We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Local Shed Cafe

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
16 Bellcast Rd | Mungerie House, Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2155, Australia (Formerly Mezze)
+61 2 8824 4999
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 17:00
Wed - Thu 08:00 - 16:00
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Read mixed reviews but thought we'd try it anyway. Location and venue is great. Asked for a large coffee and got a small - very small cup - but tasted good. The large chocolate milkshake was an average size and although it tasted good it needed to be cold. Asked for a kids bacon and eggs but obviously got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jesson2016
Killcare, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came in for brunch recently with a large group of 15-20 people. Food options where generous but I didn't really enjoy mine. I ordered the breakfast burger which was doused in a spicy relish. It was just far too strong that early in the morning. Ruined the meal as all I could taste was chilli. A few drink orders were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie9313
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

A must visit for anyone looking for a yummy meal, great coffee, excellent service and a beautiful surroundings. Best place to bring kids, let them run free on the grass while you enjoy a coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

I had coffee and lunch at The Local Shed Cafe with a group of friends and the food was absolutely delicious! Will definitely be returning again soon 😊

Helpful?
Thank Aimee L
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

It was quite clear the place had gone downhill somewhat with the new owners when we ordered. I asked if they made their own Hollandaise sauce (as the fake stuff is crap) & the waiter gave me a strong "no". He said it was too hard to make and if they got it wrong someone could get sick. Let's just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Berenice W
Syd
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely relaxing venue and staff trying really hard to please. Unfortunately we could hear the chef yelling at them from the kitchen and I could see no need for this as the restaurant was near empty. Coffee cups were the smallest I have ever been served. Menu items sounded good but under delivered. The lamb tagine had lumps of minced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

We made a booking for 6 people and arrived on time. It was Sunday at 12:30pm. We arrived to discover that despite placing a booking, no table was set and the staff member seemed genuinely perplexed. The excuse give was "Oh we got busy", as though it was totally unexpected on a weekend... The junior staff members simply did not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin w
08carolk, Owner at The Local Shed Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Martin, Thank you for your review and email we received again, no excuse our fault, we were short staffed had 2 call in sick and were unable to get back up staff, our young staff did there best but still no excuse, we did have a new staff member serving your table, we told our staff to let customers... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

We had lunch at the Local Shed Cafe last week. It has a great menu catering for both meat eaters and vegetarians, with plenty of choice. There were 3 of us and we all really enjoyed our meals. The service was also excellent, helpful, attentive and friendly. I think we were the last to leave, but we didn't feel rushed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
08carolk, Owner at The Local Shed Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you Pamela !! More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

Went for sunday lunch with family. The place is lovely but the food is terrible. Chicken wrap is grease and the chips vert grease fried with dirty oil and you can actualy see the burn oil and still served to customer. The pork belly is shocking you cant ear the meat hard like plastic. The worst food I ever tasted... More 

Helpful?
Thank RACHEL S
08carolk, Owner at The Local Shed Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will look into this. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We were a party of approx 25. Some of the party ordered their meals on the same ticket and only one meal came out . The other 3 were left off. Another meal was also missed. The kitchen looked to be under real pressure with some of us waiting for over an hour for our meal . My Greek salad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue G

Travellers who viewed The Local Shed Cafe also viewed

Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire
Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire
 
Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire
Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire
 

Been to The Local Shed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$21
Cuisine
Moroccan, Mediterranean
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 16:00
Thursday
08:00 - 16:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:30
Saturday
08:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Bellcast Rd | Mungerie House, Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2155, Australia (Formerly Mezze)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  The Hills Shire  >  Rouse Hill
  • Phone Number: +61 2 8824 4999
Description
Welcome to MEZZE ROUSE HILL where our philosophy is simple - Serve great tasting MOROCCAN and MEDITERRANEAN inspired FOOD in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Mezze Rouse Hill is a landmark for all locals living in the area and also surrounding suburbs. We cater for all ages and kids just love the atmosphere as we are surrounded by parks and play areas. This keeps the kids occupied while the adults can enjoy a relaxing breakfast, lunch or dinner accompanied by a drink or two. Mungerie was a typical Australian homestead with a verandah on three sides and a lean to verandah at the back. It was a lathe and plaster built house with timber weatherboard walls and an iron roof. Originally just four rooms coming off a central hallway with a detached kitchen out the back which now forms Mezze Rouse Hill. So come and join us at our restaurant to enjoy the history of Rouse Hill.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Local Shed Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?