We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn Itchenor

The Street, West Itchenor, Chichester PO20 7AH, England
+44 1243 512284
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (20 reviews)
“burger” (12 reviews)
“pie” (7 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Street, West Itchenor, Chichester PO20 7AH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 331 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening for dinner, the food here is excellent, a real treat, try the smoked haddock risotto or a real pie. The atmosphere was lovely and the staff welcoming and helpful. Try it!

Thank Simon B
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Dear Simon Thank you so much for such a kind review! We really do appreciate such positive feedback. And we agree the risotto is really good! Look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards The Ship Inn

Reviewed May 13, 2018

- right on the Chichester inlet off the beaten track with some lovely walls around the area all leading to a beer at the end of it - lovely relaxed atmosphere in an ideal location

Thank peteysid
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Pete Thank you for visiting us and for your kind review. We're glad you sampled our real ales and enjoyed the beautiful surrounding area! Look forward to seeing you again hopefully! Kind regards The Ship Inn

Reviewed May 13, 2018

We have visited The Ship a number of times over the past couple of decades - and never been disappointed. Today - we popped in for Sunday lunch after a morning at the beach in West Wittering. Luckily - we booked a table on our...More

Thank Chris G
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Chris Thank you so much for your kind review. Our main aim as new owners is to provide good, fresh and locally sourced food in a friendly but efficient environment and I think, judging by your review, we managed to deliver on all of...More

Reviewed May 11, 2018

An enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings. All three of us chose the battered fish , chips and minted peas, with two of us following up with the apple and rhubarb crumple with custard. As good as mum used to make. The service was very efficient...More

Thank John S
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear John Thank you for your kind review. "As good as Mum used to make" is probably the highest accolade we could get for our crumble! Glad you enjoyed the fish and chips too! Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards The Ship Inn

Reviewed May 9, 2018

We have used this pub for over 30 years and it has changed hands and managers over this period of time. This year, at the start of the sailing season, we were more than disappointed to be told that no bar food could be served...More

1  Thank peterdharrison
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Peter I'm sorry to hear that you had difficulty in ordering bar food on bank holiday Sunday. I'm not sure of the circumstances exactly except to say that we offer bar food in the pub and on the terrace whilst the restaurant side of...More

A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Not a local resident but still visit this pub at least monthly. Lunch Menu had changed from cracking doorstep traditional sandwiches to pathetic small soggy rolls with fancy fillings! Ruined it as well as stopping the fantastic creme brûlée. There was a suggestion of new...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your roll. We have recently had a call for fresh rolls rather than "doorstep" sandwiches so we thought we would introduce the fresh, locally made rolls as something different, including different...More

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

I have decided to review after being left slightly surprised to see some negative reviews from grockles citing a lack of food on what was a bank holiday weekend. I saw the sense to book for my Sunday Lunch today, knowing how popular this Inn...More

2  Thank Dave B
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Dave Thank you so much for your kind review. Yes our Sunday roasts are very popular so it always a good idea to book! Thank you for your continued support - as new owners we are trying our best to serve good, fresh &...More

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

No food available early Sunday evening on a Bank Holiday weekend! Really? Suggest you review your logistics in view of the weather forecast for the weekend ... Disappointing to say the least bearing in mind visiting vessels in the harbour 😕

3  Thank Alastair G
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

No food being served on a bank holiday Sunday - many hungry yachty’s - Back to the boat for Fray Bentos or a passing jelly fish!More

3  Thank Katy W
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Katy We are so sorry that we were not able to provide food for you on the bank holiday Sunday. The pub has historically always closed on a Sunday evening but, as new owners, we are now realising that there is a demand for...More

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been coming to this pub on / off for 20yrs. Today we visited for a quick lunch with our young son. I was so disappointed at the service from the bar. I dared to order 5 mins before 12pm that was met with reluctance....More

3  Thank MR9011
theshipinnitchenor, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Hello, We're so sorry to hear of your experience at The Ship. This is certainly not the standard of service we intend to give to our customers. We pride ourselves on being a friendly pub and we are happy to accommodate our customers where we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all West Itchenor Hotels
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
663 reviews
2.94 km away
Crouchers Hotel
1,026 reviews
4.55 km away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
1,048 reviews
6.27 km away
36 On the Quay
182 reviews
6.60 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Quarterdeck
67 reviews
.19 km away
The Lamb Inn West Wittering
550 reviews
2.15 km away
Russells Cafe
184 reviews
2.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bosham Quay
332 reviews
2.61 km away
The Complete Worx
55 reviews
4.16 km away
West Wittering Beach
915 reviews
4.46 km away
The Woolpack Inn
32 reviews
5.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ship Inn Itchenor staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Monday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, West Itchenor, Chichester PO20 7AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester  >  West Itchenor
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 512284
  • E-mail
Description
The Ship Inn is an attractive village pub situated 150 yards from the shores of Chichester Harbour, with its fine walks and harbour tours for visitors. As well as serving excellent food, The Ship Inn retains all the characteristics of a traditional English Inn, with a relaxing atmosphere. The Ship Inn provides excellent holiday accommodation in a peaceful rural location near West Wittering, close to Goodwood and Chichester.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing