We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
124
29
8
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
124
29
8
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cakes rarebit toy shop poached eggs on toast great little coffee shop lovely cafe valentines evening fabulous evening food was lovely regulars
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We go regularly to No4 it is always a great pleasure, both the food and staff are excellent. Highly recommend it, including the secret garden.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have wanted to visit here for ages but were very disappointed. In fact we walked to Tesco to get a pizza as we were still hungry and we are not big eaters! Below is the photo of the sharing platter we had, much less than...the one placed by management onto this site. We essentially had 4 prawns, 4 cod goujons, 2 pieces of toast cut into 4, small pot of salmon pate, small pot of potato salad with a piece of smoked salmon and some side salad for the 2 of us to share. Food tasted fine but over priced at £29, for the platter provided, which was embarrassingly miserly by management.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. You were asked several times if everything was ok for you, as we always want to resolve any issues at the time. It's impossible to put things right after customers have left.

Reviewed April 14, 2024

We really enjoyed this event and would be very happy to recommend to others. It was our first evening visit and will definately return. We found that the food, beer and serice was excellent. As were the folks from Welbeck. Their blue chesse was knockout.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2024

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a good review. We're so happy that you enjoyed the evening. We've got lots more events planned, so we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed April 3, 2024

After moving to the area and driving past I thought No 4 looked a pleasant cafe was only put off before because of no parking. I was out walking today so thought I would finally get my chance to try it out. First impressions lovely...little cafe bigger than it seems and was busy so this always is a good start. Whilst looking through the menu I couldn’t believe the prices nearly 12 pound for a sandwich and if I wanted to add crisps or cheese £1.60 which I thought was a bit much when it arrived the food was nice but I think for what you pay it wasn’t worth it I think for a local cafe in Clowne it’s prices are a bit extreme I would go again but it wouldn’t be my first choice. Our bill came to over 40 pound and we didn’t eat/drink much to show for it.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2024

We're sorry you found our pricing out of line with your expectations. We show all prices clearly on the menu so I'm not sure what else we could have done. Adding Pipers Crisps to a meal is £1.30, not £1.60. Running a small business like...More

Reviewed March 27, 2024

We stopped here to break a long journey after seeing it on the "The extra mile" (or similar) website that recommends alternatives to motorway services. It was exceptional! 4 of us stopped, one who is coeliac (gluten free) and the other who is following the...'Noom' diet and both had great options. The portions were generous, the service was friendly and the food quality was fantastic. The cake cabinet looked amazing - wish we'd had space to have some as dessert! It was very accessible from the motorway and had a wonderful atmosphere - so glad to have stopped here and a would wholeheartedly recommend it.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2024

You've made our day with comments like that! Thanks for taking the time, and thanks for going that extra mile!

Reviewed February 23, 2024

First time going here lovely little place bigger than it looks. Pleasant staff good food and excellent coffee. Will definitely be returning

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2024

Thanks for your review, it's much appreciated.

Reviewed January 12, 2024 via mobile

Nice building, decor and feel. We arrived at 11.45 and were told we couldnt order from the breakfast menu (it was exactly 11.45 when we were told this), we could order from the other menus, but they couldnt put it through until 12pm. We decided...to order from the 'all day' menu to be told that was also 12pm before our order would actually go through. This also meant that we ended up ordering things which cost about half the price of what we were intending to order. Weird! The food was good when it did come. Also this place doesnt come up as a restaurant in trip advisor, it is classed as tea and coffee only, there arent a lot of options in the area so may be missing out on customers here.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2024

Hi, thanks for the review. We're not sure what the issue was with timings though. We think the menu is clear that we serve Breakfasts until 11.45 and everything else from 12.

