We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Hardway | Kingsettle Hill, Bruton BA10 0LN, England
+44 1749 812200
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average1%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cobbler” (4 reviews)
“lamb” (11 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hardway | Kingsettle Hill, Bruton BA10 0LN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Bull has always been a reliable choice for an evening out, and as such I was looking forward to a good meal. However I was incredibly disappointed and embarrassed to have taken a friend there. I hadn't been since it changed hands and probably...More

2  Thank DBD71
Mitch_Earl, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DBD71, I am sorry you did not enjoy your evening with us. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on mitch@thebullinn-bruton.com so we can try and rectify your experience. Best wishes, Mitch Earl Landlord

Reviewed 4 December 2017

The Bull has always offered great food, a roaring fire and friendly welcome but since it's been sold, the foundations of this institution have crumbled. We booked a large table for Sunday lunch - the table had been part-offered to another couple so we perched...More

4  Thank Liz B
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

The pub is under new management and we had a delicious dinner there. The staff were friendly and helpful. I usually stay clear of beetroot in any form but their roast beetroot starter was delicious and I’d go back especially to have that again

1  Thank Sarah F
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Quick review: Atmosphere 5* Food 5* Service and welcome 5* Detailed: Firstly I'm always pleased to see a limited choice. 6 starters and 5 mains. This means fresh food and not defrosted. There was still enough choice to suit meat/fish/Veggie eaters. We both had Salmon...More

1  Thank Graham C
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We ate here on a rain swept Saturday night having pre booked. Although off the beaten track the Bull Inn is a recently restored pub with dining rooms in the middle of beautiful Somerset countryside. Walking into the low ceilinged rooms we were warmly welcomed...More

2  Thank nick179642
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Tastefully renovated after recent sale. Lovely atmosphere after dog walk. Unfortunately the pub is no longer the charming place it was. Felt at home but food was a serious failure. Menus limited ordered chicken pie expecting pie, veg and a meal. Was a bit shocked...More

4  Thank Allan K
Reviewed 25 October 2017

After a lovely walk in Stourhead we decided to visit The Bull after a friend’s recommendation. So glad we did! Staff were very friendly and the food amazing. Me and my partner love burgers so it was an easy decision to make from the menu....More

3  Thank beatboy1979
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely pub with warm and friendly staff, great wine list and the barman certainly knows his wines! We arrived hungry and eager diners. However the menu was disappointing in choice and portions small especially for the men. Only 3 of us decided on...More

1  Thank SunshineSue2
Mitch_Earl, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sue, I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us at The Bull and we would love to be able to rectify the situation. Please could you contact me on mitch@thebullinn-bruton.com and I can talk with you directly. With kind regards,...More

A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

As soon as we walked in we felt welcomed, lovely bar staff with a good choice of local ales. The homemade pork scratchings are a must at the bar. Our meal did not disappoint; my beef was cooked perfectly and my partners vegetarian option tasted...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I booked The Bull because they have served excellent food in the past. They were accommodating and changed out table size when it increased. But i wish they hadn't been able to!!. The menu was very limited with only 5 main dishes. Cheapest about £13....More

2  Thank sarah s
Mitch_Earl, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sarah, I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us at The Bull and we would love to be able to rectify the situation. Please could you contact me on mitch@thebullinn-bruton.com and I can talk with you directly. With kind regards,...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bruton Hotels
Holbrook Manor
648 reviews
6.56 km away
Travelodge Wincanton
288 reviews
6.61 km away
George Hotel
194 reviews
8.32 km away
Horse Pond Inn
11 reviews
8.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Matt`s Kitchen
270 reviews
4.09 km away
Montague Inn
207 reviews
5.37 km away
Spread Eagle Inn
212 reviews
5.41 km away
Cole Manor Tea Rooms
184 reviews
5.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hauser & Wirth Somerset
281 reviews
3.46 km away
Discworld Emporium
56 reviews
5.60 km away
Visit Hillbrush
9 reviews
7.89 km away
Alfreds Tower
20 reviews
2.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bull Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hardway | Kingsettle Hill, Bruton BA10 0LN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bruton
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 812200
  • E-mail
Description
The Bull Inn is a traditional freehouse serving fine ales and delicious pub food, situated at Hardway, near Bruton. We serve lunch Wednesday - Sunday: 12 PM - 3 PM and Dinner 6 PM - 11 PM, Wednesday - Saturday only
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing