We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Kidlington OX5 1PJ, England
+44 1865 847666
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The welcome we received was warm and friendly and as the table wasn't quit ready we were directed to the bar. The bar staff were attentive and professional and by the time we received out drinks the table was ready. We had a nice table, it was clean and thoughtfully laid out for valentines. The service continued to be of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil K
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Phil K, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It makes me very proud that all the staff made you feel welcome and that they made your evening enjoyable. We hope to see you again very soon. Many kind regards Turnpike team More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Ashlee and the team looked after us brilliantly. Warm, informal service and hearty, well cooked food. Lovely building, able to hear the music but still chat. Not noisy, just cosy.

Helpful?
Thank julietoosthuysen
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Thanks Julietoosthuysen, for leaving us this response. I am very glad that you had a good experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon. Many kind regards Turnpike team. More 

Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We went last night with our best friends as one was a birthday boy. There was a very large car park which seemed pretty busy. We booked for 19.30 and we were welcomed by the staff and taken to our table, drinks were ordered and delivered promptly. We ordered our meals from a very helpful waiter. One of us ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Hi Nigel G, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Turnpike take our reviews very seriously. I would like to apologise on behalf of the team for letting you down on this occasion. I do hope that you give us another chance soon. If you would like to talk about your experience with us please... More 

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It was busy for a Monday lunchtime but then it is half term. Excellent, friendly, efficient service. Food was very good and I think it's reasonably priced compared to other places locally.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Jenny J, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Turnpike team More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch on a freezing cold day. The restaurant was packed with a lovely atmosphere but the table was ready promptly. The service was first class,especially when one of our party caused a major red wine spillage. The roast dinners were good quality and extremely generous portions served on lovely hot plates with additional vegetables and jugs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz G
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Liz G, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with us. I will personally pass on your kind words to the rest of my staff. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Turnpike team. More 

Oxon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, the staff were welcoming and the lovely warm fire looked great. However, we were led to a table where it was very cold, the radiators weren't on and we spent the evening chilled! Food: not what it used to be.Standards seem to have dropped with the quality of the meals. Loos - dirty.

Helpful?
Thank On_Travels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal at The Turnpike, we had bread and olives to start and I had the beef and ale pie, and crumble for dessert. It was all delicious and the service was exceptional! So friendly and attentive. We were visiting Oxford and found this one of the better meals we had there both in terms of food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloe R
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Chloe R, thank you so much for your positive feedback. I will pass on your kind words to the staff and congratulate them. I am glad that you had a good experience and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Turnpike team. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very nice evening meal on a Friday evening. The service was very pleasant and friendly. The meal was very good, especially the sharing taster pudding.

Helpful?
Thank BMTBM
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

BMTBM, thank you for your feedback. I am proud that the staff made you feel welcome and made your experience enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Turnpike team. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My last review about this restaurant was less than complimentary. However, after not visiting since 2012 we returned yesterday and found the entire experience most enjoyable. Perhaps the current manager, Samantha, can take some credit for this as she has a very friendly team who appear to work very well together and create a good ambience for the clientele. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Tony B, thank you so much for your positive words. I will personally congratulate the staff and pass on your kind words. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Turnpike team. More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Turnpike with relatively short notice, booked online which was really easy to do, they were expecting us so all good, had confirmation via text, table was ready for us and service was great and relatively quick. Home cooked food with good presentation and no packet rubbish.

Helpful?
Thank Emma5409
General Manager A, Manager at The Turnpike, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Emma5409. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers. We always love to receive great feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Turnpike team. More 

Travellers who viewed The Turnpike also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$37
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Kidlington OX5 1PJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 847666
Description
The Turnpike in Yarnton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Turnpike and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Turnpike staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?