We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jolly Fisherman Pub

Haven Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TR, England
+44 1665 576461
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“crab soup” (213 reviews)
“club sandwich” (147 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Haven Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 210 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2017

Brilliant views of the sea great menu and service Staff so helpful and friendly Dogs are also welcome Booking in the evening Essential to get a table Food is Fantastic

Thank Norman W
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Generally I love this place, having travelled from Sunderland to Craster 3 times in the last 5 weeks, yesterday I must say I was quite surprised, arrived at 2:55pm and waited 9 minutes to be served to be told they do not serve food after...More

3  Thank timharding71
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Popped in for lunch after walking to and from the castle. We'd got a table outside and I went in to get drinks and a lunch menu. After standing in the queue for a few minutes and realising there was only one person serving I...More

4  Thank jocrad
david_whitehead8, Owner at The Jolly Fisherman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your comments and apppreciate your issues. We only have space for 2/3 staff behind bar and we were probably sorting g an issue in the cellar. The staffing can be an issue due to the area and lack of people wanting to...More

Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

We popped in this pub for lunch & Sat in the garden. We ordered toasties with chips . The food was mediocre, a bit disappointing & expensive. The view from the garden is stunning & I'm sure it would be nicer just to sit enjoying...More

3  Thank kc31York
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Is this a pub or a restaurant.. ? tried to sit at an empty table for drinks but was told we could only sit in the bar area which had very limited space despite several tables in the restaurant area being free. Unfriendly service if...More

7  Thank Kerry H
david_whitehead8, Owner at The Jolly Fisherman Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

We are both a pub and a restaurant so we can cater for both. It's been named the Jolly Fisherman pub and restaurant! Not really unfriendly, we just guide you to the correct area. You came and sat down where we were setting tables for...More

Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Rosie's air bnb who kindly booked us into this pub for dinner as my daughter had highly recommended from a few months previous. And it lived up to its reputation. We had mussels in sauce , sea trout and then sticky date...More

Thank Barbara W
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Our meal was very ordinary and grossly overpriced, we had steak, burger and crab sandwich. Small portions, no accompaniments. Tea and coffee were cold. I feel people only visit because of location. Good point is that it is dog friendly.

3  Thank John G
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Busy pub blessed with a great location overlooking the harbour and opposite the wonderful Craster smokehouse, unfortunataly the only Jolly aspect is the name. We popped in for a drink and possibly food but were put off by the unfriendly staff and quality of the...More

3  Thank mojd2015
Reviewed September 7, 2017

This is a great pub serving the most exquisite fresh fish one could imagine. The staff are super friendly and very accommodating and the menu offers an excellent selection of fresh fish (and other choices) YOU MUST Book if you want to sit in the...More

Thank Bee H
Reviewed September 6, 2017

The Jolly Fisherman Craster used to be a traditional fisherman's inn serving healthy Northumberland fare including the fresh fish caught that day by the local boats served with a smile at a reasonable cost Then it changed hands and became pretentious which meant food served...More

6  Thank Anthony H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Craster Hotels
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
900 reviews
3.85 km away
Newton Hall
157 reviews
5.70 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
1,344 reviews
8.37 km away
The White Swan Hotel
1,134 reviews
9.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Piper's Pitch
265 reviews
.27 km away
Cottage Inn
160 reviews
1.01 km away
The Craster Seafood Restaurant
546 reviews
.04 km away
The Stable Yard
52 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dunstanburgh Castle
1,079 reviews
2.01 km away
Embleton Bay
177 reviews
3.81 km away
Low Newton by the Sea Beach
253 reviews
4.95 km away
The Mick Oxley Gallery
124 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DaBaws
September 8, 2016|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Milly M | Reviewed this property |
Yes in the bar area but not allowed in the restaurant.
2
Votes
janethunter
August 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from nkanumilli | Reviewed this property |
Nope , no accommodation
0
Votes
James B
February 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Holidaymum55 | Reviewed this property |
Definitely. Water brought to our thirsty pooch. X
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
7:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Haven Hill, Craster, Alnwick NE66 3TR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick  >  Craster
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 576461
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;