We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chequer Inn

$$ - $$$
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
41 High Street, Steyning BN44 3RE, England
+44 1903 814437
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today having enjoyed the roast the previous week and enjoyed the meal immensely. Today I am not sure what happened the food especially the falafel was not up to the same standard as the previous week perhaps they changed chefs. The service was a lot slower but previously we arrived earlier so you probably get better service if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank essiell
ChequerInn, Head Chef at The Chequer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, good day to you. I'm very surprised by this review, last Sunday I was running food to every table due to staff being ill, so I remember you and your partner on table 3 very well. The falafel, ironically, was made and cooked by the same chef as the previous week, so I can't quite figure out how it... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I was meeting friends who were walking the Downs and needed somewhere for a light lunch, preferably a pub. There's not a lot of choice now in Steyning but we chose The Chequer Inn on the recommendation of other friends who live locally. There was a good range of light meals on offer, including a special of shredded lamb sandwich... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard E
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Food was quite nice and served by lovely boys to the table . One of the blonde ladies behind the bar really needs to improve her manner with the customers - verging on the unfriendly ! It put me off and I wouldn't return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
Sevenoaks, Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed here with a mate for the Goodwood Members' Meeting, the circuit is only 35 mins away. I arrived on the Friday evening for dinner, the bar was very busy with lots of friendly locals, good petrol head chat. I had a double room, large, spotlessly clean, warm and cosy, ample en suite bathroom. My mate had a twin room,... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Alastairl24
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I was a disappointed after visiting today. The food wasn't bad but it was very basic. I think it was due to the kitchen running out of food. We all ordered roast beef but the waiter came to let us know they only had chicken left which we all agreed to go for having paid for 3 roast beefs. When... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Paddy and Sarah D
ChequerInn, Head Chef at The Chequer Inn, responded to this review

Hello Good day to you, Delayed response due to having so many more important things to be doing, like running the busiest pub in Steyning, apologies. So on Sunday's we have a 2 course offer, all meat choices are the same price, so yes you were charged the same for chicken as you would have done for Beef. I am... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Stayed for the weekend on a bed and breakfast basis, using it as a base to see the area. Had a lovely room overlooking the main road which after eight was as quiet as the grave. Had probably the best cooked breakfast I have had in many years / hotels. It was superb and well worthy of a fine restaurant.... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank mick8620uk
UPPER BEEDING
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Spent a lovely couple of hours over an excellent lunch with a couple of friends from South Africa who were fascinated with the premises as there are not many pubs even remotely similar in age or design where they come from. The food was excellently priced and beautifully prepared.

Helpful?
4 Thank tilly_ken01
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Have visited this historic pub in the past and enjoyed good food and beer. On this visit, it was noticeable that some areas are looking tired, and there were many tables with uncollected glasses etc. The menu is good, although there was nothing on the specials board. We had a table reserved for 8pm, and ordered the first two courses... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunman239
ChequerInn, Head Chef at The Chequer Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sunman239, I am the chef and remember exactly what had happened, as I was running the service on Friday evening. I would like to point out that we were showing the England vs Scotland game on Friday night in the public bar, so we were exceptionally busy, even more so than usual, and there would almost certainly been glasses... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

A superb range of beers. But what made my evening was the really excellent chili con carne. Superbly cooked, with just the right amont of spice. Apparently, the chef is South American.

Helpful?
2 Thank JCCMLondon
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We popped in on the off chance they had a table and were so glad we did. Nice burgers and lamb pie, decent portion sizes, friendly waitress and we didn't have a long wait for food. All in all a really good experience and I'll go back if I'm in the area again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Niki W

Travellers who viewed The Chequer Inn also viewed

 
Steyning, West Sussex
 
Steyning, West Sussex
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to The Chequer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 High Street, Steyning BN44 3RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Steyning
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 814437
Description
Welcome to the Chequer Inn which has been a landmark for nearly six hundred years and still acts as a very popular meeting place today.This attractive and historic inn offers today's traveller a warm welcome, delicious homemade food, fine wines and an award winning cellar. Indeed, we are proud to offer the finest ales, and we support local breweries, a fact that brings enthusiasts from miles around.We are open Sunday to Thursday: 10am - 11pm. Friday & Saturday: 10am - 12 midnight....

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Chequer Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Chequer Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?