We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Globe lane, Leighton Buzzard LU7 2TA, England
+44 1525 373338
Website
Today
08:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:00 - 20:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 710: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It was my Birthday meal arranged in advance with a reserved table. Didn't need to reserve as it happens. This once lively pub known for great service and good food has dropped off a.cliff. The food was awful, prawn cocktail mostly lettuce with a spoon of what looked to be shrimp. I left the steak it was dry looked like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a celebratory family meal and was not impressed. The food was mediocre and couldn't bear to eat much of it. Over priced for pre-prepared food that was just warmed through a bit. The restaurant is open plan and dogs are allowed in the bar. It seemed as if there were more dogs there than people and you had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank W28D
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely find when in the area with friends, staff were chatty and engaging, always friendly, service was faultless and our food was very prompt and served beautifully. Fantastic meal all round, food was delicious and will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Bex1719
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Decided to visit this once lovely canal side pub for lunch today, but we were bitterly disappointed. The clientele seemed to consist of mainly dogs, there were dog hairs everywhere. We ordered two sandwiches, one BBQ pulled pork on white and one chicken and bacon on brown, when they eventually arrived they were both pulled pork, we highlighted this to... More 

Helpful?
Thank traceyevans66
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to review our pub. I'm sorry you feel that your experience on your last visit to us did not meet your expectations. we take all feedback very seriously and Dan (general manager) has addressed the mentioned issues with my team. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We cruised down to the Globe on our narrow boat, moored up outside and had a great meal on Friday night (12/05/17). The food delicious, as was the wine :-) Popped back in on our way home on Sunday, had a pint and watched the canal go by, it's a lovely setting and well worth a visit. Happily dog friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebriggs07
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub, Thank you for the glowing review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visits. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Customer service non existent manager looked scruffy We had rump steak which was good however served with wilted rocket leaves half a tomato & 2 tiny mushrooms. Dessert was ok I had chocolate coconut torte & banoffi pie which was packet derived I'm sure or bought in. Overall very poor will lot eat there again will go to Three Locks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I'm sorry that you felt let down on your visit to us. we are currently going through a mass recruitment drive to enable us to have the team to deliver the customer service you speak off in your review, we have also conducted meal specification training with our kitchen team. More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Avoid this pub! Service is awful. There is no atmosphere and paint is flaking off the walls. Staff appear to change regularly and the food is very disappointing. It used to be a lovely place to go with beautiful hanging baskets and good service. Now it suffering badly from neglect.

Helpful?
3 Thank Geri S
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I'm sorry that you felt let down by your visit to us. I can assure you that customer service training is top of Dan's agenda as the new manager on site. I too wish to see the Globe return to its former glory and that is Dan's mission. More 

HIGH WYCOMBE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stumbled across this pub while out for a walk along the canal. After reading the other on line reviews I find it difficult to comprehend why people complain? If you're in a rush don't visit a country pub visit a fast food restaurant. What better way to while away the day than sat by the river enjoying a nice pint... More 

Helpful?
Thank Billy J
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub and the glowing review you have left. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, and we agree there is no better way to while away the day We Look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cannot believe how poor this was.Sent back only to come back exactly the same .Minted lamb shank straight out of bag, asked for some more gravy,some watery muck came out in a gravy boat embarrassing to say the least.Scampi and chips well the driest coldest chips sent back and a few frozen hot ones came out.Enough scampi to fill a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy F
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. we are really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to us. we take all comments on board and are working to fix the issues with food quality you have highlighted. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the globe on Sunday and the pub was not overly busy, had to wait a long time to get served then told a 45 minute wait for food, said that is fine as we were told, when the food arrived Sunday Roast it was not very hot and the veg well they were as hard as rocks fish... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Fitchy2014
Rich W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. I can assure you all your comments have ben taken on board, we have recently recruited four new memebers of team but are not stopping there, the issues with food quality you mentioned are being addressed also. More 

Travellers who viewed Globe Inn also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Stoke Hammond, Aylesbury Vale
 
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
Shabbington, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 20:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 20:00
Saturday
10:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Globe lane, Leighton Buzzard LU7 2TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Leighton Buzzard
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 373338
Description
A beautiful historic canalside pub with log fires, real ales, wines and soft drinks.

Fresh Coffee and food served daily.

Reservations available in the dining room

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Globe Inn and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Globe Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?