We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
+44 1333 330246
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (71 reviews)
“crab linguine” (14 reviews)
“chowder” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

My wife and I stayed one night as a birthday treat with dinner and breakfast. Beautiful setting and lovely room with amazing sea views across the sandy beaches. The reception areas, dining room, bar and our room were beautifully presented and furnished. Spotlessly clean too....More

1  Thank Nick M
Reviewed 5 days ago

I had dinner with my daughter and family at the Ship Inn recently. She had previously dined here and had built up a pretty strong picture of it for us and we were looking forward to our evening. Pleased to say that we were not...More

Thank Jim4413
Reviewed 6 days ago

Service was excellent, as was the food, as was the drink, as was the bar! Highly recommended all round

Thank GWabz
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped by with a friends for lunch Saturday 11th Nov , unhelpful bar staff in fact quite rude(as if we were a bother) we ordered fish and chips and a soup (as one of our friends is vegetarian and the options are very limited)the food...More

Thank david e
Rachel B, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear david e, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. Shocked to hear you found our bar staff ''unhelpful and rude'' if you look at most other reviews people say how friendly and helpful they are. I would need more information...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely place to pop into after a long walk along the coast. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere in the pub was great.there was a good fire and a hot meal and a cold beer. We all had a good...More

Thank Robert M
Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful Inn on the Firth of Forth coast in Elie. Great room, very clean and comfortable with spectacular sea views. Room facilities included great coffee and choice of bottle water. Excellent choice at breakfast accompanied by equally good service.

1  Thank Geoff W
Reviewed 1 week ago

After walking the sands of Elie or out to Ruby Bay or Lady Tower it's so nice to know a warm welcome awaits by the log fire on the sofa or curled in chair sipping a perfect americano.

Thank _s_mills04
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was recommended but will not be passing this on! Poor service-Poor Food- Just so so so disappointing. Soggy fish - frozen chips! Not expected at all. Also 3 members of staff with very long hair and not one of them had it tied back....More

1  Thank ArrocharBluebell
Rachel B, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Arrocharbluebell, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Very surprised that you didn't enjoy our fish and chips as we sell hundreds of portions every week, with people saying how good they are. I can assure you that our chips...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a night in Elie for Guy Fawkes night, great fireworks and huge bonfire laid on by the Ship Inn on the beach, place was packed but they were well prepared and kept the drinks coming. Got a cancellation in the restaurant and had a...More

Thank R0bertLindsay
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh dear! Prices are well above where they can be justified particularly with consistent indiffernt service and unchecked , uncleared rest rooms........ if my wife says , nope I’ll use the public toilets , there cleaner , sorry there is much to do. Location fabulous...More

1  Thank Cameron1959
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sands of Elie
45 reviews
.31 km away
Elie Beach Cafe
34 reviews
.57 km away
The 19th Hole
140 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Elie Beach
157 reviews
2.90 km away
St Monan's Windmill and Salt Pans
40 reviews
4.32 km away
Kellie Castle & Garden
214 reviews
6.11 km away
Ardross Farm Shop
109 reviews
1.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Norman A
26 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Rachel B | Property representative |
Not as such but we are always happy to try and accommodate. Let us know what you need and we will try to help. Many thanks Rachel
0
Votes
Julie T
11 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Amy Beth D | Reviewed this property |
Hi Julie, They have a gluten free menu which offers the same choices as their regular set menu. However it's basically just the regular menu with anything containing gluten removed so sometimes it can leave dishes rather... More
0
Votes
Woody01
24 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Rachel B | Property representative |
We are dog friendly but we are currently closed for renovation. The bar will be reopening in the next couple of weeks and the restaurant at the beginning of June. We do also own The 19th Hole at the Earlsferry end of Elie... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  Elie
  • Phone Number: +44 1333 330246
  • E-mail
Description
The Ship Inn at Elie in Fife has long been one of Scotland's most iconic pubs, famous for its great views, stunning location, and even as the only pub in the world to have a cricket team with a pitch on the beach. The owners, Graham and Rachel Bucknall, who also run the Bridge Inn at Ratho (named as AA Pub of the Year in September 2014) purchased the Ship Inn, a pub they both knew very well, in late 2014. After a major 6-month renovation programme, they re-opened a transformed Ship Inn in the summer of 2015. 6 beautiful bedrooms were opened in March 2016. The inn is part of a row of old cottages by the harbour. At its heart is the bar where the comfy chairs and sofas beside the open fires and wood-burning stoves make a welcome sight, especially when it's windy and rainy outside. You are more than welcome just to call in for a coffee, but it's worth stopping longer for a pint, a whisky or a meal in the upstairs restaurant with its views of the bay. The same menu is offered throughout the inn - and if you have your dog with you, he or she is very welcome to join you downstairs - water, treats and even dog beds are provided. The food is of the hearty pub variety, but seafood, locally caught, is high on the menu. Graham and Rachel have also created delightful double and twin bedrooms, all with views of Elie Bay and the Firth of Forth. The Ship Inn is unique in the fact that it has the only cricket team in the UK that plays matches on the beach. From May to September, depending on the tide and after the sand has been rolled flat, the Ship's team hosts matches for other Scottish teams and touring teams from all over the world.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing