We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat Inn

Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
+44 1865 374279
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (25 reviews)
“lamb shank” (14 reviews)
“the pub” (67 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Will never go back,period.The food was lousy and when complained was told should have complained earlier! I could go on but really do your self a favor and don't go there.The drains were overflowing and stinking of exrecia ,(think staff attitude too) It's not a...More

Thank Arthur C
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Wow!! Stinking drains? Maybe thats down to Thames water and not us? First reviewer here and as usual its a moan. I think personal attacks on the staff stink!! I think this 'review' stinks and probably Arthur stinks!! The Boat Inn continues to offer great...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice pub grub. Decent value for money. The carvery and scampi was good, fish and chips were very good. Lovely location and pub. Early afternoon sun trap of a beer garden. The service was fabulous. Timely, professional, very warm and kind waitress. Would happily...More

Thank DaisyTurnip
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much for that. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Set in a lovely location this is a gem. Best ploughmans I have ever had. It took a little while but a big table ordered first. Definitely a must do again. Burgers looked great

Thank markross25
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Sorry about the wait it can get ridiculously busy at times - hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to The Boat Inn twice this time. The first meal we had pork medallions which was beautiful. The second meal the next night we had bbq chicken, bacon and cheese pot, chunky chips and garden peas which was out of this world! These...More

Thank Lynne J
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much for coming to see us. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed May 13, 2018

Just to say we have just had a meal at the Boat Inn it was last minute due to family in Oxford for my daughters wedding needed seats for 13 people to which the staff was able to fit us all in.The food was lovely...More

Thank Joanna H
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Many thanks for that. Can I say how well behaved the children were, sometimes we are scrapping them off the wall!!

Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful setting in an old fashioned with no one armed bandits and dog friendly. We were welcomed with a warm smile and a chat. Drink prices are reasonable. Will be popping in soon for a bite to eat as the menu looks...More

Thank flora003
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Callum has become very popular in these reviews in a very short space of time. Many thanks for taking the time to review and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

Family lunch occasion. First issue: long queue. It took us 15 minutes to get to the bar to let them know we had a booking. Seems a booking means nothing, as they simply asked us to try and find a free table. Second issue: no...More

Thank Richard I
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

First issue, second issue, third, fourth fifth,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Food Ok but over priced????? Bowl of freshly home made soup with crusty bread £4.95 - over priced? Freshly baked baguette or panini with Chunky farmhouse chips and garnish £6.95 - over priced? No Beer? Two draught ciders,...More

Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

I went for a bank holiday Monday lunch today with a friend. First appearance was it looked a nice tidy pub. That is where the good impression stopped. They had no beer available only lager and we had to wait over an hour and a...More

Thank tmac690
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

Apologies for the long wait - sunny bank holidays can be extremely busy. We did have a range of draught lagers, ciders and Guinness along with several bottled beers but alas we did run out of draught ale so apologies for that.

Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

They have run out of beer, the service is slower than global warming. I have just seen someone falling off a bench in the garden because it is completely rotten!! The staff just don’t care. I will never come here again.More

Thank Jules W
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

'Never go here' based on one extremely busy bank holiday? 'The pub had run out of beer' - not true we had run out of draught ale plenty of lager, cider, Guinness, bottled beers etc etc!! We don't want people to wait long for food...More

Reviewed April 30, 2018

Very good evening last week for a group of 20. Staff very helpful in the evening and in advance with some of my requests. Food was really good and came out on time. Would definitely go back there again and recommend.

Thank Points22
Ramsey G, Owner at The Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

It was a pleasure seeing you all - many thanks!!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Thrupp Hotels
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
367 reviews
3.63 km away
Feathers Hotel
894 reviews
3.64 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
1,781 reviews
3.76 km away
Blenheim Guest House and Tea Rooms
78 reviews
3.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Annie's Tea Room
211 reviews
.26 km away
The Jolly Boatman
417 reviews
.39 km away
Tandoor Night
9 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willowbrook Farm
23 reviews
1.47 km away
St. Martin's Church
163 reviews
3.30 km away
Kirtlington Golf Club
16 reviews
6.31 km away
The Old FlightHouse
22 reviews
6.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
27RMC
June 4, 2018|
Answer
Response from Ramsey G | Property representative |
Hi, We do have a wide variety of vegetarian selects most of which are on line. Also we have about 3 further options on our specials menu though this does change.
0
Votes
Jules W
May 7, 2018|
Answer
Response from susanS9387HP | Reviewed this property |
That was very unfortunate for you about the wait for the food. I can only say that you went on a very busy day to the Boat Inn, as i did not encounter any problems myself.
-1
Votes
RachelandJohn
May 13, 2015|
Answer
Response from RachelandJohn |
Do you have gluten free options?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Canal Road, Thrupp OX5 1JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Thrupp
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 374279
  • E-mail
Description
Fabulous family run canal side bar and restaurant offering outstanding value for money. And if you're a fan of Inspector Morse you will find lots of memorabilia here from the days when episodes Morse and more latterly Lewis were filmed at the pub and surrounding area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;