Reviewed December 30, 2023

We came as a family group of 10 plus a dog and were treated very well. The cafe was very busy which led to a slight delay with the food, but the food itself was excellent as was every other aspect of the visit. A...very pleasant warm and comfortable place staffed by very nice people.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2024

Thanks for your review, much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed December 24, 2023

Have always driven past and fancied trying this place and today we finally did. We will certainly be back. Food, atmosphere and service were all wonderful despite the business of Christmas. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2023

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're really happy that you like what we're doing and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed December 12, 2023 via mobile

As per title! Its a lovely place to be with friendly staff and immaculately kept, Warm and cozy, the reason for our discontent is certain aspects of the food, I swapped new potatoes for potato skins chips but when I checked our bill I was...charged for both £4.50 i normally check our bill before we leave. My bake beans were loaded with herbs I don’t particularly like herbs so I find that very strange, The wife’s soup had a lot of pepper added to it they do have pepper on their tables she would have preferred to add her own because the amount was extremely hot well over the top. Don’t be put off going to the No4 Because it is a a very nice place Even i will return but I shall be slightly on my guard, I feel out of pocket by £4.50.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2023

Instead of leaving negative comments why didn't you just let us know while you were with us? We always ask customers if everything is ok and will always put things right if there's ever anything wrong. I'm slightly disappointed that you didn't give us the...More

Reviewed November 28, 2023

This is the breakfast out of choice for us! Fantastic service and lovely tasty food at reasonable prices. Wouldn’t mind paying a little more to support this place to be honest! There aren’t many places left where you can have attentive service from the owner...himself. Long May this place thrive and continue. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2023

Thanks for taking the time and leaving such a lovely review. It's really appreciated.

Reviewed November 26, 2023

Visited No4 for a pre Christmas get together with friends. We ordered the festive sharing board and afternoon tea. Food as always, was amazing! The staff are always extremely friendly with nothing too much trouble. Would always recommend No4 for quality food in a relaxed...atmosphere.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2023

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Festive options, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed October 14, 2023

Came in on journey from Northumberland to the south. Excellent coffee and sandwiches. Cheerful staff who made a great fuss of our dog. So close to M1 it makes a better choice than crowded services.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2023

Thankyou for such a good review, it's appreciated.

Reviewed September 22, 2023 via mobile

Nice place to relax & eat. Wonderful staff & good food on offer with a variety of meals to chose from. Very clean & unique atmosphere due to furnishings & decor. Found the experience expensive but good to sample. Can recommend. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2023

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Reviewed July 23, 2023

We went to No4 the first time at 4pm not realising it was closing but the girl gave us a bag of dog chews for the dogs anyway, which was kind. The next time we went was a Monday and their closed day. Third time...lucky, we got to go in and eat onThursday morning, it didnt disappoint. The two ladies serving were lovely and friendly and the dogs got treats straight away. Our breakfasts, Eggs Benedict and Eggs Royal were beautifully presented and delicious as was the coffee. The decor and atmosphere was lovely, it's just a shame we were only there for the week and can't frequently go there.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Wall, Owner at No4, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2024

Thanks for your review, and for not giving up on us!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wildes Inns
1,479 reviews
1.48 km away
Ibis Chesterfield North
755 reviews
2.00 km away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
415 reviews
4.36 km away
Best Western Plus Sheffield Mosborough Hall Hotel
1,142 reviews
8.04 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Care For A Cuppa
32 reviews
.06 km away
Clowne Fish Bar
63 reviews
.19 km away
Angel Inn
16 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Barlborough Country Park
6 reviews
1.21 km away
Chesterfield Museum
123 reviews
.85 km away
The Pebley Pub
9 reviews
1.00 km away
Ponds Forge International Sports Centre
179 reviews
.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CarolynG1182
September 8, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kitchjb | Reviewed this property |
Think Afternoon Tea ranges from £15.00 + to about £25.00 for the Prosecco Afternoon Tea
0
Votes
baytonlass69
January 28, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Noodle1992 | Reviewed this property |
Perhaps ring up? Go and ask yourself? Just a suggestion 😊
0
Votes
julieburdett
December 12, 2017|
Answer
Response from Graham H | Reviewed this property |
Phone or email them.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

NO4, Clowne - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about No4

No4 is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 5