We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose & Crown

Market Street | PL8 2EB, Yealmpton PL8 2EB, England
+44 1752 880223
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (12 reviews)
“burger” (26 reviews)
Open Now
10:30 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Street | PL8 2EB, Yealmpton PL8 2EB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here on a number of occasions, the food and drink never cease to amaze highly recommended!!!

Thank Craig H
smokey3368, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again very soon. Regards Rachael Carr General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cooking is better than the menu which is on the whole wedded to pub-grub staples. We chose a couple of dishes which seemed to give the chef an opportunity to shine and were not disappointed. The lamb rump was well cooked but the portion...More

Thank BluePeterGeorge
smokey3368, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, The chef's renew their own menu every three months to keep with the seasonal fresh vegetables, fish and meat that we have locally and we are today launching our Autumn menu which was developed by our Head Chef Sam Evans...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with a couple of my work friends 3 weeks back now.. I don't know where to begin really but I'm gonna make this short and snappy and straight to the point. A young girl served us with brown/blonde hair and she was...More

Thank sallythom88
smokey3368, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Madam I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, we strive as a business to exceed customer expectation and it looks like we did not achieve this on this occasion. If you would like to call us on 01752 880223 we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had a lovely Roast here on sunday evening , unfortunately the pond we sat next to was smelling a bit water looks very green my husband thought maybe the pump had gone.

Thank castersugar
StAustellManagement, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for giving us your feedback. We have taken your comments and have been discussed with the team and will be acted upon. We hope to see you back very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here as a big group of friends and kids for lunch. Staff were very helpful and made no fuss about moving us to a different table than the one we had booked. The pub itself is lovely - nicely decorated, cosy sunken area with...More

Thank Stacey G
StAustellManagement, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am not one to normally write reviews but on this occasion I feel like I need to. Food and Serve lacking (especially for the ridiculous prices charged) We visit a couple of Saturdays ago and having booked a table for 7pm we were surprised...More

1  Thank tiasmith87
smokey3368, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sirs I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, we strive as a business to exceed customer expectation and it looks like we did not achieve this on this occasion. If you would like to call us on 01752 880223 we...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went a couple of weeks ago with my parents and my partners parents for a bite to eat! We have to say we were super impressed with the food! Some times when you go to places like this you worry you won't get much...More

Thank Rebecca U
StAustellManagement, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow, thank you Rebecca for this wonderful review, we are thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations and that you may join us on New Years Eve, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on thursday evening with my partner , the staff were very welcoming , the Lamb Rump was especially good ! And food was plated nicely , will definitely be coming back !

Thank Holidaymansam
StAustellManagement, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for this 5* review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your food, especially the lamb rump, we do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Been here many times over the years and after a few visits over the past few months I can safely say I need a new regular jaunt. No longer the place to go for great service, excellent food and impeccable standards.... the place has lost...More

Thank Webz84
smokey3368, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sirs I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, we strive as a business to exceed customer expectation and it looks like we did not achieve this on this occasion. If you would like to call us on 01752 880223 we...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Four of us went a few weeks ago for a meal, there was a long wait and they eventually told us they had run out of crab. Went again last night in a group of 5. Again they'd run out of crab but more importantly...More

Thank harrybarry781
smokey3368, Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Harrybarry 781, Thank you for your review on Wednesday night this week we were undoubtly very busy, we have a system the tracks what we have done business wise over a four week period which gives us an idea of how busy we are...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Volunteer Inn
85 reviews
.33 km away
Ben's Organic Farm Shop and Cafe
110 reviews
.15 km away
Ming Chinese Restaurant
58 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Crooked Spire
6 reviews
5.84 km away
Delta Force Paintball Plymouth
59 reviews
5.95 km away
Dartmoor Zoological Park
1,056 reviews
6.89 km away
The George Inn Plympton
64 reviews
5.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
H A
22 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Simon W | Property representative |
Thank you for the message ... Unfortunately, we currently do not offer any rooms for customers to stay. However, we are currently finalising details to take over the B&B next door to the Rose & Crown. After a bit of... More
0
Votes
Jannerbloke
7 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Simon W | Property representative |
Thanks for your questions/s; We do indeed have Free Wifi.... Just ask a member of the team for our (changing) code on arrival. We welcome children of all ages and provide changing facilities and highchairs for the very... More
1
Vote
Jannerbloke
7 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Simon W | Property representative |
Thanks for your question: We do indeed make our own burgers at the Rose & Crown. We always use Prime Minced Beef for our very popular burgers, and are happy to cook them to a customers specification.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$27
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 21:00
Monday
10:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 21:00
Thursday
10:30 - 21:00
Friday
10:30 - 21:00
Saturday
10:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Street | PL8 2EB, Yealmpton PL8 2EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Yealmpton
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 880223
  • E-mail
Description
A lovely welcoming Village Pub with an excellent A La Carte Menu which includes Pub Favourites as well as creative restaurant dishes. We are situated in Yealmpton which is a beautiful South Hams village a few miles outside Plymouth in Devon. We have 2 lovely gardens for sunnier times, but our stylish village pubs also offers real comfort inside especially with our log fire and sofas. We are dog friendly, we have disabled access and facilities as well as children's highchairs and changing room. We also have a large Car Park. We also have a separate Function room available for parties and events.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing