We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill

) #2 of 8 Restaurants in Hollingbourne $$ - $$$ British, ,
32 Eyhorne Street | Kent, Hollingbourne ME17 1TR, England
+44 1622 889000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good23%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
2 weeks ago
“Saturday afternoon”
2 weeks ago
“Beautiful food but bad service”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32 Eyhorne Street | Kent, Hollingbourne ME17 1TR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 726 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Haven't been to the Windmill for a while but really pleased to see the quality of the food has not changed. We have a lovely Saturday lunch, all 3 courses were yummy although the asparagus was a little overpriced for such a small portion. The...More

Thank Markandnige
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to go to the Windmill because we had ordered burgers from the BBQ a couple of months ago and they came out juicy and well presented- on a wooden board with chips and a salad. Today our burgers came out in plastic bowels,...More

Thank Natalie_GL3
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I came to the windmill for my Dad's birthday dinner. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the standard of food. I ordered Gnocchi as a main, this was £15 pounds and on my plate I could count 8 very small, but precisely...More

Thank Sabrina L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely appalled and shocked at the poor service and food received today! Having dined in richard Phillips restaurants I know the high standards expected.... today did not meet anywhere near expectations.. First of all, when seated at the table we were not offered any water,...More

Thank beatricehunterx
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear your saddening comments, we will be looking in depth into your feedback.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

nice garden..friendly staff...bit expensive beer...worth a visit...especially on a nice day...loads of kids running around too

Thank garethbonds
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed the new garden (with designated children play area)...all our beer brands are premium brands and prices are very much in keeping with the local area.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely meal here for my husband's birthday last weekend. The food was absolutely beautiful, and our particular highlight was the raspberry soufflé- best dessert we have ever had! The only let down was the waiters. With the exception of one, most of...More

Thank takethatclare
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback we will be looking into these comments at our next meeting.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our guide suggested we stop here after our visit to Canterbury and before going to Leeds Castle. It is less than 10 minutes from the Castle. This is an old pub with modern food and service. They have lots of starters (think Tapas) as well...More

Thank John S
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your time in doing so...who knows perhaps we will venture overseas!!! safe journey home!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably the last time we give this local place a chance. Food is good, not excellent but good. Overpriced though. London prices in Kent. Patronising attitudes from serving staff is, at best, unhelpful.

1  Thank Burchie12
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear your some what unusual feedback regarding pricing and comments of our staff, we can only apologise you felt this way and would hope to in the future change your opinion.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok, so we are lucky with the weather; but this place really has it all. The ambiance and decor, the welcome and the service, the food and the drink - there is nothing I could fault. There's even a play area and wifi for the...More

Thank Bluphish3
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much your very kind feedback...we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. The food was lovely with good portions. Locally sourced, and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Particularly, the manager.

Thank teddy454
TheWindmillRP, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind feedback!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Dirty Habit Restaurant
713 reviews
1.34 km away
Castle View Restaurant
172 reviews
1.59 km away
The Sugar Loaves
67 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Leeds Castle
3,410 reviews
.92 km away
The Dirty Habit Bar
15 reviews
1.37 km away
Go Ape at Leeds Castle
223 reviews
1.52 km away
Exquisite Beauty Spa
19 reviews
.77 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
shirleyansty
Do you have baby changing facilities. Thank you
21 March 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from TheWindmillRP | Property representative |
Hi apologies for delay in response! We don't currently have specific changing facilities but it is something that we will be installing this year, an area can be made available for you if you consult with a member of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$61
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Eyhorne Street | Kent, Hollingbourne ME17 1TR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Hollingbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 889000
  • E-mail
Description
British Pub serving Seasonal Kentish Produce.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing