We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coffee Bean

74 Broad Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AG, England
+44 1454 324832
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good15%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (5 reviews)
“coffee beans” (34 reviews)
“salad” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
74 Broad Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a shame to be treated so rudely. The food was fab however the rudeness of the owner was unacceptable. We were originally told we could have our table until 11am, food arrived at 10.50am. 11am arrived (we had not finished), however the waitress popped...More

2  Thank Tania D
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Tania: I'm sorry you feel you were badly treated, but it's good that you enjoyed the food. Anyone looking through our TripAdvisor reviews will note that in the six years that we have run the Coffee Bean, you are the first person who has felt...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came in with my dad for lunch and loved the place! It's a quiet oasis off the high street with really good coffee. The menu is varied and perfect for lunch, there are many different options and it's all delicious. My favourite place in...More

Thank beccywaters
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited The Coffee Bean a few days ago with family for a late morning brunch. Staff were smiley and welcoming and the coffee was outstanding! Brilliant cake choices and lots of tasty vegan options. Highly recommended!

Thank MACfrayne3
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

As a cycling group, we always phone to let a cafe know we're coming. This day I hadn't as expected to be only 4 however, another 4 joined us. The Coffee Bean couldn't have been more welcoming even allowing us to take our bikes through...More

Thank ricdavjam
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Thanks for your review. Cyclists are always welcome and we're very happy for you to bring bikes through into the courtyard so that they're secure, provided it's possible to get through without inconveniencing other customers. It's wise to ring first, particularly on days when the...More

Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

A great find from a friend recommendation, friendly staff and lovely freshly prepared food, we only had a sandwich which were very good but the hot food coming out looked fab and having more time would definitely be back to sample.

Thank KeithbathD
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Keith: Thanks very much for your review, and thanks to your friend too for recommending us. Hope to see you again for a main meal when you get the chance.

Reviewed September 12, 2018

Had a lovely ‘clean’ cooked breakfast here today, my first. It was really enjoyable and tasty. We were well looked after. Will be returning

Thank suzannejenkinson
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Suzanne: Thanks very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast, and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed September 6, 2018

Nice menu here, and good to have breakfast options late into the day (3.00pm). We also liked the fish cakes and the flexibility shown by the kitchen - eg adding tomatoes to the eggs and salmon. (Disappointed there was no Hollandaise sauce available). I notice...More

Thank malcsaville
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Thanks very much for your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed about the lack of Hollandaise. The menu is extensive and in the tiny kitchen it just isn't possible to prepare every possible accompaniment, I'm afraid. The toilet is cleaned daily. After your review I...More

Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

When we arrived we were told oven is broken and unable to serve hot food other than jacket and quiche cooked in the oven. My husband opted for the ploughman’s, 5 lots of pickles- pickled beetroot, courgette, Branson pickle, cabbage, onions and cheap coleslaw. 1/2...More

1  Thank 58Mandy12
Chris K, Owner at The Coffee Bean, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Unfortunately the oven broke down yesterday and when you arrived we were waiting for the engineer to come and fix it, which he has now done and everything is back to normal. You were told we could do jacket potatoes or quiches heated in the...More

Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

We were staying in Old Sodbury and decided to pop in here for a coffee and a sit down. Plenty of seating area and clean and welcoming cafe.

Thank rayrest
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

I brought my 2 kids to Chipping Sodbury for the Gromit hunt. We were wandering up and down the town looking for a pub for some lunch but found this lovely little place instead. We sat in their garden out the back and had a...More

Thank rensticks
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Portcullis Hotel
31 reviews
.08 km away
The Sodbury House Hotel
56 reviews
1.73 km away
Best Western Compass Inn
414 reviews
4.88 km away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
715 reviews
7.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mrs G's
169 reviews
.19 km away
The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury
344 reviews
1.04 km away
The Hamptons Delicatessen
312 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Yate Shopping Centre
74 reviews
1.30 km away
Chipping Sodbury Golf Club
20 reviews
1.44 km away
Kingsgate Park
10 reviews
1.30 km away
Cineworld
17 reviews
1.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Coffee Bean staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 74 Broad Street, Chipping Sodbury BS37 6AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Chipping Sodbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 324832
  • E-mail
Description
We're a small, independent family-run coffee shop and restaurant in Chipping Sodbury, on the edge of the scenic Cotswolds. * Breakfasts * Excellent home-made lunches * Many dishes gluten-free * Lots of choice for vegetarians * Delicious cakes * Buffets provided * Dairy-free and vegan options
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing