We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kikau Hut Restaurant

$$ - $$$Seafood, ,
Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
+682 26 860
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wontons” (60 reviews)
“banoffee pie” (26 reviews)
“fish” (76 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, Polynesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 300 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2015

We have been holidaying in Rarotonga nearly every year for the last 8 years. We have always stayed on the West side of the island within walking distance of many restaurants We found Kikau Hut very early on and always go at least twice each...More

Thank margiesharkey
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Hello Margie and thanks for a terrific endorsement. The previous owners, Cathy and Kevin set high standards and we want to make sure we maintain those going forward. We look forward to seeing you next year. Regards - Gordon

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

A really lovely meal here on our last night in Raro. I love their very practical whiteboard outside for booking a table outside opening hours. The decor is a wee bit tired but the staff were friendly and the food was up with the best...More

Thank NickJBell
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Hi Nick and thanks very much for taking the time to drop in your comments. All part of the service with regard to the sunset - as you will be aware it can be stunning so no problems in tweaking times. Chef will be pleased...More

Reviewed 26 November 2015

My fiancee and I were in a self catering unit in Rarotonga in early November for 11 nights but we decided we'd eat out twice during our stay. On our first night we went to Kikau Hut and had a fabulous meal - presentation is...More

Thank Monsieurnz
Browny57, Manager at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Merci beaucoup Monsieur NZ. I remember you both and it was a pleasure having you here. I am glad that we hit such high notes for you both and hope to see you again very soon. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 26 November 2015

The meal was very good and excellent service. I did have one complaint with being served processed calamari rings rather than calamari sticks, but the rest of the meal made up for this. My husband loved his entree of scallops - the sauce was delicious....More

Thank debrariedel
Reviewed 21 November 2015

The title should be enough to make you wary (if you know the program) Similar accent and identical behaviour. We could not help but notice the manager, ala (Arthur) pinch and slap the waitress (female) on the bum a few times during our evening meal....More

Thank DancerA99
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Interesting review Ballina man. I must admit I am struggling to recall your presence in the restaurant but you have the right to say what you want. I am however disappointed at your comments regarding my "pinching and slapping the waitress on the bum a...More

Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

Had a great meal here. Owner was very friendly and welcoming. Had the island fish and it was great. Service with banana and fruit salsa. Yum

Thank Shaleen S
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Much appreciated Shaleen and the salsa is our chef's own creation so will pass on the compliments. Hope to see you again one day. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 20 November 2015

We had a most enjoyable meal at this restaurant. We felt very welcome there. The staff were very accommodating to the point that they were fully booked but made a table available for us. The meal was amazing. Will go again for sureMore

Thank Frances F
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Meitaki Maata Frances. Thanks for the positive comments about feeling welcome - Obviously food is a key part of what we do but everyone here wants you to enjoy the atmosphere and service so we much appreciate your insight into the overall experience. Return soon...More

Reviewed 20 November 2015

Had the seafood platter and Pasta while my daughter had the kids meal, good service and yummy food. Would definitely visit again

Thank bob4568097
Reviewed 18 November 2015

The first thing i can say and vouch for this restaurant that it offers water for free, which is a very uncommon site here when dining at Rarotonga. I was pleasantly surprised and enjoy the service that was given to me by the front of...More

Thank Hello_Kellyx
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Went to Kikau Hut restaurant in Raro Nov 2015 and rated it the best meal I had in my stay in Raro. Even though we were staying in a resort , the food here was great. No probs with the service and can recommend to...More

Thank Robyn L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
294 reviews
.11 km away
Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe
336 reviews
.42 km away
Oceans Restaurant & Bar
257 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tik-e Tours
142 reviews
.96 km away
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
258 reviews
2.14 km away
Punanga Nui
313 reviews
4.57 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
130 reviews
2.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
khammy82
7 July 2015|
Answer
Response from anniealden s | Property representative |
Yes we do take wedding bookings our email address is kikauhut @ oyster . ck Kia manuia and we look forward to hearing from you
0
Votes
r10th
19 March 2015|
Answer
Response from anniealden s | Property representative |
Hi there - on Monday nights we have Tani & Rose known as Island Groove playing from 7pm. cheers and regards
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$50
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 26 860
  • E-mail
Description
A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing