We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Church Mouse

Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH2 3RJ, England
+44 191 389 2628
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (10 reviews)
“vintage inn” (14 reviews)
“fires” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH2 3RJ, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 649 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Lovely pub and surrounding, was busy with drinkers enjoying the sun, food mine was a sticky crisp duck salad was tasty and filling, my daughters portion of chips was tiny, choc brownie obviously microwaved and not that good, a bit overpriced and limited menu but...More

Thank tru37
Reviewed 3 days ago

Lovely pub with a relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and well presented food and drinks. Modern fitments but the olde worlde aspects of the building has been retained

Thank liz h
Reviewed 4 days ago

Only visited this place as we were staying at the adjoining travelodge. What a real unexpected pleasure. Pub food at its best and real value for money. There were 6 of us on a busy Friday night, staff were really friendly and the service was...More

Thank moldknow
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had such a good night there last Friday (12th May 2017) I've reserved a table for this Friday! I have to admit the Stella in here is the best priced in Durham and the food always great. The thing that makes it special though...More

Thank chriskeelty
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hi Chriskeelty, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Church Mouse. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a table online on the morning of the day we travelled to Chester Le Street. Great welcome, friendly staff and good service. Food was top notch. Would definitely visit again if in the area.More

Thank Klaus830473
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hi Klaus830473, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Church Mouse. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been looking for a really nice pub/ restaurant and we suddenly came across the Church Mouse, the food was excellent quality, freshly prepared, and the staff were very attentive, it was ideal for families, and we noticed that they welcomed dogs.

Thank Elaine E
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hi Elaine E, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went as a group of four and the occasion got mixed reviews from us, which is why I have awarded only three stars. The food was quite nice but seemed to have been drenched in salt, particularly the salad Nicoise. Staff were very friendly...More

Thank HeinrichLu
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Heinrichlu, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to hear from you soon. All the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner on a Friday night. Very good food and reasonable prices. We booked a table for six and have no complaints. Friendly staff and people. Good food and a nice pub.

Thank Jarlen2014
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Church Mouse! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place has a nice and comfortable ambiance. Reasonable menu. Good choice of real ales and staff were friendly. Food was ok. There are other pub choices in the area which I feel offer better value for money.

Thank hagedd
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hi Hagedd thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went for lunch after receiving a voucher from Mitchell and Butlers pubs for really bad service at another pub. We chose this pub as we had heard decent things about it, and we were not disappointed. The waitress from the moment...More

Thank lashtont
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Lashtont, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Deano's Trattoria
263 reviews
.13 km away
Cookson Spice
251 reviews
.45 km away
Passingtime Cafe
36 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Riverside Park
50 reviews
.77 km away
Church of St Mary and St Cuthbert
20 reviews
.15 km away
Riverside Cricket Ground
23 reviews
.43 km away
Red Lion Chester-le-Street
29 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Christine H
Do you have a children's play area
17 April 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Steven A | Reviewed this property |
Sadly there is no kids playing area.
0
Votes
GLP1977
Hi, was just wondering if u have an area where we can come for a meal and bring our dog??
15 October 2015|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from ShawDurham | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are welcome outside most places these days, they always have a large bowl of water outside for your dog. X
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH2 3RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Chester-le-Street
  • Phone Number: +44 191 389 2628
  • E-mail
Description
The Church Mouse in Chester-le-Street is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.