We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
C$30 - C$50
CUISINES
Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
295
163
40
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
295
163
40
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch risotto pork potatoes naramata bench wine tasting pinot gris okanagan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 27, 2023 via mobile

Wonderful food, wine and service. We were happily surprised to find this place on a whim. We had the scallops and pork belly. I had the beet salad and the husband had the foraged mushrooms which was a warm large portion. It was a perfect...lunch! And we are bringing home some wine!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Selfridge, General Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2023

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We hope you can join us again soon :) Cheers

Reviewed July 19, 2023 via mobile

No. No. No. Typing this from the bistro on a Wednesday. 2:55pm. Place about 1/5 full. Seated at 1:15. Ordered at 1:25. Mandatory 2 course $50 lunch... no deviation allowed... so, okay fine. Five of us. Well, no main courses yet. "Can we just leave?"...That's the most frequent conversation starter in the last hour. Now 2:59. More than 1 3/4 hours in the sun... maybe lunch will come soon. Maybe. If you come here, ask in advance if you get your meal for free if it's 90+ minutes... and then decide.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Selfridge, General Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2023

Thank you for your feedback and we really appreciate the honesty. Without feedback, we are not able to make corrections and enhance training to move forward and yes, it does sound like your experience was defintely not up to par by any means. Unfortunately, it...More

Reviewed June 22, 2023 via mobile

The food was excellent, beautifully presented and the service was outstanding. The views were amazing and the wine was amazing. Our server was Pamela and she was knowledgeable and engaged in our conversation.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Selfridge, General Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2023

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We hope you can join us again soon. Cheers :) Lisa Henderson Director of Food & Beverage Hillside Winery & Bistro

Reviewed May 28, 2023

The prices were high with very small portions and the seafood was all overcooked for all 6 of us. Although the pork belly was good, there wasn't enough food for $27. The perogies were dry and the were only 3 for $22!!! The halibut was...a tiny 2"x2" portion and was ALSO OVERCOOKED. For a Saturday night seating for ppl from 4 hours away, I can say whole heartedly this was the worst of the Naramata bench.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Selfridge, General Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2023

Oh no! Thank you for your review and for bringing this to our attention. We will be addressing with our Service and Culinary team to ensure these dishes are top notch. We have been in touch with someone else from your party in hopes of...More

Reviewed April 1, 2023 via mobile

Originally the stunning property was an apricot orchard owned by the pioneering Riddle family in the early 1900’s. Joining that spirit were Vera and Bohumir Klokocka arriving from Czechoslovakia to purchase in 1979 and plant their dream vines in 1984. Next, creation of the beautifully...rustic European grist mill design timber frame we see today all laden with white pine and Douglas fir beams truly transports you to the historic countryside still preserved. Carry on to present, Award winning Veteran winemaker Kathy Malone (Calona Vineyards, Mission Hill, ) dazzles you with her terroir driven, minimal intervention portfolio. Simple and elegant! With Chef Evan Robertson (Hardware Grill, Aerie Resort, Pig & Duke) leaving his mark on the Naramata Bench with locally sourced, terroir to table, seasonal menu- it’s a “Must Visit”! Awesome service, rustic historic building with lakeside views and always beautiful menu-Hillside is always a “must visit”! Hannah was friendly and very attentive!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Selfridge, General Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2023

Wow! Thank you so much for the rave review and we appreciate your support :) Cheers till next time!

Reviewed March 31, 2023

We had been for a wine tasting & joined their wine club but never experienced the Bistro. Made a dinner reservation just to check it out. It was amazing, I wish we had got our server's name, March 30th, 2023. Service could not have been...better. We both had the halibut, it was absolutely amazing. It was a perfect evening for us!More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Selfridge, General Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2023

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We hope you can join us again soon :) Cheers

Reviewed July 30, 2022

Great experience for dinner! Our server was helpful and funny. Wines were wonderful, especially unoaked Pinot Gris and Syrah. Food (Scallops with Pork Belly, and Halibut) was so delicious! What a great place to enjoy a special dinner.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2022

Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we appreciate you choosing to dine with us :) Cheers!

