We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfers Beach Restaurant

S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
+248 4 374 767
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good42%
  • Average18%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“octopus curry” (14 reviews)
“your feet” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Overall, I thought the experience was distinctly average. I felt that the staff were quite grumpy and when I wanted to sit by the beach there was an audible sigh because the waitress obviously didn't want to go up and down the steps to serve...More

Thank Richard L
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Richard L Thank you for the comments and we are at glad you enjoyed the fish curry. If you came to the restaurant in the evening we actually tell clients that the night service is only available up at the restaurant dining area, however the...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017

This ranked among our very favorite places to eat during our visit to Mahe Island. We sat on a table on the beach, and enjoyed the most beautiful view as the full moon appeared and the sky faded with its glorious colors. Our server was...More

Thank DesertDweller32
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear DesertDweller 32 We are glad you enjoyed your experience and meals at the restaurant, we also note the good comment about the serving waiter and that he was helpful to your needs & queries about catching the bus. The apple crumble desert is divine...More

Reviewed 26 March 2017

We called in a few times for a drink the welcome was warm and the service great i would recommend you try this restaurant if you are passingMore

Thank bonviveure
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi bonviveure Thank you for your short but excellent review on our establishment. We are so glad you enjoyed the service and what we had on offer. We do appreciate your recommendation and hope you you will return one day. We trust you enjoyed your...More

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Surly staff, a long wait, then chewy red snapper with soft greasy chips. Nice enough view of the beach, but poor otherwise.More

Thank MarkCheshire
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear MarkChesire We apologize for the long wait you say you had. The red snapper was prepared like we always do and we don't get any complaints about that. As for the french fries to say they were soft greasy chips is totally untrue as...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

A must visit to this restaurant on the south east cost of the island. The ambiance will make you sit here for long hours to chill on the beach. Food is simply superb esp the local Creole cusines. Do try it with local Takamaka Rum....More

Thank Abhi0711
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Abhi0711 We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and what we had to offer in terms of good food and a great ambiance. It is always encouraging to all of us at Surfers to have such great guests as yourselves who truly appreciate...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Visited Surfers on a Saturday in March. First visit was three years ago and enjoyed the experience so was looking forward to a return visit. Sat down on the beach in the downstairs area. Waited around 10 minutes with nobody approaching our table: my husband...More

Thank Amandavandenbergh
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Amandavandenbergh We note your comments on the delay for your drinks order and would like to apologize for this. We had 2 waitresses when you arrived, the 3rd one reported sick that morning and was therefore unable to come to work, however a replacement...More

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great place to chill and ctach up with friends. Food was great and the staff were helpful. Location is great as it is walking distance to the beach.More

Thank Keni M
SurfersTeam, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Keni M We are glad you enjoyed your visit and meals at our establishment. Our location is a big plus for us and our guests do appreciate the beach and sea if they wish to take a stroll or swim before or after their...More

Reviewed 11 March 2017

There aren't many places where there is a nice beach and a nice restaurant on Mahe. There is a wide choice of food from Oriental to Creole and not too expensive. Seafood is good. Probably best to have lunch early as the place fills up...More

Thank SWLondonRichardp
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear SWLondonRichardp Thanks for the nice comments and review on our establishment, we are glad you enjoyed the experience overall and that you also had a good holiday in the Seychelles. Please do return if you are ever in the area again. It's always a...More

Reviewed 10 March 2017

We liked to go there in the evenings, sound of waves breaking, not too crowded. Sea food was really good (octopus, tuna steak, prawns), a bit smaller portions and a bit pricey for a beach restaurant, but definitely worth visiting!More

Thank Dinko P
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dinko P Thank you for thanking the time to review our establishment and we are glad you enjoyed the occasion. We serve standard portions for 1 person on all our A La Carte dishes. Seychelles imports 90% of its ingredients and food stuff with...More

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We had the lamb chops and the sizzling squid which was both very nice. As a starter we shared the octopus salad. Unfortunately was the octopus not as soft as expected. For drinks we had freshly squeezed juices but we highly doubt that they were...More

Thank andreanni
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear andreanni Thanks for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the lamb chops and sizzling squid. Regarding the juices which are freshly squeezed like you have said, they were squeezed fresh that morning and then kept chilled ready to serve. The Surfers Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Les Dauphins Heureux Cafe Restaurant
305 reviews
3.08 km away
La Grande Maison
85 reviews
5.34 km away
Maria's Rock Cafe
531 reviews
5.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Anse Intendance
601 reviews
3.10 km away
Banyan Tree Spa Seychelles
45 reviews
3.18 km away
Rely Tours
23 reviews
5.41 km away
Petite Anse
258 reviews
6.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Surfers Beach Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$67
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
  • Location: Africa  >  Seychelles  >  Mahe Island  >  Takamaka
  • Phone Number: +248 4 374 767
  • E-mail
Description
We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.