We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priory

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
+44 1275 376307
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 447: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited the Priory as part of a family group on Saturday lunch time. Our mains arrived an hour after ordering them. The steak meals were all over-cooked and the portions for the meals were completely inconsistent. Some diners had plentiful chips, some had barely any. The ketchup was watered down. We decided to skip dessert as that would have taken... More 

Helpful?
Thank DerekAsi
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The car park was packed at 1pm on a Monday. Charming hosts who despite being rushed off their feet were hospitable and kind to the child in the party. The inside is charming. It is part of a chain. Good choice of beers available. Great garden with out door seating and play area. Our food did take a while to... More 

Helpful?
Thank KLBOS
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Klbos, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you very much for your kind words but I am sorry to hear that your meal were a little cold and I apologise for that, we will focus on this issue from now on. Thank you The Priory Team More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I ate there today. The wait to be served was appalling with only one staff member taking both drink and food orders. We waited over 45 minutes after giving our order and all our steaks should have been medium rare we're well done. The cook clearly doesn't,t like blood. Get more staff and a new cook please you are not... More 

Helpful?
Thank minexco
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Unfortunately, on that day we had an uninspected high amount of customer hence why everyone was told that we had 45 minutes wait when they ordered. I am sorry to hear that your steak was not cooked properly, had you said something on the day or upon paying we... More 

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I regularly eat here on Saturday lunvhtimes and the food service is always good - food arrives quickly and the table is promptly cleared once everyone in our group has finished. However, went at 7.30pm on a Tuesday and it could not be more different experience. The food took a while to arrive and, 30 minutes after we'd all finished,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Purdycats
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you, Purdycats, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. I am sorry to hear about your experience. We are indeed short on staff at the moment but we are recruiting, I hope you will give us another chance in the future. The priory team More 

devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

IF you need a stop around the M5 at Bristol, this is the place to go. Great variety menu, eat in or outside and just 3 minutes from Junction 19. SO next time you are around that area, give The Priory a visit, you will not be disappointed, I promise.

Helpful?
Thank pammcnee1
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Pammcnee1. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Somerset, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

VERY slow service because there weren't enough staff to cope with the number of bookings. On the plus side the lamb shank was quite nice once the glazed carrots arrived (initially missing from plate). The other food for our party of 4 was at best adequate. In particular the Caesar salad was swimming in dressing and hence slimy.

Helpful?
Thank Kenilworth
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Kenilworth, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry that you find that the service was slow and we will work on that. The priory team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited this restaurant a few times now and have to say every single time it has exceeded expectations! Food is always perfect, service is brilliant. Had a roast also a few weeks ago and it lives up to a home made roast. Plenty of food and always cooked to perfection. Compliments to the chef!!

Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Heidi M. So glad you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again soon. The Priory Team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in without a booking, although, very busy we were given a table almost immediately. Chose a sharing platter of beef, pork and turkey which was excellent. Staff were reasonably attentive despite being quite busy. Good value Definitely will return.

Helpful?
Thank Allan B
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Allan thank you for your review and kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed our sharing platter which is very good value and is very popular. Don't forget for your next visit you can book online at our website to make sure we can guarantee you a table. Thanks again The Priory Team More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited many times before and have usually had a good experience but this time was not the same. Booked online about four weeks in advance for a Mother's Day lunch thinking I had booked plenty of time ahead to get a decent comfortable table, instead were disappointed to find we were shown to a table near the entrance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave8966
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your table but unfortunately this was the only table left for the time you requested when you booked online. All the other table where a table of six could have been seated were in use for earlier seating and we could not... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two of us had roast beef and they were very nearly as good as a great home cooked one. Not often I find this in pub food with long service times. My daughter had Hunters Chicken and eat it all - which speaks for it's self. Service attentive despite being busy.

Helpful?
Thank chrispV5068RA
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this review

Chrispv5068ra, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and we are glad you enjoyed our roast beef which is very popular and we look forward to seeing you again . The Priory Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Priory also viewed

 
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
Easton-in-Gordano, Somerset
 

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 376307

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Priory and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
10 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Priory staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?