Reviewed July 13, 2022 via mobile

OMG Foodies…we went for lunch and had an amazing time…it was two courses with fresh locally sourced ingredients and accented with a perfect combination of spices. The ricotta stuffed flower, the fresh pasta with morel mushrooms, the amazing beef, tomato capresse, the potatoes stacked with...carrots and cheese…soooo delicious. We had a complimentary dessert of finger food items that were fresh and delicious. No dinner mints here. A delight!!! The server was fabulous too…thank you😊More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2022

Wow! Thank you so much for the amazing review! We will be sure to pass along your comments to our team and hope you can join us again soon. Cheers!

Reviewed July 3, 2022 via mobile

This is one of our go to places when visiting the sothern Okanagan. Great ambience, professional service, plated spectacular meals, and tastey wines. It is such a comfortable place with mountain views. A must go to!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2022

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we appreciate you choosing us for your holiday :) Cheers!

Reviewed May 16, 2022 via mobile

We took our company from England to Hillside bistro today. We have been there in the past and found the food pricey but very good. The view from the upstairs deck is one of the best in the Okanagan. Today was unfortunately disappointing. The bistro...has decided that diners must order one starter and one main from a fixed price menu for $55 per person. No opportunity for just a light lunch. As well there are suggested wine pairings with each menu item at $15 for two glasses of wine. This means a lunch for two is a minimum of $110. for food plus $30. for wine plus tip which means lunch for two is well over $150.00. Our lunch for our today was $300.00. and then only because we complained about one of the dishes and received a discount on the wine. So, is the food worth the money. Short answer - no. Two o four diners ordered the Beet started. It is roughly 12 small cubes of beet, red and golden, smothered in oil and accompanied by a half dozen cannels of cheese with pesto and also smothered in oil. This seemingly light dish eats very heavy and the light flavours of the beets and cheese are lost in the crazy amount of oil and pesto. One diner ordered the elk tartar. Not too much wrong with this dish if you don't mind the flavour of he elk being completely disguised with a heavy dose of salt and capers. This is accompanied with a small side of potatoes chips that might some from a bag and are very salty. The last diner ordered the devilled eggs. These are devilled eggs with a thin strip of smoked char and piping of thick sauce on the side with lardons. They are pretty good with a nice flavour from the yolk and the smoked fish works well with the rest of the ingredients but the white sauce and lardons are unnecessary in my mind. Just give me another egg instead. So..... are these starters worth $20 each? The elk tartar is likely worth $20 just because of the cost of the elk but the flavour isn't. The beet starter is highly overpriced and given that it is drowned in oil and, given there is maybe one medium sized beet in in the the entire dish and a couple of ounces of burratta, it deserves being avoided. The eggs were good overall but really, three eggs halves for $20? Are the mains worth $35 each. In a word - I don' think so. One diner had the pasta special which was shrimp in a spicy tomato sauce. Frankly, I can make this at home in about 20 minutes - and I would not use 51-60 sized shrimp that get lost in the mix and are obviously there because they are cheap. Flavours were good but again, I can make this at home. I don't have to go to a bistro to pay $35 for it. Two diners had the scallop and pork belly. This dish amore of a success. The scallops are flavourful and perfectly cooked which is really hard to find.There were two small pieces of pork belly, maybe four ounce sin total. It was slightly sweet, a bit spicy and very tasty if slightly over cooked. This came with a weird cabbage slaw reminiscent of kimchi that really didn't fit with the pork. Our last diner had the flat iron steak which was, i hate to say it, was awful. Very lightly cooked (rare) and very tough. I wondered if was carved the wrong way it was so bad. So, what was good? Our server was attentive and did a great job of taking care of us. The wine pairings were very good indeed. The reserve pinot gris is slightly acidic and carries a lot of flavour for a pinot. The rose was lush and not too sweet. The merlot/syrah was a lovely fruity, juicy merlot with the heft of the syrah. Very enjoyable. Buying these wines for $7.50 a glass to go with the meal is a bargain!! Overall, the bistro is being very cheeky and really pushing the consumers good will to insist on a minimum of $55. per person. Plus, some of the dishes really show cheap ingredients like the very small , almost unnoticeable shrimp in the pasta. I would go to Hillside for a more fullsome wine tasting but I would give thebistro a pass. There is just too much copmetition and good foof in the oKanagan to make this a regular stop.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, General Manager at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2022

