We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge

$$ - $$$, British,
Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NN, England
+44 1676 523798
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good31%
  • Average20%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“belly pork” (10 reviews)
“fish and chips” (15 reviews)
“sunday lunch” (32 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the perfect English gastro pub, the food is awesome & if you're lucky enough to have Ram as your waiter you will have a perfect evening. Ram delivers one of the best service experiences I've ever had; providing the perfect balance of professional...More

Thank MaxHiltonJenvey
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you MaxHiltonJenvey for your outstanding 5* review. We will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to Ram and we hope you visit again soon. Cheryl Deputy Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been coming to the Bulls Head annually for the last 7-8 years. Aside from being a beautiful and characteristic place, the food has always been great! Every meal I have had here has been delicious and the service has always very attentive and personable. Our...More

Thank Sumit D
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Sumit D for your fantastic 5* review and we are really pleased that we continue to give you great food and service. Hopefully we will be seeing you for the next 8 years. Cheryl Deputy Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

If you’re a veggie don’t bother!! However, the usual butternut squash tart was on the menu (seems to be doing the circuit this dish) and that was very disappointing. The Staff were helpful and attentive, but until menu changes won’t be returning.More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent comments and we are sorry that you were disappointed with our vegetarian options, we do however have a complete Vegan menu, vegetarian pizzas, battered halloumi , a wholefood salad as well as the tart you mentioned so maybe you would...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018

We were surprisingly disappointed by our dining experience for my husband's birthday. After a rather miserable greeting, we were seated at a table where sharp broken metal was sticking out of one of the chair seats. The food was fine but nothing special and very...More

Thank Cornishmummy
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Cornishmummy for taking the time to write this review. I am very disappointed that you did not receive the service that you were expecting and please accept my apologies for that. I will need to investigate the situation further but rest assured whatever...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018

Was staying locally with some work colleagues from abroad and wanted to take them to a nice English upmarket Gastro pub for dinner. We booked a table for the 4 of us and i was really looking forward to eating here again after 6 years...More

Thank David B
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you David B for your recent review, we have had a few supplier issues for whch I apologise for. These are almost sorted now. We do hope that you will return soon as generally our offering is excellent with service to match.Please accept my...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018

First thing's first, this pub is undeniably lovely inside in terms of décor and layout. It was quite busy on the Thursday night we went, but parking was no problem and we had a great table for our party of 9. However there were some...More

2  Thank Chris C
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you Chris C for taking the time to leave your review of your recent visit and may I firstly apologise for your poor experience. We have had a few supplier issues post Bank Holiday but any missing items should have been communicated to you...More

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

What a little gem this place is. Fantastic food, great service and a fantastic selection of beers and wines. All in a great setting. Lovely experience and wish we lived closer to it. The pate’ is fantastic as are the lamb koftas.

Thank Flanker77
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thankyou Flanker77 for your fantastic 5* review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we exceeded your expectations. Even though you are not local it would be lovely to see you again soon. Cheryl Deputy Manager

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Comfortable, warm pub restaurant with nice welcoming ambience. Plenty of choice for lunch. Not the cheapest menu but food was fresh and tasty

Thank Leisureseekers
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your 4* review and we welcome your lovely comments and hope you visit again soon. Cheryl Deputy Manager

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Tried to book a table here last night and was astonished to be greeted by a computerised voice asking me to spell out the date, and explaining how the 24 hour clock works. After a few minutes of keying in numbers to my phone, computer...More

Thank Phil H
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you Phil for taking the time to leave your feedback and we apologise for the difficulties you experienced trying to book a table with us. We have passed on your comments to the appropriate department. Cheryl Deputy Manager

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Oh dear where do I start... Having quite frequently visited 3 of its sister restaurants I was in complete disbelief at how bad this restaurant was in comparison. I booked this for my mother’s 72nd bday for 8 people. We arrived at 7:30 and were...More

Thank 2youngbrummies
General Manager A, Manager at The Bulls Head Meriden - Pub Restaurant and Innkeeper's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we are very grateful for your comments and observations. We most sincerely apologise for your poor experience with us and we are investigating the details and will put in re-training and better practices where...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Meriden Hotels
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
508 reviews
.13 km away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
1,467 reviews
.39 km away
The Meriden Hotel
28 reviews
.51 km away
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1,584 reviews
3.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Meriden Spice Indian Restaurant
476 reviews
.92 km away
The Barn at Berryfields
243 reviews
.72 km away
The Strawberry Bank
278 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Queens Head, Meriden
24 reviews
.91 km away
Heart of England Events Centre
94 reviews
4.25 km away
Heart Country Park & Beach
17 reviews
4.13 km away
Rick's Bar
5 reviews
5.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
geoffcandy
January 28, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from BullsHeadMeriden | Property representative |
Hi A taxi to the airport will usually cost between £14-£17, hope this helps
0
Votes
Rebecca W
September 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BullsHeadMeriden | Property representative |
Yes we have wheelchair access and ramps to the bar and restaurant. Any further questions do not hesitate to ask. Cheryl Deputy Manager
0
Votes
Mary B
July 12, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BullsHeadMeriden | Property representative |
Hi we are dog friendly in the bar area.Sorry for the late response.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$35
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
8:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Solihull  >  Meriden
  • Phone Number: +44 1676 523798
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled in scenic Meriden, our pub and restaurant dates back to the 17th century. Fabulously furnished with 13 beautiful bedrooms at our Innkeepers Lodge, our pub and restaurant is perfect for the premium experience or the no fuss visit.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;