We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Surfers Beach Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
+248 2 783 703
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Praslin Island, Seychelles
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

went there for my birthday dinner,arrive @7.15 ,receive my drink 7.30 we order dinner by the time we received,it was 8.30 in the evening,the dinner i ask was the famous fish n chips for my husband ,sausage n chips for my daugther n sizzling prawns for me ohhh my the sizzling prawns was salty,well for me it was unacceptable as... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarifarichard
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

sarifarichard Yes we were busy that evening and I remember it well. First of all I recall when you entered the restaurant, you were served in a timely manner and your orders were on your table well before 8.30pm. It is an exaggeration on your part to say that the type of food you ordered can be ready in 15... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff was really nice, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was great. It was already in Holiday spirit, so that was a plus!

Helpful?
Thank Mimi K
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mimi K Thank you for your lovely comments and review which are much appreciated and being shared with all the other staff of the establishment. We are happy when such genuine guests and clients enjoy the experience the food and the service. Unfortunately there are those that will write negatively for such minor issues. Please do return and try... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

We found this place while driving around the island. The manu is wide and he food was very good. The view of the butiful beach between the trees, is a perfect background to an enjoyable and peaceful meal. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Idan62
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Idan62 We are very happy that you enjoyed the experience and especially the food on offer at our establishment. Please do return for more of our creole hospitality should you return to the Seychelles for more holidays. The Surfers Team More 

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

We asked our hotel rep for a reccomention for a good restaurant. They sent us somewhere expensive and average. When you ask the ground staff for good restaurants, they will point you in the direction of surfers and you will not be disappointed. The restaurant is set by the sea front, isn't much to look at but is clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary Christ... S
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary Christ...S Thank you for the nice comments and we do appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed the experiance and you were happy with what we have to offer, the setting on the beach overlooking the beach and inviting warm sea is one of our selling points and clients do appreciate that. Please do return if you can... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Very expensive place for what it is with average food. We've spent around £50 for two fish and chips a beer and coke. They didn't want to give us WiFi password as we were not guests.

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
wessex1963, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ann Your comments are noted however I would like to correct you on what you erroneously say you spent which is an exaggeration. 2 fish & chips comes to Sey rupees 350.00 1 beer comes to Sey rupees 65.00 1 coke comes to Sey rupees 50.00 Your total bill would have come to Sey rupees 465.00 inclusive of 10%... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

The food was good, the portions were big, we were very satisfied. The curry was tasty but very strong.

Helpful?
Thank StelaMarinera
wessex1963, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear StelaMarinera Thanks for the nice comments on Surfers,we are certainly happy that you enjoyed the food and that you were very satisfied. Our curries can be done either mild medium or hot and if not specified when ordering they are done to medium standards. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays. The Surfers Team More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

When we were here it most certainly wasn't a surfers sea! However, the food was good and the fish and chips exceptional but totally over priced. We paid about £30 (for both of us) for the fish and chips with tinnies. Then again all the restaurants were expensive.

Helpful?
Thank gerry k
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear gerry k Thanks for the comments however the beach is well known amongst local Surfers for good surf waves. Perhaps when you were there it was a calm day which would mean there were no Surfing activities going on. Generally Surfing is good here for 7-8 months of the year. We feel £30 or 425 rupees for 2 persons... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Good dinner with family, fish, pizza, burger all good...fully recommend to all...good value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank RudolfKral
SurfersTeam, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear RudolfKral Thank you for your good review and nice comments on our establishment, we are glad you enjoyed the occasion and what was on offer. We hope to see you back again one day for more of our creole hospitality. The Surfers Team More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

This is a small cafe/restaurant on a very pretty beach. The location is perfect and the views very high on the woah scale! The service was also efficient when we visited. I had an espresso -which was very nice and my friend had a cappuccino which was not a cappuccino-more like filter coffee with milk. The food was acceptable though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joka_travels
SurfersTeam, General Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Joka_travels Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are glad that overall you were satisfied with what we have to offer as a restaurant situated right on the beach in such a magical setting. Regarding the cappuccinos we use the well-known LAVAZA brand which we filter in the lavaza coffee maker. I am wondering if your... More 

Redlands, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

This little beachside restaurant won our hearts with their great food at good prices..food is expensive here, and restaurants are pretty pricey..our hotel manager told us about the Surfers Beach restaurant so we decided to give it a try. We had the fish special, the fish and chips, pizza and the chicken..nice sized portions and good flavor..

Helpful?
Thank Sandi T
Management response:

Dear Sandi T Thanks for your excellent comments and vote of confidence. We are so happy you enjoyed your meals at Surfers and our creole hospitality. Please do come back for more should you return to these magical islands the Seychelles for more holidays. The Surfers Team More 

Travellers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Takamaka, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$64
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, European, International, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
  • Location: Africa  >  Seychelles  >  Mahe Island  >  Takamaka
  • Phone Number: +248 2 783 703
Description
We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surfers Beach Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?