We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack Inn

2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
+44 1373 831244
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fillet steak” (3 reviews)
“banoffee pie” (3 reviews)
“curry” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have eaten here before several times, decided that we would treat ourselves to dinner on Sunday. Both chose roast beef, mine wasn't too bad, some gristle, but my partner had to waste over half of hers. Mentioned the problem to the waitress - her response...More

Thank Bob E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came for dinner with relatives who were staying at The Woolpack. We had a warm and friendly greeting from Leanne, and were looked after Natasha for the meal itself. We were seated in the restaurant, which had a calm and peaceful atmosphere - ideal...More

Thank Judith W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked 5 days in advance for a family lunch for 8 people. Table booked for 12.45 arrived in good time, shown straight to our table in small side room. Already a table of 6 and 8 seated there. The waitress came and took our drinks...More

1  Thank Anne R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went with work colleagues on a weekday evening, 6 of us , to start with I don’t like ordering food at the bar ,especially when there is a large group of you , had to wait a while to order as people we stood around...More

Thank rachellebrown
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved everything about this place from the ambience to the food. Beautiful roaring fire and fabulous well kept ales We were impressed how busy it was for mid- week The staff are friendly and attentive and will definitely come back here again

Thank Hezera
Woolpack I, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hezera, Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, I have passed on your review to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks Tina

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Went for a meal which was great by the way but I do have to say how rude melanie the manager was to her staff telling them off and speaking down to them infront of customers is very bad management been here twice in two...More

1  Thank pickers1979
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We had a beautiful steak meal here 3 weeks ago,there food is of very high quality & the steak we had with our meal was out of this world,the staff are very friendly & check to make sure your enjoying your meal,we regularly visit this...More

Thank Tracey T
Woolpack I, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tracey T, Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your steak dinner with us, I have passed your review on to the kitchen team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks Tina

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely food in this pub cooked fresh and always hot we went nearly every night as it was so nice would recommend it

Thank janecrilley
Woolpack I, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Janecrilley, Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed your meals with us, We hope to see you again the next time your in the area. Many Thanks Tina

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Went in initially for a quick drink whilst we waiting to check in to our accommodation. Liked it so much we booked a table for dinner that same night. We were not disappointed. Can highly recommend the sausage & mash as well as the beef...More

Thank Daniel K
Woolpack I, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Daniel K, Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you had a pleasant visit, I have passed on your review to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again the next...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017

I had Saturday lunch here recently, accompanied by two others. Although we live locally none of us had ever been in this pub before. Our choice was partly based on the fact that we had a Greene King voucher to use before expiry, which covered...More

Thank MoonRaker4
Woolpack I, Public Relations Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear MoonRaker4 Thank you for your review, We are happy to read that you had a pleasant visit! I have passed on your review to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon Tina

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mes Amis
149 reviews
.09 km away
The Foresters Arms
292 reviews
.25 km away
Whiterow Fish And Chips
420 reviews
1.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Bell At Rode
49 reviews
1.85 km away
The Hope Nature Centre
101 reviews
4.91 km away
Farleigh Hungerford Castle
190 reviews
5.82 km away
The Glass Hub
46 reviews
6.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dltaylor86
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bob E | Reviewed this property |
As a member of the Old English Inns group, the Woolpack should be open for breakfasts from 7.00am weekdays, from 8.00am weekends. The breakfast menu should welcome non-guests, offering a full breakfast for just £6.99 per... More
0
Votes
Brian L
17 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bob E | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about fresh and I doubt locally grown produce - suggest you phone the manager, he/she wouldn't mind being asked. Prices are competitive and there is a "bargain basement" menu.
1
Vote
tonythedriver1962
12 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Old_English_Inns99 | Property representative |
Yes we allow dogs
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Frome  >  Beckington
  • Phone Number: +44 1373 831244
  • This restaurant is at The Woolpack Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing