had two very good meals here, the first time with a group of 24, the next with 8 of us. For the second meal though they were very busy they squeezed us in. We would definitely return.

Thank 50crocks
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting a 5 star review of your recent visits. We're pleased that your first visit tempted you to come back, and that we were able to fit you in! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent service and quality meals served in a pleasant way, we did not have to wait for long to eat

Thank honlier
Lisa_and_Sarah, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting a review on TA. I was pleased to read that you received excellent service and quality meals served promptly.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion Inn
200 reviews
3.78 km away
The Cherington Arms
90 reviews
4.48 km away
The Norman Knight
378 reviews
3.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rollright Stones
232 reviews
1.64 km away
Cotswolds Distillery
803 reviews
4.21 km away
Hook Norton Brewery
424 reviews
6.01 km away
Feldon Valley Golf Club
8 reviews
7.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diane C
24 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Lisa_and_Sarah | Property representative |
Hi Diane, Thank you for taking the time to message us. We are very dog friendly and there are no restrictions as to where dogs are allowed. We look forward to welcoming you and your four legged friend when you visit the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nr Shipton on Stour, Long Compton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Long Compton
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 684221
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing