We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Fiddler

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Corner of Commercial Road and Windsor Road, Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2155, Australia
+61 2 9629 4811
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 169: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited here for a belated St Patricks Day with some visiting Irish friends. Seriously Folks! How were you able to completly stuff up the mashed potatoes. No idea what was going on in the kitchen this particular evening but the dodgy spuds were the highlight of the evenings dinner. Should have considered KFC next door. Thankfully the Guinness was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 777KGB
TheFiddlerRouseHill, General Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

Hi there. We would like to apologise that your experience here wasn't great. We would like to hear from you personally about your experience so please email your name and number to mary@thefiddler.com.au for her to have a chat to you. Regards, Sara More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had the misfortune of dining at the Mean Fiddler last night. We are local to the area and try it every few months hoping desperately the quality will improved. Sadly no. It was terrible yet again. My $29 steak was overcooked and dry. The chips had a very odd sort of Royal Easter Show taste about... More 

Helpful?
Thank MAK2123
TheFiddlerRouseHill, General Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

Hi there. We do apologise greatly that the experiences you have had previously at The Fiddler haven't been great. This response is unusual for us and are sorry you had to give us this review. We do strive to make all of our customers happy and for them to leave with a smile, feeling more than satisfied. We hope to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great for families with kids as you can sit near the playground. Fast service and the burgers and pizzas are great.

Helpful?
Thank jesson2016
Hannah F, Marketing Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit here at The Fiddler. We look forward to seeing you and your family again next time! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

BYO surface spray as soon as you sit down the cockroaches will come out to climb on you, we moved tables but more managed to find us one climbing into my Grandmothers bag and another up their leg we mentioned this the the wait staff to which they said "oh yeah they come out at night". We had a table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
SaraBelling26, General Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

We sorry to hear about your experience. We do understand at this time of year the creepy crawlies are out. We do increase our pest control treatments particularly when the warmer weather sets in but unfortunately due to the nature of our alfresco dining with garden beds and greenery everywhere, eradication is not achievable. We have also taken note that... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Most hotels cater for the younger members of our community. The Fiddler not only caters for those younger members but is really there for the oldies as well. During the week they have a special deal for lunch where the oldies can get their second lunch free. The lunches are top class and with the special deal they do not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
TheFiddlerRouseHill, General Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

Hi Peter. Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoy yourselves each time you visit and we look forward to seeing you next time. Regards, Sara More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

today my wife and I thought we would have dinner at the Fiddler , My wife had chicken schnitzel was dry and it was like rubber, it seem that it had been cooked and reheated , the roast that I have was not really a roast it was slices of meat cook to look like a roast dinner so not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alf W
TheFiddlerRouseHill, General Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

Hi Alf. We do apologise for your unfortunate experience and that you didn't enjoy your meals when you visited. We are sure we can provide a much better service so we hope to see you again soon to show you what we are capable of. Regards, Sara More 

Kellyville, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub used to be good. Recently it has gone way down hill. This evening there was no toilet tissue in the women's bathroom. All the ladies were complaining about it. The condition of the amenities left a hell of a lot to be desired. In the men's amenities there was vomit in the hand basins, urine and tissue all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lozza1956
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I regret not cooking dinner for my family and for my daughter's 21st. We had the worst food ever!! The pork belly BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!! It was not cooked slow and you could taste it - chewy I could almost blow bubbles with it it was so rubbery. No one enjoyed their meals. The burger were dreadful, the salmon came on... More 

Helpful?
Thank susanepopovski
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

A pub ambiance outdoor offering excellent values except the service much too much delayed by lack of staff....we returned to it living near by on holidays and each of us liked its food....beautiful bar...snookers room..etc..etc...

Helpful?
Thank Bruno Robert D
TheFiddlerRouseHill, General Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

Hi Bruno. Thank you for your positive review. We apologise that you had to wait longer than usual for your food and we look forward to providing you with fantastic service next time you visit. Regards, Sara More 

Hornsby, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Omg this place has changed. Staff here are revolting...you are in a customer service job and you dont smile, dont show any interest and make quiet possibly the shitties Mojito i have ever drunk. Looked like lime water with extremely withered mint. Dont really expect more than a Hi how are you but this was obviously too much for Steph... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jade L
TheFiddlerRouseHill, General Manager at The Fiddler, responded to this review

Hi Jade. We do apologise that your experience at The Fiddler was an unpleasant one. The feedback you have given us isn't common, therefore, the next time you visit we hope to show you how your experience can be a positive one at The Fiddler. Regards, Sara More 

Travellers who viewed The Fiddler also viewed

Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire
 
Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire
Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire
 

Been to The Fiddler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Commercial Road and Windsor Road, Rouse Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2155, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  The Hills Shire  >  Rouse Hill
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9629 4811
Description
Welcome to The Fiddler, a premier Sydney Hotel offering quality, sophisticated dining and entertainment in the Hills. Adorned with climbing vines, hanging ferns, and an abundance of undulating greenery, stepping into our newly renovated venue is like exploring a modern Wonderland, complete with a touch of glam. Whether you're looking for large communal dining options with friends or little ones, or smaller, more intimate spaces dripping with ambiance, you're sure to find your perfect spot amongst The Fiddler's sprawling network of bar and dining areas. The Fiddler boasts a multitude of newly renovated spaces including The Lounge, a decadent cocktail and wine lounge oozing elegance with a distinctively modern edge, The Beer Garden with live music and a relaxed 'Sunday Sesh' attitude that extends every day of the week, The Verandah, an airy, light-filled outdoor dining space perfectly suited to long lazy lunches, and The Courtyard with its outdoor oasis vibe and array of Australian Chic finishes everywhere your eyes fall. For a more casual experience check out the popular Sports Bar with its wall-to-ceiling TV screens, and The Irish with its impressive list of craft beer, top-shelf whisky, and comfortable fire-lit lounge areas. Open Weekdays for lunch and dinner. Open for breakfast on weekends.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fiddler and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Fiddler staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?