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your time and honesty. Detailed feedback like this allows us another point of view to improve and our menus do change through out the season. We have brought your comments to the attention of our culinary team...More

Reviewed October 6, 2021

Our second trip to Naramata and our second time to Hillside. They delivered again - amazing halibut and the best gnocchi either of have ever eaten! And our server knew her wines well and made our experience great.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Owner at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2021

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us this amazing review! Our team here strives to give the best service possible, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the food and the wine pairings. Thank you again for choosing The...More

Reviewed October 5, 2021

This review is specifically about the Bistro ONLY, since we did not go to the winery nor tasted any of its wines. The reason why I am taking the time to write this review is because when I checked for places to have dinner in...Naramata, after our drive there, this place appeared in the second place of the supposedly "best places to dine" in the area, which, according to me, it is a huge misrepresentation. I would not want anybody to experience the disappointment that we experienced when very near by are truly fabulous places to eat. Despite having very good quality ingredients, the Bistro offers such a sad, tasteless and bland combination of them that everything, from the starters to the desserts that we ordered (a supposed "lava cake" that did not have any lava coming out of it and a crème brûlée that was not even a simple flan!) was a disappointment. In addition to an excessive, pretentious and unnecessary use of ingredients the prices asked for have no co-relation with the standard of quality that such prices often entail. Lastly, the typical and in this case mechanical question of the waitress regarding how was the food was the cherry on top, since she automatically assumed that everything was "awesome", when in reality was far, very far, from being that.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Owner at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2021

Hello, Verónica. Thank you for your time and feedback and so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Without honest feedback like yours, we are not able to improve going forward. We will be addressing your comments with our Kitchen...More

Reviewed September 27, 2021

the staff was lovely at this winery. delicious wines and very informative. we were on our e-bikes and popped on down for a tasting and ordered a charcuterie board to go as there is no eating on the site due to Covid.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Owner at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2021

Hi Lisa, thank you for leaving us such a great rating and review. The team here appreciates your kind words and feedback. We hope you visit us again soon here at Hillside Winery!

Reviewed September 20, 2021

We were on a private wine tour and this was our reservation for lunch, we were running a little bit behind, the hostess and waitress was very quick to take our orders and our food arrived promptly and it was outstanding. I enjoyed a beautiful...salad and my husband had some kind of hash😁 The day was very windy when we arrived so we were presented with some blankets to put over our legs, which was a nice touch. We did not have a big view but the view that we did see was very outstanding the property was beautiful, clean. This Bistro was following Covid guidelines - Thank You 🙏 If we ever return to Penticton we would definitely like to enjoy this winery and bistro againMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Owner at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2021

Wow, we truly appreciate you leaving us such kind words in your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and visit with us. We hope to see you again here at The Bistro at Hillside Winery!

Reviewed September 5, 2021

We had a great tasting with David! He was so knowledgable and gave a us a lot of info about the area. Fantastic experien

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hillside, Owner at The Bistro at Hillside Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2021

Hi, Amy. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your wine tasting with David. Thank you for stopping by, and we hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Penticton Lakeside Resort & Conference Centre
813 reviews
4.40 km away
Slumber Lodge Motel
120 reviews
4.68 km away
Spanish Villa Resort
148 reviews
5.15 km away
Okanagan Lakefront Resort
76 reviews
5.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lake Breeze Winery Patio Restaurant
371 reviews
4.62 km away
Polish Bistro
195 reviews
4.73 km away
The Bench Market
524 reviews
4.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ruby Blues Winery
214 reviews
1.45 km away
Hillside Winery
225 reviews
.00 km away
Maple Leaf Spirits Inc
61 reviews
1.31 km away
Laughing Stock Vineyards
35 reviews
.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sonoproprioio
May 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from LeelouPoppins | Reviewed this property |
Just went again last week and noticed the highchairs as well! They recently adjusted their menu to offer more tapas-style options for snack and shares, while keeping awesome entrees on the menu as well. Always an awesome... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Alex C
August 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from patriciabA2162YL | Reviewed this property |
As I recall, dogs are not allowed on the patio - this is true in most of BC.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BISTRO AT HILLSIDE WINERY, Penticton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bistro at Hillside Winery

The Bistro at Hillside Winery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5