We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bellavista Panorama Restaurant

$$ - $$$European,
| Situated between Stanford & Gansbaai, Stanford 7210, South Africa
+27 82 901 7650
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
22 Dec 2016
“Superb view, good food and service”
24 Nov 2016
“Wonderful, breath-taking views”
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Situated between Stanford & Gansbaai, Stanford 7210, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We have never been disappointed with this restaurant. We had the beef curry while enjoying the spectacular view. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable. Will be back.

Thank Nico558
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you! Better hurry because the famous Traditional Malay Curry is not available all the time as we change the Menu sporadically ;-) Georges

Reviewed 24 November 2016

The restaurant is open for lunch and evening dinners but not well visited. Unfortunately, there are no vegetarian options available, a special request is needed for one and such meals are not a strong point for the chef. Service by the waiter is exemplary -...More

Thank theteacher112
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you for your review. Yes we are not very strong for vegetarian dishes. I admit. The reason being that we are out of town - "Country House" - and do not cater for fast are any "standard" food. In other words we do not...More

Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

We got here because many other restaurants were full. We were surprised by the view, which is amazing,and by the quality of the food. There are many creative dishes on the menu, which are very well prepared by the chef, who is alone in the...More

Thank Joellevdm
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Thank you for your kind review. Being a bit out in the country (8km from Stanford) when we experience wind and, like in the past few days rain, our Panorama Restaurant still has great 180 degree views over the Atlantic but guests prefer to stay...More

Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

A little strange to be the only party in the restaurant in the middle of nowhere. However, the place has a wonderful view for watching the sunset. Come early and enjoy a swim in the pool. The food is decent.

Thank ChristianFrantz
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Ha, "nowhere" is good and a new definition of our location ;-) I wonder how you even found us… We are a "Country House" without pretending to be a high class city operation. Glad you enjoyed the view! Georges

Reviewed 17 March 2016

Whilst staying in Stanford, and looking for a nearby restaurant for lunch, we set off for Bellavista, which we had passed many times on the road between Stanford and Gansbaii, but never had the opportunity to visit. On arriving, we were offered seating inside or...More

1  Thank stephen m
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Thank you Stephen for your expert gourmet comments, much appreciated by my crew (and myself!). Georges

Reviewed 29 January 2016

Good menu with sufficient choice. Excellent food and pleasant ambiance. Interesting winelist. Definitely worth a visit.

1  Thank 23Lloyd41
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Thanks! Our chef was very happy reading your review. Georges

Reviewed 20 January 2016

Good service and fine quality on the food. The view takes the price - woauhhh!!! Fantastic view to sit in front of the restaurant with a local glass of wine.

1  Thank miklar_dk
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Hey Mikkel! "a (one) glass of wine….." ?!!!! You probably meant one bottle of wine…. Thanks for your kind compliments! Georges

Reviewed 6 January 2016

We very often drove past Bellavista but as it is located between Stanford and Gansbay there was no real reason or opportunity to stop off, until last Sunday when I wanted to go have lunch "somewhere special". The host Georges warmly welcomed us upon arrival...More

1  Thank Trade M
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Thanks for your comments and compliments! I remember well our happy lunch time together, you having fun at the table and me having fun with you having fun…… - great time with great people coming all the way from up North of Europe. Would be...More

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

The Restaurant is certainly at stunning place and the food is really great. But the wait time even for pre-booked tables is unacceptable. We had to wait 2hrs until the first food arrived even though the restaurant was almost empty.More

2  Thank Falko Z
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

Thank you for your two compliments, much appreciated! A pre-booked table does not mean an automatic "quick service" as our way is "first come - first served". As we say clearly on the Menu: "We have only one chef - we do not cook with...More

Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

Food was cold and had no taste. The crispy fries looked like the ones from McDonalds with the difference that the fries of McD are actually good... Only go there for the view and a wine no food. But, have enough time because service is...More

1  Thank DHilgert
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

You were the only table at lunch time…. you got a "cold meal" and "as hell slowly…". That does not add up with our policy (over 15 years in business) to 1) provide fresh products (no catering and no prepared fast food) and 2) to...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bellavista Panorama Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$35
Cuisine
European, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:30
Monday
09:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:30
Thursday
09:00 - 21:30
Friday
09:00 - 21:30
Saturday
09:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Situated between Stanford & Gansbaai, Stanford 7210, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Stanford
  • Phone Number: +27 82 901 7650
  • E-mail
Description
Cosmopolitan cuisine; fully licensed; weather permitting service on the terrace with 180 degree views over the Atlantic. Fully licensed. Closed on Wednesdays. Open from October to April, closed during winter time.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing