We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shard Riverside

Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
+44 1253 700208
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (12 reviews)
“steak pudding” (8 reviews)
“mash” (6 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 322 reviews

Reviewed today

Don't like to leave negative reviews about places but this place took the biscuit! Arrived for dinner with my partner at 7.30pm, we had booked ahead. We were seated at about 7.35, it was reasonably busy but not packed. By the time anybody even bothered...More

Thank lancs
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited many times but this time was disappointed the steak was dreadful maybe you've changed suppliers I asked for a medium sirloin but it was almost raw very bloody and anemic looking when asked was all ok we said yes as we don't like to...More

Thank Margaret W
tracey l, Front Office Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments regarding your dining experience with us. The night you came to our restaurant we were fully booked,it is always advisable to book on a Saturday night.We had 2 very large parties plus several residents who had reserved tables.The 2 parties...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had seen the Hotel/Pub/ Restaurant in passing for years but did not stop to go in, this time we did, A lovely sunny day so we went in for Saturday lunch. ( we were passing from Fleetwood) and we were met by a friendly bar...More

Thank Jim P
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We were visiting the area for a family wedding and chose this hotel as the rooms looked quite nice from the website (good camera angles and lighting)! The rooms were a little tired, bed was uncomfortable, and the room wasn’t the cleanest. We decided to...More

Thank hannah4365
tracey l, Front Office Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review We are unaware of any pate being returned to the kitchen.If we did have this then it would of been dealt with at the time and resolved. I can assure the photographs are actual shots of our rooms and we...More

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

My brother treated our entire family to a wonderful 3 course meal in the restaurant at the Shard for mother's day. All 5 adults really enjoyed the fabulous food which included Mixed Grill, Belly Pork, Gourmet Burger and Salmon. The starters of duck lollipop and...More

Thank vvburgess
tracey l, Front Office Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed Mothers Day with us. We will defiantly take your comments on board about the children's meals,thanks.

A TripAdvisor Member
266
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the scenery as it was a lovely day however we were expecting some better food than the bog standard pub meals. Service was ok though.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We've been to this restaurant a few times now and each time we say we will give it another chance. It is perfectly placed on the estuary, the prices are high but each time we visit we are disappointed. The food is average, although it...More

Thank dao9j
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Myself mother and sister in law visited today at lunch and had the most amazing food , the service and the surrounding was second to none would definitely recommend , will be going back soon to try the Sunday lunch .

Thank Brian S
tracey l, Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you very much, for your lovely comments. We always try our best to make sure that you have an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 17 February 2018

I have never stayed here before but now I've found this Inn I'll definatly stay over again and have already recommended it to some friends. It is maintained spotlessly, has really beautiful views over the estuary and genuinely really friendly staff that very obviously care...More

Thank Dameleisurely
tracey l, Front Office Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It seems we ticked all the boxes and we would like to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We went to the Shard for a meal with a friend on a Friday night. We had booked a table. On arrival we were shown straight to our table. We have eaten there before and the food was hit and miss but there is a...More

Thank elynnesteele
tracey l, Front Office Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We do have a new menu which is proving very popular as it caters for all tastes . We look forward to your return visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Poulton Le Fylde Hotels
Shard Riverside Hotel
591 reviews
.01 km away
The Seven Stars Hotel
40 reviews
4.32 km away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
1,328 reviews
5.36 km away
Briardene Hotel
237 reviews
5.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Shovels Inn
109 reviews
1.24 km away
The River Wyre
615 reviews
1.56 km away
Ryecroft Hall
102 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Pork Shop
116 reviews
2.84 km away
Glasform
60 reviews
2.96 km away
Wyre Estuary Country Park
137 reviews
2.40 km away
ThatchedHouse
68 reviews
2.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Colin H
20 December 2017|
Answer
Response from tracey l | Property representative |
Hi We do not have the facilities to cater for wedding receptions but our sister hotel does have a dedicated wedding suite. It is the Mill at Conder Green 01524 752852.
0
Votes
Alex C
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from kazjee | Reviewed this property |
Hi we attended with our daughter whom is older, but yes no problem. let them know when you book. Very accommodating. 0 seconds ago
1
Vote
cstsruletheworld
28 October 2015|
Answer
Response from tracey l | Property representative |
Hi yes we do have facilities and the pub and restaurant can accommodate motorized wheelchairs .We do have a number of regular customers in wheelchairs who enjoy our venue .We look forward to seeing you soon .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Wyre District  >  Poulton Le Fylde
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 700208
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing