We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bell at Hampton Poyle

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 Oxford Road | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
+44 1865 376242
Website
Today
18:30 - 18:29
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 18:30 - 18:29
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 242: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked a table for 6 adults and 6 babies and on arrival we were told we had been given our own room behind the bar. The room was ready and waiting for us so we went straight through and our drink order was quickly taken and drinks received. The staff were very patient with us as we were unable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bex B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Shared a Cote de Boeuf here with my wife. Whilst very tasty, I don't think it really reflected the price paid. Having said that, the service was excellent, even though the restaurant was very busy

Helpful?
Thank BananaSpark
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us, although the minor price concern. The owner and head chef discuss the prices carefully and we do believe that they do reflect on the local quality produce. We do take pride in all of our 40 days aged local beef and we feel sorry you... More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend and I went for a meal a Friday after work and everything was absolutely brilliant. I can't believe I've lived so close to such a great restaurant all this time and only just eaten there. All those wasted years! The menu was a great balance of seasonal and classic choices. We went for the pork and chorizo burger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luv2TrvlOxford
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Fantastic! Thank you very much for your superb review and shame you only just found us! Now you know where we are, we hope to see you more often. All the best! More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On and off been coming here for years, and the quality will usually blow you away. Of both the food and the service, the last couple of times it has not done that at all. I have always Argued that the bell is worth its money but with portion sizes shrinking and prices not matching its quite sad to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen W
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Bell and for bringing this to my attention. I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience, and please accept my apology. As Sunday evenings are not very busy, I usually leave my assistant in charge on quiet service. After a very busy weekend, she reassured me that she... More 

Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

Easy to recommend this amazing restaurant, it is stunning in every way.Great service, great food, friendly and efficient service. I imaginative menu with a very good wine list.

Helpful?
Thank KenH7
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Superb! Thank you kindly for your wonderful review and for taking the time to review the Bell. We hope to see you soon! All the best. More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

Having moved to Oxfordshire in July 2016, we've been round all different pubs and restaurants. The Bell is our favourite pub/restaurant that we have found so far. The roasts on Sundays are perfect which are complemented by scrumptious puddings. The staff are also so friendly and welcoming. We would highly recommend to dine here.

Helpful?
Thank Alicia Grace C
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We are extremely pleased to hear about your experience and that you have become our regulars. Do ensure you make yourselves known on your next visit! GM More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

Both starters and both main courses were very well prepared and tasted wonderful. The service was excellent, welcoming, pleasant, cheerful staff all round. This IS the way to do it!

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Fantastic! Thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to having you with us again. Best wishes. More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

We had a girls supper here on Saturday night and were given a lovely table in a private area just off the main room so we still felt part of the buzz. Service was good and the food ok but not good enough for the money. We shared 5 starters between 8 of us and all had a main course,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JollyBoat
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive review. I am a bit surprised with your comment in regards to the price per head as with sharing starters and no puddings seems a bit too high. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment, but we do hope that you will give us another chance. Do make sure you speak... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

I've been a few times to The Bell before but always during the week. This time I went with my family for lunch on Saturday and was blown away. We started with Garlic bread and a couple off prawn skewers to share between us. Sweet prawns, unctuous dips and garlic bread the kids devoured. Personally I want a finger bowl... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Wow, how amazing! We are extremely pleased that you had your best steak ever at the Bell. Your comments have blown us away and we feel privileged to have accommodated this experience for you. We hope to see you with us soon and we wish you and family all the best. More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

We were a table of 8 and our overwhelming comments when we saw the menu was - what a lot of words! Someone has overthought the presentation of the menu so that there was just too much information presented in an unhelpful way. Every ingredient in every dish was mentioned in it. The meat eaters loved the food - I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion N
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest comments of your experience. We very much appreciate your time taken to review the Bell and thank you for your constructive criticism. I will definitely have a meeting with our head chef Nick Anderson and try to accommodate more vegetarian options. Perhaps on your next visit I would suggest to speak to manager... More 

Travellers who viewed The Bell at Hampton Poyle also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kirtlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Bell at Hampton Poyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 18:29
Monday
18:30 - 18:29
Tuesday
18:30 - 18:29
Wednesday
18:30 - 18:29
Thursday
18:30 - 18:29
Friday
18:30 - 18:29
Saturday
18:30 - 18:29
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Oxford Road | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 376242

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell at Hampton Poyle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?