We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Oude Martha

Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
+27 42 281 1711
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good35%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb curry” (9 reviews)
“pancakes” (3 reviews)
“beans” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for breakfast over the weekend and opted to order from the a la carte menu, as we had seen what was on offer at the buffet table and thought it was overpriced! The first disappointment was the coffee, brewed who knows how long...More

1  Thank Jilldutoit
Reviewed May 10, 2018

The Restaurant has a choice of a la carte or a buffet meal. We opted for the a la carte, but the wait was long and the orders mixed up.

Thank kdgarlipp
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you had good food. We hope that you traveled home safely and that we will see you again in the near future. Best wishes, The De Oude Martha Team

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We went away for the long weekend in April. The Saturday eve we had dinner here. I chatted with the waitress and said it’s hubby’s birthday and they made his dessert free!! Their service is exceptional and their food phenomenal.More

Thank Zandri G
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing this beautiful review. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants food and that we were able to make contribute in making the day so special. Our team truly go the extra mile to provide top quality service...More

Reviewed January 23, 2018

Great wine, great service, and sensational food! The lamb curry is better than the lamb curry we have back in Melbourne. We had dinner here three nights in a row and never were we disappointed. Truly a must if you are in Storms RiverMore

Thank Anna S
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review. It warms our hearts to hear that you experienced our food as sensational and experienced the great service we take pride in here at De Oude Martha. Our lamb curry definitely is a must...More

Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

Best breakfast and friendliest staff..... our favourite pit stop! Travelling on N2 (Garden Route) - defiinately a must! Relax and enjoy!More

Thank Brenda V
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that our restaurant was your favorite pit stop and that you had such a lovely breakfast. Our breakfast is such a big treat for our guest and...More

Reviewed December 8, 2017

Nice restaurant providing very well tasted food for a good price. Serviceminded and friendly personell.More

Thank Nina K
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed tasty food and experienced our friendly service that we take pride in here at our restaurant. We hope you traveled home safely and we hope...More

Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Good dining in a nice restaurant at good prices, We ate all different things and all were good , from steal, to kudu to some fish and chips Wine cheap as always and ok Even aperitive was possible here Great diningMore

Thank peter D
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience at De Oude Martha at Tsitsikamma Village Inn. It warms our hearts to hear that you enjoyed all the different meals prepared for you. We...More

Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

My kids loved ordering pancakes and eggs, and we also enjoyed the variety of bacon, sausage, hot items, croissants, cereals, fruits, and toppings. One of the best breakfast buffets we've been to. We were all stuffed!More

Thank Tracy H
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you so much for sharing this lovely review! We are so happy to hear that your kids loved their dining experience and that you found our buffet as one of the best. Our breakfast really does offer a great variety to choose from and...More

Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best breakfast buffets I've had at a hotel. They offer a good variety of hot and cold options: cereals, yogurts, scones, croissants, toast, pancakes/flapjacks, eggs and omelettes to order, bacon, pork bangers, boerwors, sautéed mushrooms, beans, grilled tomatoes, and coffee,...More

Thank happytummy850
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that you had one of the best buffet breakfasts here at De Oude Martha. Our breakfast really does offer a great variety of food to choose from and is a big treat...More

Reviewed July 6, 2017

Stopped over for a light lunch after stay at Eersterevier. Had a chicken wrap and wife had soup, both which were very enjoyable.More

Thank Deon A
VillageInnHotel, Owner at De Oude Martha, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your meal at De Oude Martha. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your chicken wrap and your wife enjoyed her soup, both of these meals are always a popular choice with...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Storms River
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
1,044 reviews
.06 km away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
319 reviews
.42 km away
Misty Mountain Reserve
315 reviews
7.92 km away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
786 reviews
12.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tsitrus Cafe
249 reviews
.22 km away
The Bistro at Bitou
103 reviews
.40 km away
Marilyn's 60's Diner
505 reviews
.07 km away
Tsitsikamma Micro Brewery
63 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tsitsikamma Segway Tours
199 reviews
.50 km away
Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours
691 reviews
.09 km away
Blackwater Tubing
105 reviews
.14 km away
Tsitsikamma Woodcutters Journey
26 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KimAdonis31
April 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from VillageInnHotel | Property representative |
Good afternoon Kim Nice to hear from you! :) Our appetizers/light meals ranges between R35 & R50, our main courses between R75 & R155 and pudding between R30 and R50. Quite a variety to choose from as well. Is this for... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Monday
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Tsitsikamma National Park  >  Storms River
  • Phone Number: +27 42 281 1711
  • E-mail
Description
Proudly situated in the quaint village of Storms River, this onsite restaurant of the Tsitsikamma Village Inn itself, De Oude Martha restaurant promises garden views and hearty, South African meals during your stay. Surrounded by a wide veranda, looking out onto the Village square, the décor is the perfect blend of the village's old world charm with a modern day twist. We use fresh, often organic and local ingredients with fresh herbs from our garden mixed with a detail of love to create traditional meals. Cosy in winter and cool in summer, De Oude Martha has good food and friendly staff all year around. The doors are always open for you to experience the heart of this historic restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;