We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Salt

$$ - $$$
European, Contemporary, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
134 West Coast Dr, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
+61 8 9246 9221
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 17:00 - 22:00
Tue - Sun 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 335: English reviews
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Thanks good food service and staff Fresh local produce and well prepared and presented Good selection of songs n beers Very attentive floor and bar staff Good vibes and variety of food Highly recommended for any one to go and try Thanks

Helpful?
Thank baciloaloa60
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Post race day Sunday brunch with friends. Good food. Great company. Awesome view. Perfect weather. And a Bloody Mary! Best way to start a Sunday morning. We sampled the Pulled Pork, Poached Eggs and the Breakfast Bruschetta! All reports were very tasty. Only comments were that the staff's attention was a little hard to get and the bacon was super... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Jackie, many thanks for your review, we really appreciate the feedback and we will follow up with our chef on the bacon. We are glad that all was enjoyed and hope to see you back again sometime. Kind regards Claire and Tim Leech Proprietors More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute decision to stay at White Salt for a meal after meeting friends there for drinks. I had the Salmon Paperdelle what a disappointment, thinking I was going to get nice fresh Salmon, unfortunately tin salmon was served and for $30, sorry but that just doesn't cut it I'm afraid, could have done better myself at home! Why go... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TimeZ0ne
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

TimeZOne, thanks for the comments however, WE DO NOT USE TINNED SALMON OR ANY OTHER TINNED PRODUCE IN OUR KITCHEN and haven't done for 11 years! The FRESH salmon for the Pappardelle is flaked into the dish and we can only assume that as it was flaked you thought it had come from a tin. This is simply NOT true.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

White salt is fully licensed and in a beautiful location near the ocean with both indoor and outdoor tables. Four of us sat inside on a Friday night and enjoyed many aspects of our meal. Entrees were bruschetta, arancini balls and salt and pepper squid - the squid was the pick of these dishes. For mains we ordered the sweet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chesh19
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed everything and that you enjoyed yourselves. Over the past 11 years we have tried very hard to maintain our standards of food and service, difficult in the current economic climate. Once again thank you for your comments we will be sure to pass it on to our... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

White Salt has been around for ages, and some of my previous experiences were bad, so I'm really pleased that things have improved markedly. Breakfast is great, all the usual suspects, cooked well delivered hot, and with a few fruity options that are fresh and tasty. Price is reasonable. And I like their coffee, good flavour and delivered at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RonVW14
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Ron, we agree our coffee and breakies are great! Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small but pleasant restaurant on the coast road. The interior is a bit plain but all the same comfortable. Ordering from an ordinary menu was no problem with drinks delivered promptly. All freshly prepared so a bit of a delay was no surprise. Mussels particularly good and the burger was tasty. No problems - just needs a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bennlew
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks you for the feedback which we appreciate very much and have taken in the constructive manner it was written. Glad that you enjoyed everything. We agree our building is a little old and tired but unfortunately our site is up for redevelopment in a couple of years and as a small business we have limited funds to fully refurbish... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are very many tables - some inside and some on the patio, but the kitchen must be small, as the service is rather slow.

Helpful?
Thank Normanjp
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your review!. Tim and Claire Leech proprietors More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time visit for us. Nice venue with a nice friendly waitress. Found the menu a bit limited especially the starters. Wine wise still find hard to swallow a bottle of wine we pay $13.00 Is $40 on the list. I don't mind paying top notch for good food but when the only main meal that attracted 3 out of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, a little confused as we have at least 20 shares and entrees which can all be taken as a starter and we pride ourselves on our 10 main course selection which offers a selection of meat, fish, salads and vegetarian dishes? In regards to the affogato, please note that you chose the White Salt affogato from... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We popped into White Salt for a spot of dinner. If I'm honest the food was lovely, but the service was lacking. It wasn't that the service was poor more like there wasn't enough staff to go around. Nice enough place, we will probably go back again if we are that side of town.

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks Emma and we are glad that you had a lovely dinner. So we can follow up on your comments re service, could you contact us to advise when you dined, really hard for us to follow up with our team of young people if we don't have a date? We do take all comments constructively and appreciate your feedback.... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A large table of us went before Xmas and it was a beautiful lunch. Just one thing I found odd. The menus were faded photocopied bits of paper on the table! It's not a cheap restaurant but this was a bit tacky. Great food though.

Helpful?
Thank margy2609
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments we are so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas function with us. Kind Regards Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Travellers who viewed White Salt also viewed

 
Hillarys, Joondalup
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to White Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$32
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 134 West Coast Dr, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Joondalup  >  Sorrento
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9246 9221
Description
Situated overlooking the clear blue waters of the Indian Ocean, White Salt has been pleasing its diners since opening in 2005 and is now established as one of the premier dining venues along the beautiful coast.Be it coffee, cake, lunch, dinner ,breakfast or just a drink we welcome everyone to our cafe and bar. Why not pop in for a drink whilst watching the sunset over the ocean. We also cater for functions and are the ideal wedding venue, intimate and on the beach

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Salt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?